HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share
 

 Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review.

Go down 
AuthorMessage
JimInks

JimInks

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review.   Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. EmptyWed Apr 22, 2015 9:51 pm

This flake has a pinch of nutty sweet burley and woody, floral Oriental. I don’t know how much a “pinch” is, but I get minor amounts of both in most every puff, which is likely caused by how the flakes are processed. The cavendish offers a honey note. The Virginia reminds me of a sweeter Medium Virginia Flake: a little grassy and earthy with citrus and minor spice notes. The hot pressing of the tobacco adds a little brown sugary sweetness, too. Medium in strength, this is a little richer than Best Brown Flake, and is sort of like a sweeter, smoother, creamier, slightly less earthier Full Virginia Flake with the same level of nicotine and tanginess, plus more nuance of flavor. Needs some dry time, but will burn slow with a consistent taste and a very pleasing after taste.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
TMacphersonNH

TMacphersonNH

Age : 53
Location : New Hope, PA
Registration date : 2013-11-25

Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review.   Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. EmptyWed Apr 22, 2015 9:59 pm

I read everyone of your reviews in awe Jim. I hope some day to be able to taste 10% of the flavors you identify. I greatly enjoy reading each review. Thanks for posting. - Tom
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mark
Admin
mark

Registration date : 2008-07-02

Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review.   Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. EmptyThu Apr 23, 2015 9:17 am

I've heard nothing but great reviews about it.

_________________
.

Sometimes I wake up grumpy. Other times I let her sleep.
.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Puff Daddy
Moderator
Puff Daddy

Age : 55
Location : South of heaven
Registration date : 2007-12-09

Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review.   Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. EmptyThu Apr 23, 2015 9:26 am

How do you obtain this one?

_________________
These are horrible times and all sorts of horrible people are prospering, but we must never let this disturb our equanimity or deflect us from our sacred duty to annoy and hinder them at every turn.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RobJ

RobJ

Location : Mukilteo, Washington USA
Registration date : 2014-07-07

Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review.   Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. EmptyThu Apr 23, 2015 11:26 am

Puff Daddy wrote:
How do you obtain this one?

Great question. I must try this one.

Thanks to JimInks for another well written and informative review!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mgtarheel

mgtarheel

Age : 68
Location : The Tarheel State
Registration date : 2011-09-13

Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review   Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. EmptyThu Apr 23, 2015 12:25 pm

This tobacco was a collaboration between SG and The Danish Pipeshop. The Danish Pipeshop is the only place that I know you can buy it from at this present time.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JimInks

JimInks

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review.   Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. EmptyThu Apr 23, 2015 12:43 pm

A friend sent me a generous sample, but here's the link to order it: http://www.danishpipeshop.com/product.asp?product=10393#.VTkg9Be1mu5
Back to top Go down
View user profile
eklektos44

eklektos44

Age : 62
Location : Virginia
Registration date : 2015-04-10

Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review.   Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. EmptyThu Apr 23, 2015 12:54 pm

Sounds interesting, will have to give it a try. Thanks Jim. Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Puff Daddy
Moderator
Puff Daddy

Age : 55
Location : South of heaven
Registration date : 2007-12-09

Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review.   Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. EmptyThu Apr 23, 2015 6:16 pm

20 bucks a tin plus shipping from Denmark. Nope.....

_________________
These are horrible times and all sorts of horrible people are prospering, but we must never let this disturb our equanimity or deflect us from our sacred duty to annoy and hinder them at every turn.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brewdude
Moderator
Brewdude

Age : 66
Location : Arid-zona
Registration date : 2011-05-04

Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review.   Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. EmptyThu Apr 23, 2015 7:23 pm

Puff Daddy wrote:
20 bucks a tin plus shipping from Denmark. Nope.....

Yes, this.

But it does sound interesting. Hopefully some domestic supplies will start carrying it.


Cheers,

RR

_________________
"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin


Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. Purple11x 2Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. Bombx10Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. BombJim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. D6bddf10 Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review. 44902965465_19121c84ed_s_d
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.randereed.com
 
Jim's SG Brown Sugar Flake Review.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Why I am So Pessimistic about the Madeleine McCann Case being Solved - Pat Brown
» Pat Brown's Review of the S&S Book
» A very strong opinion about the Michael Brown shooting
» Pat Brown calls it a day.
» The Sugar Land Conspiracy

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: The Tobacco Jar-
Jump to: