HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 Jim's Aged Capstan Blue Reviews.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Jim's Aged Capstan Blue Reviews.   Wed Jul 01, 2015 3:48 pm

Recently, I have had the good fortune to smoke 1938 and 1940 Capstan Blue. Here are my thoughts on them, starting with the 1930s version.

1938 Version:
Iíve smoked three bowls and have enough left for one more. I think similar tobacco varietals are used in today's production. Dark Virginias usually have a dried dark fruit note or two, depending on the processing, and CB is no exception. The 1938 version obviously had time to age, and the further fermentation of the Virginias caused the stewed fruit flavor to be more prominent and sweeter than when it is fresh. I thought it was slightly more sugary, too, which was also caused by the aging process. New CB has a couple of rough edges (not to the extent of FVF or similar Va.s), and they were smoothed out over time in the 1938. I thought the nicotine level was lightly higher in the 1938, too.


This 1940 Capstan almost tastes like a cross between the 1930s version and the current version. The Virginia has a few grass notes (a shade less than the '30s Capstan), but is more earthy than the new version, which I attribute either to the tobacco varietal or age or both. The dark fruit and citrus notes area little more pronounced than the '30s version and very close, but slightly deeper than the new version, though a shade less sweeter than the new manufacture. It has the taste of fermented sweet matured Virginia. I'd say this is slightly tangier than the others, and has a minute spice tingle not found in the others, too. This is just a little muddier in flavor than the other two as well as a little more nicotine. There was a very, very slight hint of cigarette near the finish of the 1930s version which I do not experience here or in the MacBaren version. The flavor holds to the finish. Frankly, I like this a little better than the '30s version - not by much, though - and I think it has a little more interesting character and is a little more complex than the new version.

Current MacBaren Version:
This is a little stronger, less sweet, and less cased than its brother in the gold tin. Slight citrus, fig, and a little grass/hay and earthy taste with a nice mild to medium dark fruit Virginia flavor. Also is slightly sugary. Not a very complex blend, though there are a couple of different Virginias in the mix. If you want something a little stronger and less sweet than Capstan Gold, or a straight Virginia that's less stronger than Gawith Full Virginia Flake, this will give you what you want. Has a mild nic-hit. A very comfortable all day smoke to pack and light with enough nicotine to get your attention without overwhelming your senses.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Old Nate
Not Really Old
avatar

Age : 34
Location : Western PA
Registration date : 2014-08-27

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Aged Capstan Blue Reviews.   Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:41 am

This was an exceptional review of the three iterations of Capstan Blue. I have the newest version and I am letting it mature, hoping the aging process will bring out some of those dark fruit, raisin, plum-like natural sweet flavors. Blue is one of those tobaccos I always expect a little more from than what I actually get. It was cool to see how the current version stacks up against its former self.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
eklektos44

avatar

Age : 61
Location : Virginia
Registration date : 2015-04-10

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Aged Capstan Blue Reviews.   Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:50 am

Thanks for the review Jim. Smile It was very helpful. However I'll be passing on this tobacco.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AJ

avatar

Age : 68
Location : East of the Rocky Mountains
Registration date : 2012-03-18

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Aged Capstan Blue Reviews.   Wed Aug 05, 2015 1:50 am

I was surprised that there was so much difference between the 1938 and 1940 versions. I'm somewhat puzzled as to why. Thanks for posting Jim. Made for some interesting reading. Smile

AJ
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Aged Capstan Blue Reviews.   Wed Aug 05, 2015 4:45 am

ajn27511 wrote:
I was surprised that there was so much difference between the 1938 and 1940 versions. I'm somewhat puzzled as to why. Thanks for posting Jim. Made for some interesting reading. Smile

AJ

It could be how those tins were stored, but I believe the war is the likely reason. They probably had to get another source for tobaccos.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
AJ

avatar

Age : 68
Location : East of the Rocky Mountains
Registration date : 2012-03-18

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Aged Capstan Blue Reviews.   Wed Aug 05, 2015 12:24 pm

JimInks wrote:
ajn27511 wrote:
I was surprised that there was so much difference between the 1938 and 1940 versions. I'm somewhat puzzled as to why. Thanks for posting Jim. Made for some interesting reading. Smile

AJ

It could be how those tins were stored, but I believe the war is the likely reason. They probably had to get another source for tobaccos.

That sounds like the most likely reason. Thanks Jim. Smile

AJ
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Wet Dottle

avatar

Location : Littleton, CO
Registration date : 2008-02-27

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Aged Capstan Blue Reviews.   Sun Aug 09, 2015 11:30 pm

Thanks for the reviews, Jim. I smoked Capstan Blue a little in the 80's, but was never a favorite. I always thought it had too much flavoring. The current version seems to have less flavoring, but I can't really say that my memory is good enough to remember it well. Still not a favorite.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Jim's Aged Capstan Blue Reviews.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» BLUE FLAG 'PRIDE OF LONDON'
» direct deposit blue cross
» Anyone else get a MEDAVIE BLUE CR MSP deposit in their account?
» The Predictable End of 'Prussian Blue'
» Black, White and Blue theme

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: The Tobacco Jar-
Jump to: