HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share
 

 Wessex Gold Brick...opinions?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Psmith

Psmith

Location : Sokcho, South Korea
Registration date : 2013-04-21

Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Wessex Gold Brick...opinions?   Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? EmptyTue Jan 13, 2015 12:08 am

Since enjoying Peterson's PPP I'm thinking of buying Wessex' Gold Brick. The reviews on TR give some sense of it. Anybody here tried it and can let me know whether it is worth a purchase? I would be grateful.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RDPipes

RDPipes

Age : 65
Location : East Texas
Registration date : 2011-12-15

Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wessex Gold Brick...opinions?   Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? EmptyTue Jan 13, 2015 12:16 am

Other then being a PITA to prepare it's a good smooth smoke as far as I'm concerned.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://rdpipes.briar.club/
DrumsAndBeer

DrumsAndBeer

Age : 46
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wessex Gold Brick...opinions?   Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? EmptyTue Jan 13, 2015 12:43 am

Been on my very long list of tobaccos I want to try for some time now.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MisterE
Moderator
MisterE

Location : Mexico City
Registration date : 2009-08-24

Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wessex Gold Brick...opinions?   Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? EmptyTue Jan 13, 2015 12:50 am

Worth every penny IMHO.

_________________
Many of the greatest pleasures in life are illegal, immoral, or smelly.

-Yak
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kyle Weiss

Kyle Weiss

Location : Reno, NV
Registration date : 2011-09-18

Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wessex Gold Brick...opinions?   Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? EmptyTue Jan 13, 2015 3:46 am

I wholly dig the stuff, and this notion has lasted beyond early taste notes, too.

http://www.brothersofbriar.com/t20934-i-just-tried-wessex-gold-brick

Cool
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Wet Dottle

Wet Dottle

Location : Littleton, CO
Registration date : 2008-02-27

Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wessex Gold Brick...opinions?   Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? EmptyWed Jan 14, 2015 2:37 pm

It's a nice, semi-sweet VA blend. I don't detect any flavorings, but there may be some. Cuts easily into flakes that you can fold and stuff. See what Kyle wrote. If that's what you like, go for it without fear.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Psmith

Psmith

Location : Sokcho, South Korea
Registration date : 2013-04-21

Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wessex Gold Brick...opinions?   Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? EmptyWed Jan 14, 2015 6:41 pm

Thank you fellas for sharing your opinions. I'm going to get some in my next order. I really like plugs for a few reasons. Being a morning smoker I find the process of carving away at them with a swiss army while I sip a coffee wakes my brain up. It gives me something simple and manual to focus on during those groggy hours. Secondly they burn so slow so I find that a plug can last forever (though they don't seem to demonstrate the benefits of aging quite like flakes or loose-cut due to their compressed nature). Finally I like how they are portable, with that Petersons 3P's I eventually just began carrying it about in my bag inside a simple little leather pouch. I'm a fan of simplicity (although most find plugs to be anything but simple Shocked )
I'm anxious to try the Gold Brick because I love straight Virginia's. It's too bad there are really only a few plugs readily available (those UK plugs are hard to come by) but alas.
Thanks again guys. Much appreciated.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mustanggt

mustanggt

Age : 57
Location : PNW
Registration date : 2014-12-27

Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wessex Gold Brick...opinions?   Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? EmptyMon Jan 19, 2015 1:10 am

It is simple, but from a taste stand point. Wonderfully, simple, tasty Virginia. If you don't have arthritis and you have a sharp knife, you'll be in like Flynn. I think it ranks right up there or surpasses Dunhill Flake. My hands don't like me after I've cut this stuff up which is too bad because I would smoke this great flake way more often.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kyle Weiss

Kyle Weiss

Location : Reno, NV
Registration date : 2011-09-18

Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wessex Gold Brick...opinions?   Wessex Gold Brick...opinions? EmptyMon Jan 19, 2015 2:58 am

Peel off thin layers of horizontal slices and use sharp scissors to make strips to rub out into ribbons.

It's a lot easier than trying to hack through the whole brick, even for non-arthritic hands.

Cool
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Wessex Gold Brick...opinions?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Forum Cash/Gold
» Gold & Silver Small Shields
» Extreamly Rare Gold Capture of Quebec Medal
» The Caylee Daily

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: The Tobacco Jar-
Jump to: