HomeHome  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  
 

 Would like some opinion.

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Boulder&Briar

Boulder&Briar

Age : 40
Location : Oberlin, Ohio USA
Registration date : 2012-07-04

Would like some opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Would like some opinion.    Would like some opinion.  EmptyThu Aug 09, 2012 9:23 am

Hello all, I would like to first say that my time so far of being a member here with BoB has been wonderful. All of you have been very polite, helpful, and honest. I have also obtainted some great opinions from some of the more frequent visitors and will soon hopefully have some good reviews on the pipes I've made so far and the one to come. I value everyone's opinion here and would like to know what you think. I am having some difficulty in deciding what I want to do or should do as far as branding my future work. I started with the first three pipes inscribing them with my initials, number pipe, the year and B&B for Boulder & Briar. The rest i have been just inscribing B&B with number of pipe. I was recently told by a friend that I should just put my name, and number of pipe. A family member said B&B by Nicholas Burnsworth. I want to get a stamp made in the near future and would like to make something that I can stick with from here on out. What's your opinion?
Back to top Go down
http://www.boulderandbriar.com
Rob_In_MO

Rob_In_MO

Age : 46
Location : Park Hills, MO
Registration date : 2011-01-19

Would like some opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Would like some opinion.    Would like some opinion.  EmptyThu Aug 09, 2012 9:52 am

If it was me, i'd do one or the other - name or initials. Numbering would be alright too.

Don't want too much on it - you wouldn't want to clutter up the pipe and/or cover that beautiful grain. Cool
Back to top Go down
dshpipes

dshpipes

Age : 36
Location : Durham, NC
Registration date : 2011-03-06

Would like some opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Would like some opinion.    Would like some opinion.  EmptyThu Aug 09, 2012 10:10 am

Rob_In_MO wrote:
If it was me, i'd do one or the other - name or initials. Numbering would be alright too.

Don't want too much on it - you wouldn't want to clutter up the pipe and/or cover that beautiful grain. Cool

I agree. Stick to the KISS principle: Keep It Simple, Stupid. Wink

I think numbering is a cool idea and I've done that on the two of mine that I thought were good enough to stamp. However, even the numbering will eventually become unimportant. IMO, it's only important now because you've made so few and it's nice to be able to say, "That was my sixth pipe," and, "that was my eighth pipe," for comparison. After you make 50+, I just don't think it'll matter much.

Sometimes, simply stamping your name on the pipe is all you need. Smile
Back to top Go down
http://www.dshpipes.com
Growley

Growley

Age : 44
Location : Fairhope, Al
Registration date : 2012-04-10

Would like some opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Would like some opinion.    Would like some opinion.  EmptyThu Aug 09, 2012 10:33 am

Not only should you keep it simple, but keep it short. The longer your stamp gets the harder it is to make it stamp correctly, and find a good place to stamp it.

In my opinion, you don't want the stamp to tell people whose pipe they have, you want the pipe to do that. The stamp is just proof. Think of a 911. You know it from a mile away, but not because it says Porsche across the entire side of the car. It's badge or stamp is small. Don't let your stamp detract from the beauty of your pipes.

Back to top Go down
http://GrowleyPipes.com
kaiser83

kaiser83

Age : 36
Location : Wherever the smoke clears
Registration date : 2012-02-22

Would like some opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Would like some opinion.    Would like some opinion.  EmptyThu Aug 09, 2012 10:36 am

I agree with the KISS method. Initials, First initial and last name, or just your simple B&B. Not to promote another forum (since they never got back to me about my membership anyhow lol hint hint someone) but there are a few discussions on the pipe makers forum about stamps and where to get and the like. Simplicity is just sexy on a pipe though.
Back to top Go down
monbla256

monbla256

Age : 74
Location : DFW Metroplex, Texas
Registration date : 2012-01-15

Would like some opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Would like some opinion.    Would like some opinion.  EmptyThu Aug 09, 2012 11:29 am

As Mies said "... less is more" . Follow the KISS principle. Take a look at some older Dunhill patent era pipes, just covered the stems with stamping,firm name, grp size, model #, patent #s and on and on. Your'e not planning to make thousands of the same shape etc are you? Simplicity Razz
Back to top Go down
Kyle Weiss

Kyle Weiss

Location : Reno, NV
Registration date : 2011-09-18

Would like some opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Would like some opinion.    Would like some opinion.  EmptyThu Aug 09, 2012 1:15 pm

Although I've considered a method of rustication that uses jumbled letters and numbers pressed into the briar... kind of an all or "very little" kind of deal.

Back to top Go down
Fishfuzz

Fishfuzz

Age : 45
Location : Oregon
Registration date : 2012-05-24

Would like some opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Would like some opinion.    Would like some opinion.  EmptyThu Aug 09, 2012 1:43 pm

+1 for simple. I like B&B with a number for the body and perhaps a quality level.
Back to top Go down
Boulder&Briar

Boulder&Briar

Age : 40
Location : Oberlin, Ohio USA
Registration date : 2012-07-04

Would like some opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Would like some opinion.    Would like some opinion.  EmptyThu Aug 09, 2012 6:29 pm

Thanks guys. I definitely agree with less being better. I think Burnsworth is to long, Boulder & Briar is kid of long but might look good in some sort of circular orientation, B&B would work, and in the future I want my style and designs to define the rest. I should probably stop wasting time on this though and get back in the shop making pipes Smile
Back to top Go down
http://www.boulderandbriar.com
Sasquatch

Sasquatch

Location : The Garage
Registration date : 2008-12-14

Would like some opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Would like some opinion.    Would like some opinion.  EmptyThu Aug 09, 2012 8:42 pm

I think it was John Lennon who said something like "We could have been called The Potatoes, it wouldn't have made any difference in the world." when asked about how "good" the name "Beatles" was for a band.

Make it small and easy to apply. Let your pipes define the stamp. cheers
Back to top Go down
 
Would like some opinion.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: DIY-
Jump to: