HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
MartinH

avatar

Age : 47
Location : The South
Registration date : 2011-01-04

PostSubject: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Thu May 26, 2011 2:10 pm

I'm announcing (cautiously) that www.pipereviews.org is now in beta testing. Please feel free to take a look, register and leave a review.

The site has no reviews as of yet, as the community comes together, I hope it will grow quickly.

The method behind the madness, is that you select your pipe of choice, and you can read reviews, and leave reviews all in the same menu.

Please leave me feedback, either here or at the site.

I really hope that this will be a valuable resource to the pipe smoking community.

If there are any features you'd like to see, please let me know. I plan on having a
"featured" or "most reviewed" area. Eventually there will also be polls to improve the site's quality and usefulness to you.

Lastly, please be aware that I'm starting off with only a smattering of pipes. I fully intend the site to grow as I add more brands. I'm slowly going through the major online pipe sites and adding currently sold brands/makers to the list.

I hope you enjoy the site.

Sincerely,

Martin
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pipereviews.org
jhuggett
BoB's Pioneer & Founding Father
avatar

Age : 45
Location : Olympia, WA
Registration date : 2007-12-09

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Thu May 26, 2011 4:10 pm

Just checked out the site Martin and I think you did a damn fine job of setting it up so far. While working with CMS's are pretty straightforward they aren't easily tailored to fit everything. Kudos so far.

Couldn't figure out how to vote on your poll.

_________________
Jason

"Freedom, Security, Convenience: Choose Two"
"For me, I will take freedom over security and I will take security over convenience." ~ Dan Geer
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.brothersofbriar.com
MartinH

avatar

Age : 47
Location : The South
Registration date : 2011-01-04

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Thu May 26, 2011 4:14 pm

Hey thanks very much. The Polls are now open - LOL. I forgot to give user permission to vote on Poll. Oops. I really, really appreciate your feedback. I've worked on this thing non-stop for the past three weeks.

Thanks!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pipereviews.org
jhuggett
BoB's Pioneer & Founding Father
avatar

Age : 45
Location : Olympia, WA
Registration date : 2007-12-09

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Thu May 26, 2011 4:46 pm

It shows, hell of a pipe list you got going.

_________________
Jason

"Freedom, Security, Convenience: Choose Two"
"For me, I will take freedom over security and I will take security over convenience." ~ Dan Geer
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.brothersofbriar.com
MisterE
Moderator
avatar

Location : Mexico City
Registration date : 2009-08-24

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Thu May 26, 2011 6:40 pm

Great job Martin!! cheers

I just gave it a quick look over but coming along nicely. I imagine I will have to reregister in order to sign in. It didnīt accept my original password....
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bub

avatar

Registration date : 2007-12-15

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Thu May 26, 2011 6:53 pm

A comment about lists...first names first or last names first?
When I think of Rad Davis, as I often do on Thursday night, my first inclination is to look under "D" when this fails, as it often does, I look under "R".
Maybe I am just old school and think in terms of telephone books.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MartinH

avatar

Age : 47
Location : The South
Registration date : 2011-01-04

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Thu May 26, 2011 7:16 pm

Hey - nah I understand. I'm a librarian and I'm going to cross index by last names.

Smile

Martin
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pipereviews.org
MartinH

avatar

Age : 47
Location : The South
Registration date : 2011-01-04

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Thu May 26, 2011 7:17 pm

MisterE - yeah the old password and user ID doesn't work anymore. I've probably installed the site three times since then. Smile

Martin
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pipereviews.org
dbreazeale

avatar

Age : 50
Location : Upstate NY
Registration date : 2009-02-16

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Thu May 26, 2011 8:18 pm

Looks like you've done a great job on the site. I just registered an account and I'll be checking back to see the progress. Well done!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
djf1

avatar

Age : 49
Location : Burlington Ontario
Registration date : 2011-03-16

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Thu May 26, 2011 11:32 pm

cool and well done! Left my 1st review Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.sandmanhotels.ca
MartinH

avatar

Age : 47
Location : The South
Registration date : 2011-01-04

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Thu May 26, 2011 11:33 pm

Thanks and thank you for leaving a review! Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pipereviews.org
Cobra

avatar

Location : CANADA
Registration date : 2011-05-26

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Thu May 26, 2011 11:45 pm

MartinH wrote:
I'm announcing (cautiously) that www.pipereviews.org is now in beta testing. Please feel free to take a look, register and leave a review.

The site has no reviews as of yet, as the community comes together, I hope it will grow quickly.

The method behind the madness, is that you select your pipe of choice, and you can read reviews, and leave reviews all in the same menu.

Please leave me feedback, either here or at the site.

I really hope that this will be a valuable resource to the pipe smoking community.

If there are any features you'd like to see, please let me know. I plan on having a
"featured" or "most reviewed" area. Eventually there will also be polls to improve the site's quality and usefulness to you.

Lastly, please be aware that I'm starting off with only a smattering of pipes. I fully intend the site to grow as I add more brands. I'm slowly going through the major online pipe sites and adding currently sold brands/makers to the list.

I hope you enjoy the site.

Sincerely,

Martin

I joined the site Martin and left a review for Savinelli although I haven't been able to find my own post. Actually that is what led me to joining this forum.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MartinH

avatar

Age : 47
Location : The South
Registration date : 2011-01-04

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Fri May 27, 2011 7:35 am

Cobra - let me look into it. I'll let you know what's going on.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pipereviews.org
MartinH

avatar

Age : 47
Location : The South
Registration date : 2011-01-04

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Fri May 27, 2011 7:36 am

Cobra - here is you post! Smile

http://www.pipereviews.org/?q=node/101/submission/11
Thanks so much for making the submission. I appreciate it.

Martin
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pipereviews.org
MartinH

avatar

Age : 47
Location : The South
Registration date : 2011-01-04

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Fri May 27, 2011 8:13 am

Morning Everyone,

I'd like to encourage you to leave me feedback under "Suggest a Pipe" and let me know of a pipe brand important to you that is not listed. I've gotten almost 20 responses so far, and I will work this weekend to make the updates.

Also, any feedback is welcome.

Sincerely,

Martin
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pipereviews.org
Doc Manhattan

avatar

Age : 39
Location : Land of Steady Habits
Registration date : 2008-05-26

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Fri May 27, 2011 8:20 am

Martin, looking at Cobra's submission, it might look better if in the first three questions, you removed the "sub-question" from the output page. Or at least, add a linebreak or some other major whitespace break. THe numbers get lost on the line behind all that text.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://tobaccocellar.org/tinlist.php?cellar=808
MartinH

avatar

Age : 47
Location : The South
Registration date : 2011-01-04

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Fri May 27, 2011 8:34 am

Morning Doc. Yeah - I noticed that as well. I'm not sure why it's doing that. I'll have to adjust the PHP (if I can figure out where this particular php file is. LOL)

It may also have something to do with the amount of text I have in every form. I'll see what I can do.

Thanks for the feedback.

Martin
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pipereviews.org
Harlock999

avatar

Location : Los Angeles
Registration date : 2010-10-22

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Fri May 27, 2011 8:40 am

Impressive, nice work! I'll watch for a little while and add something when I think I have something useful, (for a change!).
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MartinH

avatar

Age : 47
Location : The South
Registration date : 2011-01-04

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Fri May 27, 2011 8:59 am

Thanks Harlock
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pipereviews.org
MartinH

avatar

Age : 47
Location : The South
Registration date : 2011-01-04

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Fri May 27, 2011 8:59 am

Doc - thatnks to your feedback, I figured out the issue.

Cobra: here is your corrected and easier to read review.

http://www.pipereviews.org/?q=node/101/submission/11
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pipereviews.org
Bub

avatar

Registration date : 2007-12-15

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Fri May 27, 2011 9:34 am

Martin,
Can people include pictures of their pipes?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MartinH

avatar

Age : 47
Location : The South
Registration date : 2011-01-04

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Fri May 27, 2011 9:36 am

That's something I'm working on. I can allow uploads, but posting a picture to a review might be complicated. Right now, if you host an image on flickr, or some such site, you can embed the link and that should appear in the content. But, I haven't gotten there yet.

Let me see what I can figure out.

Thanks for the comment.

Martin
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pipereviews.org
MartinH

avatar

Age : 47
Location : The South
Registration date : 2011-01-04

PostSubject: Beta Updates   Fri May 27, 2011 10:24 am

Thanks to all the great feedback from you fine folks, here are the things I'm currently working on. I will update this thread as this work gets completed.

I really, REALLY appreciate all your feedback.

-Martin
==========================================

Beta Updates

Here are the issues I'm currently working through:

1. Correction all forms after the review is entered. The current text display is difficult to read. (Top Priority)

2. Adding "Upload a Picuture of your Pipe". I am going to allow registered users to attach an image of the pipe they are reviewing. Currently, there is no method of displaying the content inline. Users will have click on the "attachment link" to see your pipe. This is due to a strange limitation with Drupal.

3. Once 1&2 are completed, I will continue to add links to resellers for all pipes (as they are available).
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pipereviews.org
Bub

avatar

Registration date : 2007-12-15

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Fri May 27, 2011 10:33 am

If people post pictures and describe a pipe a) you could trace the history of a pipe b) offer a place for people to sell/trade a pipe c) have documentation for a pipe
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MartinH

avatar

Age : 47
Location : The South
Registration date : 2011-01-04

PostSubject: Re: Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA   Fri May 27, 2011 10:37 am

Bub - That is a really cool idea.

Here's a question - BoB has been such a treasure trove for me and such a nice place to be as a new pipe smoker, maybe there is a way to incorporate BoB in this idea. Maybe the trading and selling of pipes that occurs here, can somehow be linked to my site and give people a better idea of what they are purchasing.

I think it's definitely something to think about.

Thanks,

Martin
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pipereviews.org
 
Pipereviews.org NOW OPEN in BETA
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Community :: The Round Table-
Jump to: