HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 Opinions Wanted

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
mgtarheel

avatar

Age : 66
Location : The Tarheel State
Registration date : 2011-09-13

PostSubject: Opinions Wanted   Fri Feb 12, 2016 1:31 pm

Anyone own a Jan Pietenpauw pipe, what do you think about it? Opinions wanted too.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
SpeedyPete



Age : 73
Location : Cape Town
Registration date : 2011-01-28

PostSubject: Re: Opinions Wanted   Fri Feb 12, 2016 2:29 pm

I own one Pietenpauw and I know the guy who makes them. You can buy them with confidence, great smokers and very well made. You can also commission a pipe and he will make it exactly the way you want it. Ask Puffer Mark about them !

I suggest that you also take a look at Goussard Pipes. Ask Puffer Mark about them !
Back to top Go down
View user profile
joshoowah

avatar

Age : 31
Location : Nairobi, Kenya
Registration date : 2011-09-24

PostSubject: Re: Opinions Wanted   Fri Feb 12, 2016 4:12 pm

Have a Pietenpauw and I'm commissioning another one. So, yeah, I am a big fan of the guy. Do not hesitate buying one of his pipes.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ftrplt

avatar

Age : 71
Location : Split between Raleigh, NC and OKC, OK
Registration date : 2007-12-15

PostSubject: Re: Opinions Wanted   Fri Feb 12, 2016 4:53 pm

I heartily second both of the above gentlemen:D Very Happy cheers FTRPLT
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
lestrout



Location : Chester County, PA
Registration date : 2008-04-19

PostSubject: Re: Opinions Wanted   Fri Feb 12, 2016 8:03 pm

Yup - I have a couple of JP's pipes. They are worth more than they cost, in craftsmanship, design and puffing quality.

hp
les
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DrumsAndBeer

avatar

Age : 45
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Opinions Wanted   Sat Feb 13, 2016 1:05 am

Weird, I was under the impression that he was no longer making pipes.. Question Question
Back to top Go down
View user profile
joshoowah

avatar

Age : 31
Location : Nairobi, Kenya
Registration date : 2011-09-24

PostSubject: Re: Opinions Wanted   Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:19 am

DrumsAndBeer wrote:
Weird, I was under the impression that he was no longer making pipes.. Question Question

From what I understand, he isn't a fulltime pipe maker anymore, but he does add a pipe or two to his site at least once a month.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DoverPipes

avatar

Age : 49
Location : HUDSON VALLEY NY
Registration date : 2009-05-24

PostSubject: Re: Opinions Wanted   Sat Feb 13, 2016 11:39 pm

Jean du Toit is definitely still making pipes!

He never really ever stopped making pipes, he just slowed down on commissions / "Pipe of the Year" projects. He posts pipes regularly on his site and I will also chime in as a proud owner of more than a dozen of his pipes, they are all great smoker and are dollar for dollar, the best deal you will find for a hand crafted pipe!

Hell, I like his pipes so much, my avatar / photo is a Jan Pietenpauw & Son "Dover Rhodie" that Jean had made for me a while back.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
 
Opinions Wanted
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» WANTED: All black version of WWII USMC Stiletto
» Unpopular Fame Opinions You Hold
» Milk wanted in Portland
» OPINIONS/COMMENTS on the 3 Jun 2014 NVC Report
» WANTED: Wet Nurse / Nanny in DFW

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: Ye Olde Pipe Rack-
Jump to: