HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.

Go down 
AuthorMessage
JimInks

JimInks

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Fri Mar 20, 2015 1:02 pm

Aptly named, HH Bold Kentucky has a lot of strength and boldness, and is indeed, the strongest tobacco in the HH line. The African and American dark fired Kentuckys are very earthy with some nuttiness and spice, and a minor amount of sweetness. Smoked straight, dark fired Kentucky can be harsh and at times, bitter, so the bright Virginias are a necessary addition, succeeding in their purpose by softening most of the rough edges with some minor sweet citrus and grass notes. The Virginias do not dampen the power and hearty richness of the Kentucky, and a little of the expected roughness remains, but it is more palatable to smokers as a result of its inclusion. There are a few small sour notes from the Kentucky. There is no topping, and the casing - which I suspect is vinegar - is very minimal, and not noticed very often.

The slices are hot pressed and moist in the tin. It may help the burn rate if you dry them a little, but I have found they burned fairly well straight out of the tin, though the tobacco will require some relights. The slices are very easy to break apart, and easily rubbed out if that is your preference. Burns slow and fairly cool with no bite, no dottle and very little moisture at the finish, even when itís not dried out. The taste is consistent all the way through and doesnít turn bitter at the end. Due to the strength of the flavor and nicotine, I recommend smoking it at no more than a moderate pace. Obviously not an all day smoke, but a smoker experienced with strong dark fired Kentucky products - or strong tobaccos in general - wonít mind having more than one bowl a day.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DrumsAndBeer

DrumsAndBeer

Age : 46
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:00 pm

Interesting review Jim, as always.

How would you compare it to Old Dark Fired?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
juanmedusa

juanmedusa

Age : 37
Location : Falls Church, Virginia
Registration date : 2013-07-06

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:20 pm

DrumsAndBeer wrote:
Interesting review Jim, as always.

How would you compare it to Old Dark Fired?

That's the question we all want answered!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JimInks

JimInks

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:31 pm

DrumsAndBeer wrote:
Interesting review Jim, as always.

How would you compare it to Old Dark Fired?

It's stronger, earthier, more nicotine, and less sweetness. Different flavor. Kind of reminds me some of G&H Kendall Kentucky.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DrumsAndBeer

DrumsAndBeer

Age : 46
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:38 pm

Thanks Jim..

Glad I bought the teeny-weeny tin. Razz
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RobJ

RobJ

Location : Mukilteo, Washington USA
Registration date : 2014-07-07

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Fri Mar 20, 2015 3:28 pm

Thanks for another thorough and telling review Jim.

Much appreciated.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
juanmedusa

juanmedusa

Age : 37
Location : Falls Church, Virginia
Registration date : 2013-07-06

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Fri Mar 20, 2015 3:50 pm

Thanks for answering the question about ODF. I know everyone, including myself, couldn't help but wonder about Bold Kentucky in comparison to ODF at least a little. Thanks for your review at length. I continue to look forward to them.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mark
Admin
mark

Registration date : 2008-07-02

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Fri Mar 20, 2015 4:43 pm

Good to have an idea of what to expect,,,thanks.

_________________
.

Sometimes I wake up grumpy. Other times I let her sleep.
.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MichaelM

MichaelM

Age : 53
Location : Souderton, PA
Registration date : 2014-02-13

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:46 pm

Thanks Jim. This one is on my to-buy list now.
Mike.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCha16KUMQOZfkW_RgR7eA3Q
Brewdude
Moderator
Brewdude

Age : 66
Location : Arid-zona
Registration date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Fri Mar 20, 2015 7:31 pm

JimInks wrote:
DrumsAndBeer wrote:
Interesting review Jim, as always.

How would you compare it to Old Dark Fired?

It's stronger, earthier, more nicotine, and less sweetness. Different flavor. Kind of reminds me some of G&H Kendall Kentucky.

Very helpful Jim, along with your review. I'll check it out in due course. Love me some ODF, and this one sounds like it's something that I'd enjoy as well.


Cheers,

RR

_________________
"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin


Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.randereed.com
docwatson

docwatson

Location : Central Massachusetts and midcoast Maine
Registration date : 2008-03-21

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Sun Mar 22, 2015 12:27 pm

Thanks again for such a great personal review Jim. I assumed that the blend would be similar to what you described. Not for me. I even sold all of my Old Dark Fired and Dark Strong Kentucky that I had cellared by mistake. Medium flavored tobaccos are fine for this guy.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
juanmedusa

juanmedusa

Age : 37
Location : Falls Church, Virginia
Registration date : 2013-07-06

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Sun Mar 22, 2015 12:48 pm

docwatson wrote:
Thanks again for such a great personal review Jim. I assumed that the blend would be similar to what you described. Not for me. I even sold all of my Old Dark Fired and Dark Strong Kentucky that I had cellared by mistake. Medium flavored tobaccos are fine for this guy.

DSK, Orlik?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
docwatson

docwatson

Location : Central Massachusetts and midcoast Maine
Registration date : 2008-03-21

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:27 pm

Yes Juan,
It was very old Dark Strong Kentucky by Orlik.
Sold for around $65 per tin a year ago.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
scottbtdmb



Age : 37
Location : Bel Air, MD
Registration date : 2010-02-19

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Thu Mar 26, 2015 6:48 pm

Just wanted to add my two cents, as I have been smoking HH Bold Kentucky non-stop for the past few days. First of all, there is a definite resemblance to Old Dark Fired in the way of flavor profile. I get the same "cured meat" taste from both blends, with a slightly sharper flavor in the Bold Kentucky from the addition of Bright Va's. As many have said, there is a wonderful earthy taste that is quite delicious, with an underlying sweetness in the background that never really comes to the forefront.

As far as strength goes, I don't notice a whole lot of difference between ODF and BK, but of course, I also smoke a lot of G&H Dark Flake unscented, so my nicotine tolerance is high enough where I probably wouldn't notice a difference. Bold Kentucky seems to work equally well in cobs and briars and I haven't really noticed much of a variance in performance from smoking it in different shaped/sized pipes. Overall, it's another great tobacco in the HH line and I would highly recommend picking up a tin, particularly if you like Old Dark Fired and other blends that utilize Kentucky/Va's.

-Scott
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MisterE
Moderator
MisterE

Location : Mexico City
Registration date : 2009-08-24

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:32 pm

A tin of Bold Kentucky arrived here a couple weeks ago. I'll have to give it a go. I love ODF so this one will be a nice variation on the theme.

_________________
Many of the greatest pleasures in life are illegal, immoral, or smelly.

-Yak
Back to top Go down
View user profile
juanmedusa

juanmedusa

Age : 37
Location : Falls Church, Virginia
Registration date : 2013-07-06

PostSubject: Re: Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.   Wed Apr 22, 2015 10:15 pm

MisterE wrote:
A tin of Bold Kentucky arrived here a couple weeks ago. I'll have to give it a go. I love ODF so this one will be a nice variation on the theme.

Report back, Soldier.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Jim's MacBaren HH Bold Kentucky Review.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Change rank text to bold
» SpyroDragon.com Review
» Review Section is Now Looking for New Staff Members! Apply Today!
» How to make the Color of the columns header bold
» Review My Website - Mafia Wars #1 Pimp Page Forum

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: The Tobacco Jar-
Jump to: