HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share
 

 Fort Ancient Review

Go down 
AuthorMessage
kaitlyn3837

kaitlyn3837

Registration date : 2013-05-14

Fort Ancient Review Empty
PostSubject: Fort Ancient Review   Fort Ancient Review EmptyMon Oct 19, 2015 9:50 pm

So one of the gents in the EPIC bombing sent me Fort Ancient from Straus Tobacconist. Couldn't find anything online about it so I think it is a house blend.

This is my first bowl and it's delicious! Not overly aromatic but has a light sweetness. The sweetness isn't necessarily on the palate directly but on the nose. I always breathe a little in through my nose after I exhale to get a full sense of the flavor. But n the tongue it has some complexity. Some depth with strength but still smooth with no bite.

I will update on future bowls of ths particular blend.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bugsahearn

Bugsahearn

Registration date : 2015-02-05

Fort Ancient Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Fort Ancient Review   Fort Ancient Review EmptyMon Oct 19, 2015 11:15 pm

Interesting name, Fort Ancient being a Native American culture from Ohio/Kentucky. It's probably a Lane bulk blend...maybe smokers pride hehe...I wonder what it is?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Blackhorse
Moderator
Blackhorse

Age : 71
Location : Portland, Oregon Area
Registration date : 2010-10-23

Fort Ancient Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Fort Ancient Review   Fort Ancient Review EmptyTue Oct 20, 2015 12:49 am

Courtesy of BH..Grand Google Master.

Fort Ancient...blended by Gary Moreland.

The blend is a winner of the 2015 Straus Tobacconist / caps tobacco blending contest.

(CAPS = Cincinnati Area Pipe Smokers)

Description: "Fort Ancient is a deeply flavored crossover blend, comprised of toasted burley, oriental, black latakia, and just a wisp of sweetened golden and black cavendish. Ever changing taste throughout the bowl, this blend has a smoky sweetness with hints of hard nut and spice, evolving into even deeper subtle flavors of stone fruit and leather."

Link

https://m.facebook.com/StrausTobacconist/photos/a.315617629977.52720.68921934977/10150501533629978/

_________________
Council Member, Trading Post & General Site Moderator.
Founding BoB Bombers Squadron Commander, Un-Ret
Fort Ancient Review Puffy

Fort Ancient Review D6bddf10Fort Ancient Review 29400910Fort Ancient Review 114e6110Fort Ancient Review Ddb39b10Fort Ancient Review Cf77ce10Fort Ancient Review Dd692012
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bugsahearn

Bugsahearn

Registration date : 2015-02-05

Fort Ancient Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Fort Ancient Review   Fort Ancient Review EmptyTue Oct 20, 2015 8:55 am

Blackhorse wrote:
Courtesy of BH..Grand Google Master.

Fort Ancient...blended by Gary Moreland.

The blend is a winner of the 2015 Straus Tobacconist / caps tobacco blending contest.

(CAPS = Cincinnati Area Pipe Smokers)

Description: "Fort Ancient is a deeply flavored crossover blend, comprised of toasted burley, oriental, black latakia, and just a wisp of sweetened golden and black cavendish. Ever changing taste throughout the bowl, this blend has a smoky sweetness with hints of hard nut and spice, evolving into even deeper subtle flavors of stone fruit and leather."

Link

https://m.facebook.com/StrausTobacconist/photos/a.315617629977.52720.68921934977/10150501533629978/

Nice work!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kaitlyn3837

kaitlyn3837

Registration date : 2013-05-14

Fort Ancient Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Fort Ancient Review   Fort Ancient Review EmptySat Oct 24, 2015 12:38 pm

Blackhorse wrote:
Courtesy of BH..Grand Google Master.

Fort Ancient...blended by Gary Moreland.

The blend is a winner of the 2015 Straus Tobacconist / caps tobacco blending contest.

(CAPS = Cincinnati Area Pipe Smokers)

Description: "Fort Ancient is a deeply flavored crossover blend, comprised of toasted burley, oriental, black latakia, and just a wisp of sweetened golden and black cavendish. Ever changing taste throughout the bowl, this blend has a smoky sweetness with hints of hard nut and spice, evolving into even deeper subtle flavors of stone fruit and leather."

Link

https://m.facebook.com/StrausTobacconist/photos/a.315617629977.52720.68921934977/10150501533629978/

Thanks! I tried to do some searches but it looks as though you were able to actually find good info. I appreciate it. I really enjoyed the blend.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Blackhorse
Moderator
Blackhorse

Age : 71
Location : Portland, Oregon Area
Registration date : 2010-10-23

Fort Ancient Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Fort Ancient Review   Fort Ancient Review EmptySat Oct 24, 2015 12:40 pm

Got it as the number two find on my first Google search...it's a Facebook page.

_________________
Council Member, Trading Post & General Site Moderator.
Founding BoB Bombers Squadron Commander, Un-Ret
Fort Ancient Review Puffy

Fort Ancient Review D6bddf10Fort Ancient Review 29400910Fort Ancient Review 114e6110Fort Ancient Review Ddb39b10Fort Ancient Review Cf77ce10Fort Ancient Review Dd692012
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ozark Wizard

Ozark Wizard

Age : 55
Location : Mark Twain National Forest, MO
Registration date : 2014-10-11

Fort Ancient Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Fort Ancient Review   Fort Ancient Review EmptySat Oct 24, 2015 9:23 pm

POIT!!

Right again, Brain!!!!

Zort!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Fort Ancient Review
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Fort Garry Horse pin overlay
» Review My Website - Mafia Wars #1 Pimp Page Forum
» Anime Ex Lovers (Full Review)
» SSZone - Full Review
» [DELETED] Rune Chat: Design Review

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: The Tobacco Jar-
Jump to: