HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 Pease "Cumberland" Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Mon Sep 23, 2013 1:44 pm

A few times every month my palate fully opens to Cumberland. I’ve always loved it but of late am tasting that which makes me love it more.

The initial taste is of a tobacco goodness signifying quality and balance. The tobacco as tobacco tastes fuller and better. Pease states that red VA is the base along with some flue-cured stoved and mature VA, that dark-fired is the calling card with a hint of perique.

I find all of this true, that the base is solid, but just how the matured VA is additive is inference, from a memory that judged the VAs in Escudo as mature from their fullness. The dark-fired is distinctive but nowhere nearly as strong compared to other blends such as “Old Dark-Fired” or the Malawi burley in “Dark Flake.” I do believe I taste smokiness. Finally there is just enough perique to put the blend in motion.

Some tobaccos, making the most of their interplay, present as lushly balanced. “Cumberland” is such a tobacco.
Back to top Go down
Crookshanks

avatar

Location : Ohio
Registration date : 2009-11-09

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Mon Sep 23, 2013 3:40 pm

Fantastic!! A fellow Cumberland lover!!

Smokiness indeed!! In the way a wine might have it, or a scotch might, to my mind. It's so subtle it's almost more noticeable. It's always reminded me of a watered down Peaty Islay Scotch. Those flavors are there, but in a VERY "drinkable" expression.

Sometimes I think I'm the only person who loves this one! Some say it's too strong. I've never thought so...

How do you like Cumberland vs Jackknife?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DrumsAndBeer

avatar

Age : 45
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Mon Sep 23, 2013 3:50 pm

Definitely a blend that doesn't get the attention it deserves. I smoked a lot of Cumberland last year, and it's all about subtleties even though it's quite rich. I still have a few tins stashed away although I have to say that when it comes to a VA/KY combo, my heart and wallet belong to another. Still I too admire the balance of this blend.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Briar Spirit

avatar

Age : 49
Location : England UK
Registration date : 2012-08-30

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:20 pm

Great review Mike, I love this blend, I had a sample of it a while back now but I remember I liked it so much I was hopping mad we don't get it in the UK, good to see others love it as much as I did.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:41 pm

Thanks for the replies:).

I haven't smoked JackKnife yet. I counted the number of tins I have open today: 30. It's supposed to be no more than 12, but who's worrying. I've opened Irish Flake, Kendal KY and Westminster in the last week. But I still don't know as I should open JNP, Navigator or Silver Flake first; the tin of Cumberland is almost gone. I need another VA/KY.
D&B's heart is sold to Silver Flake, and as I trust his palate, I may go that way. Decisions, decisions. . .I love them all!
Back to top Go down
somedumbjerk

avatar

Age : 31
Location : Palo Alto, CA USA
Registration date : 2012-08-26

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:01 pm

4noggins.com_Mike wrote:
Thanks for the replies:).

I haven't smoked JackKnife yet. I counted the number of tins I have open today: 30. It's supposed to be no more than 12, but who's worrying. I've opened Irish Flake, Kendal KY and Westminster in the last week. But I still don't know as I should open JNP, Navigator or Silver Flake first; the tin of Cumberland is almost gone. I need another VA/KY.
D&B's heart is sold to Silver Flake, and as I trust his palate, I may go that way. Decisions, decisions. . .I love them all!
silver flake doesn't sing to me like cumberland does. lately i've been blending kendall kentucky with medium virginia flake. great mixture! eyeball about half and half, set in a jar for a few days.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Northern Neil

avatar

Age : 33
Location : Calgary AB. Canada
Registration date : 2012-12-27

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:03 pm

I have a couple of tins of cumberland in the cellar from June of this year. This has been a blend I have wanted to try for a while, but also wanted to let it get some age.

From you fine gentlemen who have experience with this blend, to age... or not to age?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
somedumbjerk

avatar

Age : 31
Location : Palo Alto, CA USA
Registration date : 2012-08-26

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:04 pm

Northern Neil wrote:
I have a couple of tins of cumberland in the cellar from June of this year.  This has been a blend I have wanted to try for a while, but also wanted to let it get some age.

From you fine gentlemen who have experience with this blend, to age... or not to age?
i've only had it with 5+ years on it. it's divine. i'm going to be purchasing mroe to keep in stock
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Fr_Tom

avatar

Location : Diocese of Northern Indiana
Registration date : 2013-05-29

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:25 pm

4noggins.com_Mike wrote:

I counted the number of tins I have open today: 30. It's supposed to be no more than 12, but who's worrying.
I read this and started counting. You have me whipped on the number of tins open. I am at 7. I do have two 8 oz cans of Old Companion open - one at home and one at the office. That boosts my number, but still... 30 is a lot of tins...

Having said this, I don't need to start counting samples brothers have sent. I suppose they are open tins too.

I am smoking some MacB's Navy Flake right now and actually think it is pretty good in its own way. I know it does not get much love, but it is working for me tonight.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tobaccoreviews.com/user/14371
Brewdude

avatar

Age : 65
Location : Near the Emerald city
Registration date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:14 pm

Northern Neil wrote:
I have a couple of tins of cumberland in the cellar from June of this year.  This has been a blend I have wanted to try for a while, but also wanted to let it get some age.

From you fine gentlemen who have experience with this blend, to age... or not to age?
NN

All I can say is that Cumberland is great with some age on it. So smoke some fresh, and put some away for a while.

Dunno if I'm a fine gentleman tho!

Laughing 


Cheers,

RR
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.fallsbrew.com
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:47 pm

The pound of Kendal KY that I have burns very quickly, much quicker than I remember, but I haven't smoked it for about 5 years. Very tasty and very strong. It burned so quickly in a cob that I got gobs of smoke effortlessly. Might have to get a big pipe.

Cumberland ages well. I smoked it at ~5 years.

I used to smoke Navy Flake regularly but in the end found it bland.

Samples don't count as open tins in my book.


Last edited by 4noggins.com_Mike on Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
DrumsAndBeer

avatar

Age : 45
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:57 pm

4noggins.com_Mike wrote:
Cumberland ages well.
I agree. Cumberland is one of a handful of blends that I have been lucky enough to be able to cross compare various tinnings of. I have a tin from 2002 that I am still smoking through that is really good. I also had a very generous sample from 2003 that I quickly smoked through and it was Re-God-Damned-Diculous how good it was. Easily twice as good as the 2002 tin. I smoked a tin from 2008 that was also very good but as expected a bit more rugged than the earlier stuff. If anything expect a more balanced smoother smoke from the aged stuff. Why the 2003 was so freaking awesome I have no idea.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Northern Neil

avatar

Age : 33
Location : Calgary AB. Canada
Registration date : 2012-12-27

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Tue Sep 24, 2013 10:42 am

Well, I think I'm going to let my tins get a little more age to them before I crack into them. But I have to say, I'll be looking foward to the day I pop that top Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brewdude

avatar

Age : 65
Location : Near the Emerald city
Registration date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Tue Sep 24, 2013 8:03 pm

I was introduced to Cumberland through Mike's blow-out sale. Had the great fortune to hook up with some aged weed ('04), and have to say it's fine in all ways. Smoked through most of it pretty quickly.

Now have to work on replacing it with new stock and then ageing it myself.


pig 


Cheers,

RR
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.fallsbrew.com
Maynard58

avatar

Age : 59
Location : East Tn
Registration date : 2014-10-19

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Fri Oct 24, 2014 9:54 pm

Just opened a tin I got for Christmas in 2008 and I love it .
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Canicus61

avatar

Age : 56
Location : NJ
Registration date : 2013-10-16

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Fri Jul 01, 2016 12:34 am

Thought I'd chime in on this old thread - I hadn't seen much mention of this blend. I think it's awesome - a real heavyweight, smoky, complex, strong, and is a great evening smoke especially with a good scotch in hand - or even coffee after dinner. I had a tin of this about three years old which I recently opened and am enjoying more and more with each pipeful. It's got a nice nicotine kick along with a real tobacco taste - - - -it's growing on me.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
MisterE
Moderator
avatar

Location : Mexico City
Registration date : 2009-08-24

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Fri Jul 01, 2016 1:44 am

I have one tin here that I was eyeing the other day. I even took it out and set it on my desk to contemplate. I do have fond memories of it from when I last smoked it-- maybe four or five years back(?). Maybe I'll give it another go. scratch

_________________
Many of the greatest pleasures in life are illegal, immoral, or smelly.

-Yak
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Canicus61

avatar

Age : 56
Location : NJ
Registration date : 2013-10-16

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Fri Jul 01, 2016 7:58 pm

It's really an awesome tobacco - and seems to 'fly under the radar'......I have too many tins open right now....
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brewdude

avatar

Age : 65
Location : Near the Emerald city
Registration date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Fri Jul 01, 2016 8:58 pm

I've long since exhausted my vintage stock of this from Mike's sell-off, which was my introduction to this fine blend. Guess I need to revisit.

Cheers,

RR


Last edited by Brewdude on Fri Jul 01, 2016 10:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.fallsbrew.com
DrumsAndBeer

avatar

Age : 45
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Fri Jul 01, 2016 9:57 pm

I often wonder where Mike went. He was always very generous to me. I purchased a few items in his sell-off as well and he sent me a second package loaded with fine tobaccos, Silver Flake, 1792, Haddo's and Cumberland. Hope he's doing well.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Old Nate
Not Really Old
avatar

Age : 34
Location : Western PA
Registration date : 2014-08-27

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Sat Jul 02, 2016 12:57 pm

This is one I've been eyeing for a while. I just have so many VA/BUR things right now.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Northern Neil

avatar

Age : 33
Location : Calgary AB. Canada
Registration date : 2012-12-27

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:23 pm

Since I posted in this thread 3 years ago, Cumberland has become one of my favorite tobaccos. The aroma is reminiscent of stewed fruit, providing a full bodied, savory smoke with some good complexity!

I made sure to load up on some extra tins for the cellar!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brewdude

avatar

Age : 65
Location : Near the Emerald city
Registration date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Pease "Cumberland" Review   Sun Jul 03, 2016 7:50 pm

DrumsAndBeer wrote:
I often wonder where Mike went. He was always very generous to me. I purchased a few items in his sell-off as well and he sent me a second package loaded with fine tobaccos, Silver Flake, 1792, Haddo's and Cumberland. Hope he's doing well.

I can say the same with regard to his generosity.

He seemed to want to be off the board for reasons that I'm still not quite certain of. Mike was a valuable contributor, albeit a bit tightly wound. Hope he's doing well.

<Not trying to open a can of worms here btw>


Cheers,

RR
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.fallsbrew.com
 
Pease "Cumberland" Review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Could Madeleine's Review by SY be pulled??
» tanteidan convention book 17 (review)
» Serious Case Review (SCR) Rochdale.
» Want a Forum Review? POST HERE!
» Canadian Mk 2 helmet

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: The Tobacco Jar-
Jump to: