HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share
 

 Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.

Go down 
AuthorMessage
JimInks

JimInks

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptySat Apr 23, 2016 10:03 am

This blend is due to be released April 29. 777 tins are to be produced.

The spicy, richly deep sweet rum and the tingly pepper from the St, James Acadian perique are the first things that hit you as you light up. That sensation lasts from start to finish as this blend has a very consistent flavor. The topping never weakens, which doesnít surprise me as the mixture was soaked in that rum for a week. The perique is likely to be around sixty percent of the product, and also offers some plum. The aged red Virginia (from one particular 2003 North Carolina crop) has a fermented ripe dark fruitiness and a little earth, and is noticeable much of the time in a supporting role. Just as obvious in a back up position is the woody, nutty dark fired Kentucky, whose spiciness often separates itself from that of the perique. I donít really notice much from the Dominican Republic black cavendish, which is used to add a little smoothness, and is present in a small amount. Has a medium to strong nic-hit. The strength and taste are strong and very filling. I recommend you take your time smoking this for best effect, and donít use a big or narrow bowl.

The tobacco was a little moist when I opened the tin, but I saw no need to dry it. The burn rate was slow to moderate, and required a few relights. It will leave a little moisture in the bowl, but no dottle. I experienced no bite, but your tongue will tingle some from the spice content. Despite its strength, it wasn't harsh at any time nor did it burn hot. Most assuredly, this is a blend for the experienced smoker, and is not an all day smoke as by design. For that type of smoker, I rate it at three stars out of four.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Carlos
Admin
Carlos

Age : 61
Location : Chestnut, IL
Registration date : 2007-12-10

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptySat Apr 23, 2016 5:58 pm

In time for Chicago. Cool

_________________
Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Icon_sunny

"Never turn your back on a Breen".
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Old Nate
Not Really Old
Old Nate

Age : 36
Location : Western PA
Registration date : 2014-08-27

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptyTue Apr 26, 2016 6:32 pm

I'm intrigued by this. That's a wallop of perique!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brewdude
Moderator
Brewdude

Age : 66
Location : Arid-zona
Registration date : 2011-05-04

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptyTue Apr 26, 2016 7:26 pm

Sounds like it's something I need to check out! Thanks for the review Jim!


Cheers,

RR

_________________
"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin


Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Purple11x 2Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Bombx10Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. BombJim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. D6bddf10 Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. 44902965465_19121c84ed_s_d
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.randereed.com
Brewdude
Moderator
Brewdude

Age : 66
Location : Arid-zona
Registration date : 2011-05-04

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptyFri Apr 29, 2016 7:31 pm

SOLD OUT!

Just minutes after I saw the alert from SP! OOS on 4Nog as well. Checked a few other sites and no cigar.

If they made and released only 777 tins these are now gone like yesterday.........

Mad



No Cheers,

RR

_________________
"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin


Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Purple11x 2Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Bombx10Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. BombJim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. D6bddf10 Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. 44902965465_19121c84ed_s_d
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.randereed.com
DrT999

DrT999

Age : 60
Location : Piedmont of North Carolina
Registration date : 2011-08-31

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptyFri Apr 29, 2016 9:06 pm

I was surprised SP allowed folks to order up to 10. I wasn't so greedy and am in for two. It sounds interesting: Aleister Crowley would no doubt have been interested
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tobaccocellar.com/DrT999
Old Nate
Not Really Old
Old Nate

Age : 36
Location : Western PA
Registration date : 2014-08-27

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptyFri Apr 29, 2016 9:10 pm

Well, that sucks. I really wanted to try it, esp since I've been loving my C&D blends.... Crying or Very sad bummed
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bugsahearn

Bugsahearn

Registration date : 2015-02-05

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptyFri Apr 29, 2016 9:38 pm

I bet Mr. Crowley would prefer St. James Flake to this blend
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Old Nate
Not Really Old
Old Nate

Age : 36
Location : Western PA
Registration date : 2014-08-27

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptyFri Apr 29, 2016 10:00 pm

Bugsahearn wrote:
I bet Mr. Crowley would prefer St. James Flake to this blend

Ha! I don't know if that makes me feel better or not. Guess I'll just have to order another 250g of St. James!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ZeroContent

ZeroContent

Age : 36
Location : Swanzey, NH
Registration date : 2010-10-23

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptySat Apr 30, 2016 12:51 pm

Yeah, i think they need to re-think their small batch batch size. the last two have sold out in a day or two.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.teantobacco.com
Brewdude
Moderator
Brewdude

Age : 66
Location : Arid-zona
Registration date : 2011-05-04

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptySat Apr 30, 2016 7:53 pm

ZeroContent wrote:
Yeah, i think they need to re-think their small batch batch size. †the last two have sold out in a day or two.

Yes, This!

Mad

Cheers?

RR

_________________
"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin


Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Purple11x 2Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Bombx10Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. BombJim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. D6bddf10 Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. 44902965465_19121c84ed_s_d
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.randereed.com
Bugsahearn

Bugsahearn

Registration date : 2015-02-05

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptySat Apr 30, 2016 8:21 pm

I think they are trying to get in on the rare, incredibly hard to find blend racket. This blend was pretty much made to be sold for exorbitant prices on ebay. Although I do think they might probably release it in a large quantity due to it's popularity
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Fr_Tom

Fr_Tom

Location : Diocese of Northern Indiana
Registration date : 2013-05-29

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptySat Apr 30, 2016 9:12 pm

I smoked my first bowl of the Beast in a clay a few hours ago. The tin note is rum and a little perique silage. I aired mine a little before loading the small bowl. W00t! is about all I can say. This is heavy and spicy. There is a fruit from the Virginia/perique combo that reminds me of fruit that is just a little overripe. In this first small bowl, I am not sure I am distinguishing where the perique ends and the DFK begins. The rum comes through in every puff. The first impression of stength is on the strong end of med-strong. This is good. It may not be your shot of rum with a a few shakes of tobasco, but it is full of flavor and very tasty.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tobaccoreviews.com/user/14371
JimInks

JimInks

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptyThu May 05, 2016 9:52 pm

Bugsahearn wrote:
I think they are trying to get in on the rare, incredibly hard to find blend racket. This blend was pretty much made to be sold for exorbitant prices on ebay. Although I do think they might probably release it in a large quantity due to it's popularity

I feel sorry for the chump who falls for this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Cornell-Diehl-Small-Batch-The-Beast-Sealed-Collectable-Tin-Numbered-256-777-/291755938126?&rmvSB=true
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brewdude
Moderator
Brewdude

Age : 66
Location : Arid-zona
Registration date : 2011-05-04

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptyThu May 05, 2016 10:02 pm

JimInks wrote:
Bugsahearn wrote:
I think they are trying to get in on the rare, incredibly hard to find blend racket. This blend was pretty much made to be sold for exorbitant prices on ebay. Although I do think they might probably release it in a large quantity due to it's popularity

I feel sorry for the chump who falls for this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Cornell-Diehl-Small-Batch-The-Beast-Sealed-Collectable-Tin-Numbered-256-777-/291755938126?&rmvSB=true

Ya, what was it P.T Barnum said?

tongue


Cheers?


RR

_________________
"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin


Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Purple11x 2Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Bombx10Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. BombJim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. D6bddf10 Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. 44902965465_19121c84ed_s_d
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.randereed.com
DrumsAndBeer

DrumsAndBeer

Age : 46
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptyThu May 05, 2016 10:36 pm

Bugsahearn wrote:
I think they are trying to get in on the rare, incredibly hard to find blend racket. This blend was pretty much made to be sold for exorbitant prices on ebay.

Bingo... Razz
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MisterE
Moderator
MisterE

Location : Mexico City
Registration date : 2009-08-24

Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.   Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review. EmptyThu May 05, 2016 11:12 pm

It's a shame the resale gougers bought the stuff up so quickly. This is a blend that I seriously want to try, but I won't get a chance until they tin another batch up. Evil or Very Mad

Personally, I think a one or two tin limit might've been the call.

_________________
Many of the greatest pleasures in life are illegal, immoral, or smelly.

-Yak
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Jim's C&D The Beast Small Batch Review.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» 1972 Small Pack
» small enterprise
» reply box turned into a "letter box" it to small and no emoticons available.
» Share small ads, like any theme
» 2 small flashing gifs, please

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: The Tobacco Jar-
Jump to: