HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 Fort Ancient Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
kaitlyn3837

avatar

Registration date : 2013-05-14

PostSubject: Fort Ancient Review   Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:50 am

So one of the gents in the EPIC bombing sent me Fort Ancient from Straus Tobacconist. Couldn't find anything online about it so I think it is a house blend.

This is my first bowl and it's delicious! Not overly aromatic but has a light sweetness. The sweetness isn't necessarily on the palate directly but on the nose. I always breathe a little in through my nose after I exhale to get a full sense of the flavor. But n the tongue it has some complexity. Some depth with strength but still smooth with no bite.

I will update on future bowls of ths particular blend.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bugsahearn

avatar

Registration date : 2015-02-06

PostSubject: Re: Fort Ancient Review   Tue Oct 20, 2015 4:15 am

Interesting name, Fort Ancient being a Native American culture from Ohio/Kentucky. It's probably a Lane bulk blend...maybe smokers pride hehe...I wonder what it is?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Blackhorse
Moderator
avatar

Age : 69
Location : Oregon City
Registration date : 2010-10-23

PostSubject: Re: Fort Ancient Review   Tue Oct 20, 2015 5:49 am

Courtesy of BH..Grand Google Master.

Fort Ancient...blended by Gary Moreland.

The blend is a winner of the 2015 Straus Tobacconist / caps tobacco blending contest.

(CAPS = Cincinnati Area Pipe Smokers)

Description: "Fort Ancient is a deeply flavored crossover blend, comprised of toasted burley, oriental, black latakia, and just a wisp of sweetened golden and black cavendish. Ever changing taste throughout the bowl, this blend has a smoky sweetness with hints of hard nut and spice, evolving into even deeper subtle flavors of stone fruit and leather."

Link

https://m.facebook.com/StrausTobacconist/photos/a.315617629977.52720.68921934977/10150501533629978/

_________________
Current favorite pen & ink of the day:
Pen: Lamy Safari Petrol (Ltd. Ed. 2017)
Ink: Dark Teal...Lamy Petrol (Ltd. Ed. 2017)

First BoB Bombers Squadron Commander, Ret.
Council Member, Trading Post & General Site Moderator. 
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Bugsahearn

avatar

Registration date : 2015-02-06

PostSubject: Re: Fort Ancient Review   Tue Oct 20, 2015 1:55 pm

Blackhorse wrote:
Courtesy of BH..Grand Google Master.

Fort Ancient...blended by Gary Moreland.

The blend is a winner of the 2015 Straus Tobacconist / caps tobacco blending contest.

(CAPS = Cincinnati Area Pipe Smokers)

Description: "Fort Ancient is a deeply flavored crossover blend, comprised of toasted burley, oriental, black latakia, and just a wisp of sweetened golden and black cavendish. Ever changing taste throughout the bowl, this blend has a smoky sweetness with hints of hard nut and spice, evolving into even deeper subtle flavors of stone fruit and leather."

Link

https://m.facebook.com/StrausTobacconist/photos/a.315617629977.52720.68921934977/10150501533629978/

Nice work!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kaitlyn3837

avatar

Registration date : 2013-05-14

PostSubject: Re: Fort Ancient Review   Sat Oct 24, 2015 5:38 pm

Blackhorse wrote:
Courtesy of BH..Grand Google Master.

Fort Ancient...blended by Gary Moreland.

The blend is a winner of the 2015 Straus Tobacconist / caps tobacco blending contest.

(CAPS = Cincinnati Area Pipe Smokers)

Description: "Fort Ancient is a deeply flavored crossover blend, comprised of toasted burley, oriental, black latakia, and just a wisp of sweetened golden and black cavendish. Ever changing taste throughout the bowl, this blend has a smoky sweetness with hints of hard nut and spice, evolving into even deeper subtle flavors of stone fruit and leather."

Link

https://m.facebook.com/StrausTobacconist/photos/a.315617629977.52720.68921934977/10150501533629978/

Thanks! I tried to do some searches but it looks as though you were able to actually find good info. I appreciate it. I really enjoyed the blend.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Blackhorse
Moderator
avatar

Age : 69
Location : Oregon City
Registration date : 2010-10-23

PostSubject: Re: Fort Ancient Review   Sat Oct 24, 2015 5:40 pm

Got it as the number two find on my first Google search...it's a Facebook page.

_________________
Current favorite pen & ink of the day:
Pen: Lamy Safari Petrol (Ltd. Ed. 2017)
Ink: Dark Teal...Lamy Petrol (Ltd. Ed. 2017)

First BoB Bombers Squadron Commander, Ret.
Council Member, Trading Post & General Site Moderator. 
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Ozark Wizard

avatar

Age : 53
Location : Mark Twain National Forest, MO
Registration date : 2014-10-11

PostSubject: Re: Fort Ancient Review   Sun Oct 25, 2015 1:23 am

POIT!!

Right again, Brain!!!!

Zort!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Fort Ancient Review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Fort Garry Horse pin overlay
» Could Madeleine's Review by SY be pulled??
» tanteidan convention book 17 (review)
» Serious Case Review (SCR) Rochdale.
» Want a Forum Review? POST HERE!

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: The Tobacco Jar-
Jump to: