HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Tue Dec 22, 2015 11:39 pm

Some liken this to the old VaPer Three Nuns, but there are many differences, so Iíll review this for its own merits, and forgo the comparison. The Virginias are bright, red and perhaps a smidgeon of black stoved, which would account for a minor stewed fruit taste. The others provide citrus, a very mild grassiness, sweet dark fruit with a touch of tanginess, and hint of spice. Some of those characteristics, like the grass and citrus, are subdued by the deep sweetness of the Virginias. The perique essentially underscores the Virginias throughout the smoke in a supporting role with a few raisin and date notes along with a mild spiciness. The strength is medium while the taste is just past that. The nic-hit is not far from medium. The coins are rough cut, and there some loose ribbon present as well. Itís moist out of the tin, and depending upon your preference, you may consider a slight dry time. I did not do that as I prefer some moisture in my tobacco. Burns a little slow if not dried, requiring some relights, but it doesnít leave much dampness in the bowl, so it can be burned to ash. The flavors remain consistent from start to finish with no bite. The after taste lingers just a bit. Has a pleasant room note. Can easily be an all day smoke. Three and a half stars out of four only because there are VaPers with more complexity, and this lacks just a little of the depth that several four star VaPers have. For those who want only a mild to moderate dose of perique, itís an easy four star blend.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Big G

avatar

Location : Minnesota
Registration date : 2009-10-15

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Wed Dec 23, 2015 1:11 am

Another fine review - thanks.
Will Samuel Gawith's Cabbie's Mixture be sold in the US & if so, when?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:46 am

Big G wrote:
Another fine review - thanks.
Will Samuel Gawith's Cabbie's Mixture be sold in the US & if so, when?

I hope so, but I really have no idea.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Stick

avatar

Age : 47
Location : 'Blighty'
Registration date : 2014-02-19

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Wed Dec 23, 2015 4:51 am

Thanks for another great review Jim. Cabbies wasn't even on my radar until now.

Jim, if you had to make a choice between this blend and SJF, which would you go for and why?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Wed Dec 23, 2015 5:40 am

Stick wrote:
Thanks for another great review Jim. Cabbies wasn't even on my radar until now.

Jim, if you had to make a choice between this blend and SJF, which would you go for and why?

SJF hands down. It's one of my favorite tobaccos and I could smoke it all day if I was the type to smoke one blend all day. There are a few other tobaccos in that category, too. SJF is not a complex blend (neither is Cabbie's), but it has a richness of flavor that hits the right notes for my personal taste, more than Cabbie's does. It has a little more depth and more earth notes, which I really like. I prefer earthy Virginias to grassy ones, and Cabbie's has little grassiness, but it doesn't quite have the fullness of SJF. SJF also has just a little more perique, too.

Having said that, Cabbie's is worth buying and smoking all day. I like it. It just wouldn't make my top five VaPer list, which is currently SJF, Louisiana Red, Heinrich's Curly Block, Solani 633, and probably Askwith Kake and Navy Rolls (I know that's 6). Strang, Viprati, and Director's Cut are VaBurPers, so they are in another genre. I could add more to each list.


Last edited by JimInks on Wed Dec 23, 2015 11:41 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Stick

avatar

Age : 47
Location : 'Blighty'
Registration date : 2014-02-19

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Wed Dec 23, 2015 7:49 am

Thanks Jim, good to know. As a SJF fan it was interesting to hear your take.

I've made a list of your top 5 too... Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Tue Feb 09, 2016 2:03 pm

Smoking Pipes is now selling this blend.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
eklektos44

avatar

Age : 61
Location : Virginia
Registration date : 2015-04-10

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:31 pm

Thanks for the review Jim, it was very helpful. I picked up some Cabbies Blend and some SJF, as I've not tried either before. So I'll see which suits me best. Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brewdude

avatar

Age : 65
Location : Near the Emerald city
Registration date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Tue Feb 09, 2016 7:26 pm

Now that SP has it I'll be checking out a tin sometime in the future.


Cheers,

RR
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.fallsbrew.com
DrumsAndBeer

avatar

Age : 45
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Tue Feb 09, 2016 7:38 pm

Good to know that the Cabbie's made it state-side. I'll probably pick up a tin to try in the future.

However, I don't see it besting their Saint James Flake for a spot in my Vaper rotation. I do enjoy coin cut blends though.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kramer

avatar

Location : Massachusetts
Registration date : 2016-03-17

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Sat Mar 19, 2016 12:06 pm

I've been wondering about that one. Your reviews are always a pleasure to read!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
smoker13



Age : 63
Location : Western Mass
Registration date : 2016-01-12

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:21 am

I got my tin of Cabbie's Mixture in yesterday afternoon and I excitedly tried out a bowl. My mistake was drying it out a bit too much, perhaps, but I was sorely disappointed. I very much like St James Flake, smoke at least 4 - 5 bowls a week (I smoke a LOT of different blends) and was really looking forward to Cabbie's.

The weirdest thing was I felt a little woozy from the Cabbie's. Couldn't figure out where THAT was coming from. Anyway, I vowed to just put it aside and try it again in a more moist state.

I should mention that I smoked it in a brand new David Iafisco pipe, as another reviewer suggested Cabbie's should be smoked either in a Meerschaum or a new, unsmoked pipe. I don't know how detrimental this ultimately is. At any rate, the Iafisco pipe is exorcising the Cabbie's with Blakeney's Best Bayou Flake.

I truly hope I can salvage this Cabbie's. I'm a Samuel Gawaith fan and as intimated, I love St James Flake.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bugsahearn

avatar

Registration date : 2015-02-05

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Thu Apr 07, 2016 3:33 pm

I love Cabbies it's very different than St James though. It's dry and Peppery. If you like St J and haven't tried Sam's Flake you might like that, I know it doesn't have Perique but it has similar flavor to St James to me.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
smoker13



Age : 63
Location : Western Mass
Registration date : 2016-01-12

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Thu Apr 07, 2016 9:32 pm

Well. Bugs, I haven't totally given up on it yet. Just waiting for the right moment to give it another whirl
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ZeroContent

avatar

Age : 35
Location : Swanzey, NH
Registration date : 2010-10-23

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:51 pm

I've been loving my tin of Cabbie's, definitely going to be buying more.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.teantobacco.com
Wet Dottle

avatar

Location : Littleton, CO
Registration date : 2008-02-27

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:10 pm

Thanks for the review, Jim. I just saw this and many other new blends I've never heard about, such as Lakeland Dark, Black Forest, Roper's Roundels and Salty Dogs. I also saw that Gold Block is back. Not that it is a great blend, but I used to buy tons of this in duty-free shops in the 90s. But it was the flake version in the rectangular tins. We'll see...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
smoker13



Age : 63
Location : Western Mass
Registration date : 2016-01-12

PostSubject: Cabbie's Mixtufre Take2....3.....and so on   Tue May 10, 2016 12:00 pm

Well, that nice looking tin stared me down long enough until I broke and finally cracked it open and tried it again. Well, without wasting words, I've grown to love it, it's been a frequent after breakfast morning smoke with a large mug of coffee.

I can't say it's better than Saint James Flake - in fact it seems different enough to not even warrant acomparison, so I won't bother. Suffice to say that I'm very pleased to have found another VaPer Flake to enjoy, and that's good enough for me.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Wet Dottle

avatar

Location : Littleton, CO
Registration date : 2008-02-27

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Tue May 24, 2016 4:19 pm

Going through a tin at the moment. It's a good blend, but it lacks the sweetness that I seek in blends of this nature. Will enjoy the tin, but it's not a keeper for me.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brewdude

avatar

Age : 65
Location : Near the Emerald city
Registration date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Tue May 24, 2016 7:34 pm

I tried a tin of this recently, and found it pretty "meh". Not exactly unpleasant and it burned real good right out of the tin (a new one on me for Sammy G). Yet I found the flavor altogether a bit boring and one dimensional.

After about half the tin, I even put it away for a month or so with the hope that after jarring and exposure to the O2 might bring it around. It didn't, but I decided to keep at it in the hopes I'd develop a taste for this. That didn't happen.

Perhaps this is one that needs a few years of down time to blossom, as all of the other SG blends seem to require. Yet I was encouraged by some of the reviews right out of the gate. Gotta say this doesn't do it for me right now. <shrug>



Cheers,

RR
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.fallsbrew.com
Bugsahearn

avatar

Registration date : 2015-02-05

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Wed May 25, 2016 12:21 am

Springtime flake is pretty good, it surprised me it has way less perique but it has a sweetness too it from the "perique aged in sherry barrels" more likely a sherry topping i;m really this blend but it's not as great as Cabbie's imo
Back to top Go down
View user profile
smoker13



Age : 63
Location : Western Mass
Registration date : 2016-01-12

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Wed May 25, 2016 9:53 am

Brewdude, your first impressions remind me very much of my own. I hated it! All I can say is leave the tin alone for a few weeks, maybe up to a month and then give it another try in a nice pipe. My added completely subjective advice is to try a bowl with a cup of coffee after breakfast, sitting quietly outside in the backyard, sipping both coffee and smoke slowly and meditatively. If all goes the way it did with me (and has since), you'll be so very pleasantly surprised and pleased with this tobacco.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bugsahearn

avatar

Registration date : 2015-02-05

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Wed May 25, 2016 8:49 pm

does anyone know for sure when St J Flk first was sold in the US? the first reviews on TR seems troublingly close to 07
Back to top Go down
View user profile
smoker13



Age : 63
Location : Western Mass
Registration date : 2016-01-12

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Wed May 25, 2016 10:18 pm

The only problem with Cabbie's is finding some to buy! Smokingpipes.com is the only place that sells it in the USA to my knowledge and they've been out of stock for quite awhile. God thing I bought 2 tins when it came out (whew!)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Wed May 25, 2016 10:25 pm

Bugsahearn wrote:
does anyone know for sure when St J Flk first was sold in the US? the first reviews on TR seems troublingly close to 07
†Don't sweat it. I was smoking it before 2007.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Old Nate
Not Really Old
avatar

Age : 34
Location : Western PA
Registration date : 2014-08-27

PostSubject: Re: Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.   Tue May 31, 2016 8:59 am

Stick wrote:
Thanks Jim, good to know. As a SJF fan it was interesting to hear your take.

I've made a list of your top 5 too...
Very Happy

As did I!

Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Jim's Sam Gawith Cabbie's Mixture Review.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Could Madeleine's Review by SY be pulled??
» tanteidan convention book 17 (review)
» Serious Case Review (SCR) Rochdale.
» Want a Forum Review? POST HERE!
» Canadian Mk 2 helmet

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: The Tobacco Jar-
Jump to: