HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 Some reviews are worth reading

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Dave_In_Philly

avatar

Age : 36
Location : Philly
Registration date : 2011-08-18

PostSubject: Some reviews are worth reading   Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:26 pm

So I'm in the process of booking cruise for early next year. In my research I came across this review and nearly spit my coffee on my monitor. This may be the best review ever because there was no tongue in cheek - this woman appears to have been completely exasperated by her experience.

Quote :
Very Disappointing

I have just returned from a 9 night cruise with RCI on Explorer of the Seas. First the good points: The cabin was surprisingly spacious for the four of us. There is certainly a wow factor to the facilities, size and general atmosphere of the ship. The staff were excellent, especially our cabin steward Winfield, Milano at the Acquarium bar and all the wait staff in both the formal dining rooms and Windjammer. The theatre shows were pretty good and the ice show was amazing.

However, I am extremely disappointed at everything else. Yes, this was our first cruise, but we are well travelled and have never been in a situation where manners and common courtesy are totally amiss. With the exception of our table mates, who saved the holiday from being a complete disaster, I don't think we would have had the opportunity of a single conversation. There were 3,500 people on that ship, with the majority from the New Jersey area. Makes sense as the port is in New Jersey. But what we learned soon after boarding was that despite us booking 8 months ago and paying 6,500 for a family of four, RCI had advertised cut price offers in the local press two weeks before the ship sailed and the ship was now completely full. Call me a snob, but if I pay a high price for a holiday I assume the majority of the guests have too and would therefore be of a certain calibre.

Never have I seen such obesity in all my life and to make matters worse, it appears for many their sole intention for the duration of the cruise was to eat. My son stood up from the table one morning and was pushed aside by the fattest man I had ever seen in my life who grunted at him, such was his eagerness to eat his breakfast. My only experience of people this size have been in documentaries on TV where they have discussed where people have become so obese they can't leave their homes etc. They ought to be ashamed of themselves. There were also a lot of mobility impaired people on board and I was pleased that the were still able to holiday with their disabilities, but to my surprise one day as we were waiting for a lift one person reversed out shouting, "Get out of my way" (I could write a novel on lift etiquette or rather the lack of it) Even towards the end of a game of bingo the crew member hosting the activity said after 30 minutes at 11.30am that he wouldn't keep us much longer as it was nearly lunch time and probably an hour since most of us had eaten. That says it all really.

Throughout the entire trip it seemed that the cruise line's intention was to extract as much money out of you as possible. Being at sea for two whole days meant that we were a captive audience. Want and expresso or cappucino after dinner? That will be extra. Want to use the golf simulator? That is $25. Bought the soda package but want a bottle of water? That will be nearly $5 and it doesn't include the mini bar in your cabin. One word of warning. If you grant your children signing priviledges then they can run up a huge bill in the arcade (of course that is extra) without pre paying with cash. One of our new friends discovered this after her son had run up a bill of $180 in a couple of hours there. Fortunately she was able to turn the card off for the remainder of the trip. I could go on and on. The sales pitch was everywhere including the TV. Then on the last day they had a massive sale where all the logo items were sold at 50% off or more. Think about those that bought their t-shirts etc at the beginning of the cruise.

Some relief came when we got off the boat. You have to queue to get off and queue to get on which eats into your shore time. On the day we arrived in Bermuda, another ship had also docked and then there 7,000 people heading to Horseshoe Bay. I couldn't even see my kids on the beach or in the water, the beach was so packed. Even on the boat, the deckchairs were pushed so close together they touched and you were made to feel like a sardine in a can. It was ridiculous. There was also a general hubbub on the outer desks that was inescapable. There was no personal space or peace and quiet. My husband spent most of his time in the cabin. I had to put my ipod on full blast to drown it out.

I have to say that my husband and I have never been so disappointed with a holiday and even if someone gave me a cruise , I wouldn't go.


She was on the same ship and sailed from the same port as we will be. If she filled out her info correctly, we will be in the cabin next to hers.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DrumsAndBeer

avatar

Age : 45
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Some reviews are worth reading   Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:42 pm

Funny. I guess it could have been worse for her. For instance she could have taken one of those cruise trips where everyone on board gets some horrible food born illness for 3-4 days, and they have to turn around and dock so people can seek treatment. Also, her ship not hitting an iceberg is a plus.

I have only ever taken one cruise ship any where. It was technically a charter from Miami to the Bahamas. It was hardly a cruise and more like a 4 hour boat trip, but it was definitely the longest amount of time that I would ever want to be on a boat in the middle of the ocean travelling with the same group of people.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Greyson

avatar

Age : 36
Location : England
Registration date : 2012-08-03

PostSubject: Re: Some reviews are worth reading   Tue Aug 14, 2012 6:12 pm

I think I would take that as a fifty foot neon sign from the universe to rethink my plans.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Wet Dottle

avatar

Location : Littleton, CO
Registration date : 2008-02-27

PostSubject: Re: Some reviews are worth reading   Tue Aug 14, 2012 6:32 pm

Ive been in a couple of cruises and the same obsession with eating was there, too...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kyle Weiss

avatar

Location : Reno, NV
Registration date : 2011-09-18

PostSubject: Re: Some reviews are worth reading   Wed Aug 15, 2012 2:01 pm

This account sounds almost identical to most of what any friends I have experienced while on a cruise. You take a huge casino (buffets, gaming, but much smaller rooms), mix it with a water park, a giant McDonald's "Play Place," a shopping mall, toss the whole thing on water, charge for everything except walking, breathing, sleeping and (some) eating, eat slightly-better-than-cafeteria-food, be subject to something akin to a naval/prison schedule, and endure for 4 - 10 days. Also, be sure you LOVE or are completely tolerant of other human beings.

I couldn't be paid to go on a cruise. Neutral I don't care of the people are educated, thin and rich or fat trash.

My personal hell, if I ever have to go there, will be a never-ending cruise ship at sail.

Cool
Back to top Go down
View user profile
idbowman

avatar

Age : 35
Location : Painesville, OH
Registration date : 2011-12-19

PostSubject: Re: Some reviews are worth reading   Wed Aug 15, 2012 2:51 pm

This cruise wouldn't be so bad (some of you surely know about this already if you get P&T Mag.).

http://www.yachtexplorer.com/index.html

Only four guest cabins, good food and drink, smoker friendly, etc. Of course the price tag is a bit out of my reach, but what can you do?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Wet Dottle

avatar

Location : Littleton, CO
Registration date : 2008-02-27

PostSubject: Re: Some reviews are worth reading   Wed Aug 15, 2012 4:07 pm

Kyle Weiss wrote:
This account sounds almost identical to most of what any friends I have experienced while on a cruise. You take a huge casino (buffets, gaming, but much smaller rooms), mix it with a water park, a giant McDonald's "Play Place," a shopping mall, toss the whole thing on water, charge for everything except walking, breathing, sleeping and (some) eating, eat slightly-better-than-cafeteria-food, be subject to something akin to a naval/prison schedule, and endure for 4 - 10 days. Also, be sure you LOVE or are completely tolerant of other human beings.

I couldn't be paid to go on a cruise. Neutral I don't care of the people are educated, thin and rich or fat trash.

My personal hell, if I ever have to go there, will be a never-ending cruise ship at sail.

Cool
My experience was the total opposite of this. This is not to say that there aren't cruises like what you describe, but perhaps your friends aren't looking in the right places. Having said that, it's true that cruises have some constraints and that it's not a vacation recommended to everyone.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sloppy Joe Hemingway

avatar

Age : 41
Location : Sweet Home Chicago (when not in the Keys)
Registration date : 2012-08-06

PostSubject: Re: Some reviews are worth reading   Wed Aug 15, 2012 7:11 pm

I love the ocean and love being under full sail out and away from land. However, I've never been on a "proper" cruise and really have no desire to do so. That review being a good indicator as to why.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Slide



Age : 55
Location : Benton, Louisiana
Registration date : 2011-11-23

PostSubject: Re: Some reviews are worth reading   Wed Aug 15, 2012 7:48 pm

I've been on a couple and had a great time.

My biggest expense with the extras was coffee. If I still drank alcohol I couldn't afford to get near one of the ships.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kyle Weiss

avatar

Location : Reno, NV
Registration date : 2011-09-18

PostSubject: Re: Some reviews are worth reading   Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:38 pm

Wet Dottle wrote:
Having said that, it's true that cruises have some constraints and that it's not a vacation recommended to everyone.

Hey, one more available spot for you guys. I ain't gonna fight ya for it. Laughing

Cool
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DrT999

avatar

Age : 59
Location : Piedmont of North Carolina
Registration date : 2011-08-31

PostSubject: Re: Some reviews are worth reading   Wed Aug 15, 2012 9:47 pm

There was a % of the 'bad' people like that on the Christmas cruise I went on last year, but for what it was, it wasn't that bad an experience. Granted, I've only been on 2 cruises, but for short jaunts taken just to be able to veg out, they were worth going on. I don't think I could handle a week or longer, though!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tobaccocellar.com/DrT999
Brewdude

avatar

Age : 65
Location : Near the Emerald city
Registration date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Some reviews are worth reading   Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:33 pm

Not to be a negative Nancy but I can't figure out why anyone would want to be on a cruise ship with several thousand other people. Including and especially when one of the primary motivators would be to see how much food one could shovel down their gob in as little time possible!

No cruise for this boy......


No



Cheers,

RR
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.fallsbrew.com
Dave_In_Philly

avatar

Age : 36
Location : Philly
Registration date : 2011-08-18

PostSubject: Re: Some reviews are worth reading   Thu Aug 16, 2012 9:15 am

Its funny, four of us always travel together: my wife and I, and my best friend and his wife (who he met at college and has become very close with my wife overtime - each was the the other's maid of honor). We coincidentally had kids 6 weeks apart (truly unplanned). This will be our third cruise together and this will the first vacation for each of us with with our kids.

Of the four of us, I am by far the one who least enjoys cruising, but I find myself needing to defend the process in here. Its not quite as bad as you guys seem to think. Yes they tend to attract some of the largest human beings that can be observed in the wild. And, yes, people seem to forget to bring their common courtesies with them when the cruise. But, despite that, cruises can still be enjoyable. Being at sea, in and of itself, is very nice. The food, on the better ships at least, can be good - not great, but definitely good. We carry alcohol onto the ship with us (in less than legitimate containers to avoid detection). A cruise is a nice vacation, because you literally do not need to worry about anything once you board the ship. Everything is taken care of for you and you can just relax - which, I guess, is why it appeals to those to fat to properly care for themselves.

Though, the biggest benefit to this particular cruise is that it allows us to enjoy the Caribbean without having to get on a plane with a 1 year old. We sail out of NYC. Also, the hotel room we had at The W in Manhattan was smaller than any stateroom I have ever stayed in and cost about the same per night.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
J Soshae

avatar

Age : 44
Location : Birmingham, AL
Registration date : 2011-08-19

PostSubject: Re: Some reviews are worth reading   Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:47 pm

We have done 4 cruises. I was not sold on the idea until we did an Alaskan cruise with "free style" dining. Paying the extra money each meal took us from the feeding trough to a typical nice dining experience.

The more ports the better. A day at sea is much improved in a nice cigar lounge catching up on the news and partaking of some forbidden stick.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Some reviews are worth reading
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» The cod-piece joke in the comments section makes this worth reading....
» Body of Maddie 'worth' 1.2 million
» University:was it worth it? The 9,000 question
» Anyone tried Lactiful??
» Questions About Reviews

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Community :: The Round Table-
Jump to: