HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 

Greetings from Jim in Northern California

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Jim Lowe

Registration date : 2012-01-26

PostSubject: Greetings from Jim in Northern California   Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:28 pm

Hello everyone and greetings from the San Francisco Bay area.

I'm very pleased to have found this little group. I've learned quite a bit from the reading the excellent discussions, and it's come time to introduce myself. Please call me Jim.

I'm still quite new to pipe tobacco, having discovered it last fall after throwing in the towel with cigars. The learning curve has been steep, and it remains so, but I'm certainly enjoying the experience.

I've accumulated a small squadron of MM cob pipes; everything from a MacArthur and a Freehand, to several workhorse Missouri Prides, with a few Eggs and Spools thrown in for good measure. Cobs, more cobs, and nothing but cobs. Someday I'll branch out, but not until I've got a better handle on the tobacco side of the sport.

My small but proud tobacco collection includes Penzance, FVF, SJF, BWF, SL, PA, and various combinations of those. I've got a list in my mind of what I want to try next, but before do that, I'll ask for advice first.

I did splurge and purchase a Corona Old Boy - rough briar finish. Totally unnecessary, but completely wonderful. Like I said, I splurged.

Enough of the intros. Glad to be here, and looking forward to meeting the gang.

Jim

Back to top Go down
View user profile
s.ireland

Registration date : 2010-08-14

PostSubject: Re: Greetings from Jim in Northern California   Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:33 pm

Welcome to the forum, Jim! It's great to have you here.

MM cobs and some great tobacco... You are off to a great start!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mike_68

Registration date : 2011-07-19