HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
bentbulldog

avatar

Age : 34
Location : Briarwood, NY (not joking)
Registration date : 2009-06-21

PostSubject: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:20 pm

Dry mouth is an issue for me, especially after smoking. Fortunately, there is Biotene. However, I didnt bring it with me on my recent trip and had to settle for ACT dry mouth since Wegmans was out of Biotene.
After a week, I can say this:
They're not the same and Biotene is the best oral supplement for the pipe smoker(IMHO)
Biotene is thicker, and feels like its coating my mouth. It feels less dry and I think it leaves a better aftertaste.
ACT did the job but not as effectively. I had to double dose. It also left a mouthwash aftertaste which i didn't like.

That said, while Biotene is my go to post smoke wash, if you were in a pinch and cant find a bottle, ACT would suffice. Biotene is worth the extra $$.

Just my .02c

On that note, if anyone has a homemade natural remedy, please share.


May the puff be with you
Back to top Go down
View user profile
juanmedusa

avatar

Age : 36
Location : Falls Church, Virginia
Registration date : 2013-07-06

PostSubject: Re: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Sun Aug 24, 2014 1:57 pm

This was actually of interest to me. Thanks.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DrumsAndBeer

avatar

Age : 45
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Sun Aug 24, 2014 2:43 pm

I thought ACT was just a fluoride rinse?

I use Biotene, especially after I smoke certain latakia blends. Sometimes I need it, sometimes I don't. But altogether it is very effective at doing what it is designed to do.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Cartaphilus

avatar

Age : 63
Location : East Texas
Registration date : 2011-12-15

PostSubject: Re: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:40 pm

I don't suffer from dry mouth, in fact I'll drool all over myself like a St. Bernard if I'm not constantly swallowing but, I do suffer from taste loss and or metal mouth from time to time and Biotene really does the trick to help bring my taste buds back on track.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://rdpipes.briar.club/
smg913

avatar

Age : 30
Location : New Jersey
Registration date : 2013-01-27

PostSubject: Re: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Sun Aug 24, 2014 4:38 pm

I love biotene but I am also a big fan of a warm salt water rinse
Back to top Go down
View user profile
J Soshae

avatar

Age : 44
Location : Birmingham, AL
Registration date : 2011-08-19

PostSubject: Re: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Sun Aug 24, 2014 4:48 pm

Everything was great with Biotene until I read the package. It said something about eggs and I could never get it out of my mind.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Old Nate
Not Really Old
avatar

Age : 34
Location : Western PA
Registration date : 2014-08-27

PostSubject: Re: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:35 pm

Cartaphilus wrote:
I don't suffer from dry mouth, in fact I'll drool all over myself like a St. Bernard if I'm not constantly swallowing but, I do suffer from taste loss and or metal mouth from time to time and Biotene really does the trick to help bring my taste buds back on track.

Yep, Biotene feels very nice on my tongue when I push it too hard. And it does help the dry mouth as well, but I find I, too, am usually salivating all over... in some fashion.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AJ

avatar

Age : 69
Location : East of the Rocky Mountains
Registration date : 2012-03-18

PostSubject: Re: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Wed Sep 10, 2014 11:05 pm

Cartaphilus wrote:
I don't suffer from dry mouth, in fact I'll drool all over myself like a St. Bernard if I'm not constantly swallowing but, I do suffer from taste loss and or metal mouth from time to time and Biotene really does the trick to help bring my taste buds back on track.

Ron,

Anyone would be drooling like a St. Bernard if they could sit and stare at the fine collection of pipes you have. Everytime I think of that Don Carlos with the silver band you have I nearly drown in my own saliva. Smile

AJ
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Could Madeleine's Review by SY be pulled??
» tanteidan convention book 17 (review)
» Serious Case Review (SCR) Rochdale.
» Want a Forum Review? POST HERE!
» Canadian Mk 2 helmet

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Community :: The Round Table-
Jump to: