HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Mon May 25, 2015 7:29 pm

The burley is nutty with a molasses and cocoa taste. The Virginia is far in the background, and is sweet with some grassiness. The toppings amplify the molasses and cocoa, the latter being a little more prominent than the former. Burns well, even and cool with a consistent flavor that lasts to the finish. Very few relights needed. No dottle and hardly any moisture is left in the bowl. Has a very pleasant after taste.

Comparing this to the original and the Sutliff ERR Match, I note a few differences. Sutliff's is more of a coarse cut. The original was a cube cut, and Lane’s version is small cut flakes, all of which will effect the blends’ respective burn rates. All have the same flavors, though I notice the molasses in Sutliff's is slightly less deeper in taste than the original. The molasses in Lane's has nearly the same depth of flavor as the ERR. Lane states that they are using the original recipe, but after spending a few days smoking all three incarnations, my perception is that Lane’s has just a little more cocoa than the original does, which lightly lessens the effect of the molasses. It also has a little more PG than the original, but that mostly disappears by the half way point.

The Sutliff ERR Match is just about as close as the Lane version is to the original. It has a shade less cocoa than the Lane product, but the amount of molasses is virtually the same, and the Match could fool many smokers into thinking it was the original in a blind taste test. Lane’s version could easily be mistaken in the same kind of test, too, though the slightly deeper cocoa notes might give it away if you are spending time looking for it.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
juanmedusa

avatar

Age : 36
Location : Falls Church, Virginia
Registration date : 2013-07-06

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Mon May 25, 2015 8:20 pm

Very nice review or reviews, in a way. I found this very interesting. Thanks.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Richard Burley

avatar

Location : North Coast NY
Registration date : 2011-04-09

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Mon May 25, 2015 8:49 pm

Thank you, JimInks. So now I'm on the hook for a tub of Edgeworth clone. I half-expected you or someone to say that they bore no resemblance to the original. I'll add it to the tub of EGR that I also have on the hook. The little tin I got of the latter disappeared rather quickly. I like this old OTC stuff, kind of a go-to when I'm irresolute. Never disappointed for having done so.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Mon May 25, 2015 9:00 pm

Richard Burley wrote:
Thank you, JimInks. So now I'm on the hook for a tub of Edgeworth clone. I half-expected you or someone to say that they bore no resemblance to the original. I'll add it to the tub of EGR that I also have on the hook. The little tin I got of the latter disappeared rather quickly. I like this old OTC stuff, kind of a go-to when I'm irresolute. Never disappointed for having done so.

I wasn't sure what to expect when I discovered that Lane chose to do a small flake cut rather then cube cut it as the original was. That was disappointing to me. However, I like the flavor, it's close - not perfect - and Lane did use the original formula, which helped. I like the Sutliff Match, too.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
DrumsAndBeer

avatar

Age : 45
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Mon May 25, 2015 9:51 pm

Looking forward to trying this one. Although I am always shy when I read about the presence of PG. Nice review, Jim..
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Mon May 25, 2015 10:05 pm

DrumsAndBeer wrote:
Looking forward to trying this one. Although I am always shy when I read about the presence of PG. Nice review, Jim..

Thanks. The PG isn't strong at all, but I did notice it early in the smoke, but then vanishes. I honestly don't think it's much to worry about, but I did have to mention that it's there.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Tue May 26, 2015 10:57 am

I never had the chance to try the original ERR, so I will know that by buying either Sutliff's or Lane's version, I will have a taste of almost the real thing.

Which is good, as I loooove Burley. cheers
Back to top Go down
RobJ

avatar

Location : Mukilteo, Washington USA
Registration date : 2014-07-07

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Tue May 26, 2015 11:06 am

Hey Jim thanks for another informative, well written review. I'm going to have to try this one. I sometimes smoked this blend many years ago.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Wet Dottle

avatar

Location : Littleton, CO
Registration date : 2008-02-27

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Tue May 26, 2015 2:39 pm

RobJ wrote:
Hey Jim thanks for another informative, well written review.

+1
Back to top Go down
View user profile
gravel

avatar

Age : 43
Location : Oregon
Registration date : 2011-12-07

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Thu May 28, 2015 12:30 am

I've never had the original, but I am a fan of Sutliff Match. When I place my next order, I'll be ordering a tin of Lane.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tobaccocellar.com/Gravel
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Wed Sep 09, 2015 7:45 am

I bought a tub yesterday. It's a bit risky, considering I'm buying 14oz rather than a couple, but I think I will enjoy it. If it lacks some nicotine, there's nothing some C & D Burley Flake can't do to fix this. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
Fight'n Hampsters

avatar

Age : 39
Location : Kentucky
Registration date : 2011-07-28

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Wed Jun 28, 2017 9:33 am

Reviving this old thread from the archives.

Anyone have any LLRR and want to give their take?

I have always liked the idea of finding a good OTC like "mowing the lawn" smoke, or one that I could smoke while doing something else and don't want to pay too much attention to it.

I like CH and PA but never stuck with them for long. Good, but not great.
Storm Front is my go to for now.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Richard Burley

avatar

Location : North Coast NY
Registration date : 2011-04-09

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Wed Jun 28, 2017 10:07 am

Fight'n Hampsters wrote:
...I like CH and PA but never stuck with them for long.  Good, but not great.
Storm Front is my go to for now.

Betcha five bucks your results with this would be the same. Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Fight'n Hampsters

avatar

Age : 39
Location : Kentucky
Registration date : 2011-07-28

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Wed Jun 28, 2017 10:22 am

Richard Burley wrote:
Fight'n Hampsters wrote:
...I like CH and PA but never stuck with them for long.  Good, but not great.
Storm Front is my go to for now.

Betcha five bucks your results with this would be the same. Wink

That is what i have been thinking...

I may be looking for to much in a "lawn mowing" blend...slightly complex and tasty but cheap on the pocket book. Very Happy

It sounds like, from the reviews that the chocolate taste is prominent. Any one vouch for this? I like the molasses flavor i pick up in CH and think that some choco on top of that would be good.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Richard Burley

avatar

Location : North Coast NY
Registration date : 2011-04-09

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:18 am

Many years ago, a friend of mine's father, a transplant from Britain, used to mow lawns for a few people as a second income, or perhaps as a favor. Anyhow, I can still see him (in my skull) walking behind an old mower, puffing away on a pipe. He was NEVER without that pipe, other than laying it aside for meals--and sleep, I assume. His tobacco, always: Sir Walter Raleigh.

Personally, for the outdoors, whether hiking, mowing lawns, or shooting, my choice would be chaw. Makes me feel ornery, bastard-like, and wimmin think it's sexy. Wink

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Fight'n Hampsters

avatar

Age : 39
Location : Kentucky
Registration date : 2011-07-28

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:31 am

WOW! Redman brings back some memories! My dad chewed that. I went through a chaw phase and partook of Red Man and Levi Garret.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
SpeedyPete



Age : 73
Location : Cape Town
Registration date : 2011-01-28

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Wed Jun 28, 2017 2:09 pm

DrumsAndBeer wrote:
Looking forward to trying this one. Although I am always shy when I read about the presence of PG. Nice review, Jim..

What does PG stand for please Embarassed
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Ozark Wizard

avatar

Age : 53
Location : Mark Twain National Forest, MO
Registration date : 2014-10-11

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Wed Jun 28, 2017 3:56 pm

Propylene Glycol (PG) used to keep moisture locked in, to act as an anti mold/fungel additive. It's also used as an antifreeze ingredient.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Zeno Marx

avatar

Registration date : 2010-06-26

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:08 pm

I don't care what anyone says. Red Man had a great "purist" tobacco flavor. Same for their plug. I chewed on occasion when I played baseball. Is it still made?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Richard Burley

avatar

Location : North Coast NY
Registration date : 2011-04-09

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.   Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:59 am

Yep. Most places that sell cigarettes around here sell it, along with a few other brands.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Jim's Lane Limited Ready Rubbed Review.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Ready for review
» Could Madeleine's Review by SY be pulled??
» A Chronological Record of Madeleine's Fund: Leaving No Stone Unturned Limited Company/J Morais
» Open letter to Trustees of Missing People Limited
» Scotland Yard ready to wind down Madeleine search/Theportugalnews

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: The Tobacco Jar-
Jump to: