HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 

Switching tobaccos, same pipes, what to do?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Jazzman

Registration date : 2010-03-03

PostSubject: Switching tobaccos, same pipes, what to do?   Sun May 01, 2011 6:06 pm

I've been smoking pipes for about the last 3 years, everyday. When I started I grew to love English/lat blends and smoked them almost exclusively.

More recently my tastes have changed and I'm really enjoying Va and Va/Per like FVF,LGF, Embarcadero and Fillmore. I'm not smoking Englishs right now.

I have a couple pipes dedicated to Va, however, I have six or seven pipes that I Love(Castellos, Dunnies,etc.) that I'd like to work back into the rotation. What do I do?

My thought is that I do the salt/alcohol trick and a little light sanding and the "ghosts" will be gone. I'd love to hear what some of the Brothers have done in this situation.

Thanks-Mike cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile
flytyer

Registration date : 2009-03-22

PostSubject: Re: Switching tobaccos, same pipes, what to do?   Sun May 01, 2011 8:07 pm

I ream out the bowl..then sand it lightly , scrub the shank with a shank brush and alchohol or pipe sweetenner. This usually takes care of the ghost for the most part. I think whatever remains in the briar will get ghosted over by the new type of tobacco your smoking in the pipe after a few bowls.
Ive also been reading up on pipe retort kits but havent bought one yet...this looks like something you may also want to look into. check it out on youtube.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jazzman

PostSubject: Re: Switching tobaccos, same pipes, what to do?   Sun May 01, 2011 8:13 pm

Thanks, I thought that might be the way to go. Peace-Mike cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Carlos
Admin

Registration date : 2007-12-10

PostSubject: Re: Switching tobaccos, same pipes, what to do?   Sun May 01, 2011 8:15 pm