HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 

The Great Traditional British Tobacco: Lakeland or English?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage

PostSubject: The Great Traditional British Tobacco: Lakeland or English?   Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:12 pm

So, gents, I did some thinking about the British tobaccos as I am a big fan of them. An anecdote on thinking, before I continue: when I was a Naval Officer trainee, I had attempted to start a conversation with the Executive Officer of the school (a Lieutenant-Commander) while sipping a beer in the Gunroom after the day. I was outside smoking a cigarette and shortly after, he joined me. While admiring Victoria's Inner Harbour, I turned to him and said: "Sir, I did some thinking..." I never could finish my sentence; he looked at me, smiled and suddenly advanced his half bent body towards me and replied: "Gooooooooooood, you did some thinking!" And he left.

Now, it seems that smartass, keen little bastard made it to Admiral, today. Rolling Eyes lol!

I digress. Back to the topic at hand! I did some thinking these last weeks about British tobaccos. See, I like both what is referred to as "English blends" (in other words, containing Latakia and Orientals); and what I could generalize under the category of "Lakeland" and "Lakeland inspired" if I may (so such as Ennerdale Flake, or SG 1792, or Condor, or St Bruno, etc).

Here's the thing that triggered, if you will, my train of thought on the subject, which led to this thread. I seemed to have noticed, over the time I have been frequenting forums, an immediate association or equivalence between the expression "Traditional British tobacco" with a tin of Dunhill Nightcap, London Mixture, or Ashton Celebrated Sovereign, for example. And this association happens much more often than the one with Condor, 1792 Flake or St Bruno. Or so it seems....