HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Thu Jun 02, 2016 3:17 pm

It's available June 10. 2,400 tins will be produced. I was asked to review it, so here's my thoughts on the tobacco.

Several 2015 North Carolina grown red Virginias are processed into a very easily broken apart flake to suit your packing preference, and for a better burn rate than what some flake blends offer. It’s very tangy, dark fruit sweet with a lot of earth, some woodiness, very mild grass, natural sugar and citrus notes, along with slightly more than mild spice. The first thing that hits you as you light up is the tangy sweetness and earth, which are the main features of the flavors. The other attributes I mentioned quickly show themselves, and remain all throughout the proceedings. The nic-hit is just a shade past being mild. The strength is just a little closer to medium than it is to mild. The taste is right at the medium level.

Not a complex product, but there’s enough variety going on to hold your interest as the flavor is fairly smooth and very consistent from start to finish. I say “fairly smooth” only because the much appreciated earth and spice continually underscores the inherently tangy sweetness of the reds. Burns at a moderate pace, cool and clean with no dull or harsh spots. Won’t bite even if pushed, though I recommend a slow cadence in order to fully savor the experience. Easily burns to ash, and requires just a few relights. Leaves a light dampness in the bowl. The tangy after taste very pleasantly lingers a little, and the room note is a little sweet. Can be an all day smoke if you wish.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brewdude

avatar

Age : 64
Location : Near the Emerald city
Registration date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Thu Jun 02, 2016 3:52 pm

Sounds right in my wheel house. Thanks Jim!

Cool


Cheers,

RR
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.fallsbrew.com
AJ

avatar

Age : 68
Location : East of the Rocky Mountains
Registration date : 2012-03-18

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Thu Jun 02, 2016 5:08 pm

I'm going to try to land a couple of tins of this. From Jim's description I could almost taste the sweetness and tangy citrus notes. No doubt they had me in mind when they came up with this. Embarassed Smile

AJ
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DrumsAndBeer

avatar

Age : 45
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Thu Jun 02, 2016 6:35 pm

Sounds good. I am sure it will sell out fast.

BTW, I am pretty happy with their new blend, Bijou. Tasty stuff.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
thesillyoldbear

avatar

Location : Myrtle Beach
Registration date : 2016-03-02

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Fri Jun 03, 2016 9:15 am

Thanks for the review Jim!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Fri Jun 10, 2016 1:50 pm

It's on sale now. I got five tins. One to smoke, four to age. I think it has great age potential because of the lack of toppings.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DrumsAndBeer

avatar

Age : 45
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Fri Jun 10, 2016 5:16 pm

And Gone...

Personally, I would like to see SP.com lower the quantity allowed to purchase cap on these C&D limited releases. 20 per customer? Shocked

Come on guys, not everyone is glued to a computer all day. Mad
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Fri Jun 10, 2016 6:15 pm

DrumsAndBeer wrote:
And Gone...

Personally, I would like to see SP.com lower the quantity allowed to purchase cap on these C&D limited releases. 20 per customer? Shocked

Come on guys, not everyone is glued to a computer all day. Mad

P&C still has it. I think Pipe and Leaf still does, too.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brewdude

avatar

Age : 64
Location : Near the Emerald city
Registration date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Fri Jun 10, 2016 7:46 pm

DrumsAndBeer wrote:
And Gone...

Personally, I would like to see SP.com lower the quantity allowed to purchase cap on these C&D limited releases. 20 per customer? Shocked

Come on guys, not everyone is glued to a computer all day. Mad

Yes, this! Wonder how many tins they had? I figured they'd sell out immediately.


Cheers?

RR


Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.fallsbrew.com
Fatman

avatar

Age : 54
Location : Alaska
Registration date : 2013-02-14

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Fri Jun 10, 2016 7:55 pm

I picked up 4 tins from Pipe & Leaf today, and looks to still be instock.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MichaelM

avatar

Age : 51
Location : Souderton, PA
Registration date : 2014-02-13

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Fri Jun 10, 2016 8:33 pm

Thanks for the review Jim. This looks like one I will enjoy, so I just bought 5 tins St P&C. I'll probably take a page from your book and be aging 4 of those for a few years.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCha16KUMQOZfkW_RgR7eA3Q
DrumsAndBeer

avatar

Age : 45
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Sat Jun 11, 2016 2:25 am

got 3 tins from Pipe and Leaf. Cool

Excellent review, as usual Jim Very Happy

Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Fatman

avatar

Age : 54
Location : Alaska
Registration date : 2013-02-14

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Sat Jun 11, 2016 2:36 am

ajn27511 wrote:
I'm going to try to land a couple of tins of this. From Jim's description I could almost taste the sweetness and tangy citrus notes. No doubt they had me in mind when they came up with this. Embarassed Smile

AJ

Were you able to score some?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DrumsAndBeer

avatar

Age : 45
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Sat Jun 11, 2016 2:41 am

Pipe and Leaf still has some. I was out gigging tonight and couldn't get to a computer till now. So there's some to be found.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Fatman

avatar

Age : 54
Location : Alaska
Registration date : 2013-02-14

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Sat Jun 11, 2016 2:43 am

DrumsAndBeer wrote:
Pipe and Leaf still has some. I was out gigging tonight and couldn't get to a computer till now. So there's some to be found.

I just ordered 10 more tins, they might be some bombing material... What a Face
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DrumsAndBeer

avatar

Age : 45
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Sat Jun 11, 2016 2:46 am

Fatman wrote:
I just ordered 10 more tins, they might be some bombing material... What a Face

Lethal! Twisted Evil
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Ozark Wizard

avatar

Age : 53
Location : Mark Twain National Forest, MO
Registration date : 2014-10-11

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Sat Jun 11, 2016 3:53 am

Crap! I can't seem to get some using this phone! Sigh.... Gonna have to pull a cosmic string or pass on that..
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Carlos
Admin
avatar

Age : 60
Location : Chestnut, IL
Registration date : 2007-12-10

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Tue Jun 21, 2016 5:31 pm

This batch is now under a recall. Contact your supplier for details. Check your email. I was emailed by the good folks at Smokingpipes.com. Dang shame, but these things happen. They are trying to make it right. I can foresee this blend returning in the future.


_________________


"Never turn your back on a Breen".
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brewdude

avatar

Age : 64
Location : Near the Emerald city
Registration date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.   Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:27 pm

Carlos wrote:
This batch is now under a recall.  Contact your supplier for details.  Check your email.  I was emailed by the good folks at Smokingpipes.com.  Dang shame, but these things happen.  They are trying to make it right.  I can foresee this blend returning in the future.  


Just saw that. Has anyone here experienced this issue?

Question


Cheers,

RR
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.fallsbrew.com
 
Jim's C&D Carolina Red Flake Review.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» 4th baby due - medically unable to nurse, live in Raleigh area
» Mrs. Hubbard
» Gabrielle Swainson, 15, Missing 8/18/12, Richland County, SC
» Interested in milk donation in Greenville, SC
» North Carolina enters the Dark Ages

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: The Tobacco Jar-
Jump to: