HomeHome  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  
Share
 

 JimInks posts his 2000th review!

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Fr_Tom

Fr_Tom

Location : Diocese of Northern Indiana
Registration date : 2013-05-29

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptyFri Sep 29, 2017 9:04 pm

Our very own JimInks has posted his 2000th review on TR.

Shout out from the pulpit @JimInks!
Back to top Go down
http://www.tobaccoreviews.com/user/14371
Lonecoyote

Lonecoyote

Location : The Seventh Planet From The Sun...Uranus
Registration date : 2016-10-15

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptyFri Sep 29, 2017 9:17 pm

Congratulations Jim, well deserved. You put allot of time and effort in all of your reviews. It's appreciated by many, thank you to the king of tobacco reviews cheers






KEEP ON PUFFING!!!
Back to top Go down
alrightdriver

alrightdriver

Age : 40
Registration date : 2017-09-04

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptyFri Sep 29, 2017 9:22 pm

His reviews have helped me several times. 2000 reviews is a lot of work and should be commended. thanks for all you do Jim.
Back to top Go down
DrT999

DrT999

Age : 61
Location : Piedmont of North Carolina
Registration date : 2011-08-31

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptyFri Sep 29, 2017 9:40 pm

Like others, I've found many of those reviews very helpful. Thanks for all the effort!
Back to top Go down
http://www.tobaccocellar.com/DrT999
Simple Man

Simple Man

Age : 58
Location : North of Atlanta, South of Chattanooga
Registration date : 2011-10-24

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptyFri Sep 29, 2017 10:19 pm

Yep. When I am looking at a new tobacco I always scroll to his reviews because they always seem to reflect my take after trying them. Thanks for what you do, Jim! cheers
Back to top Go down
Zeno Marx

Zeno Marx

Registration date : 2010-06-26

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptyFri Sep 29, 2017 10:27 pm

Appreciated. No doubt.
Back to top Go down
kaitlyn3837

kaitlyn3837

Registration date : 2013-05-14

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptyFri Sep 29, 2017 10:42 pm

Wow! That certainly is track record to behold! Congrats!
Back to top Go down
Brewdude
Moderator
Brewdude

Age : 66
Location : Arid-zona
Registration date : 2011-05-04

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptyFri Sep 29, 2017 10:50 pm

JimInks = king


Cheers,

RR

_________________
"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin


JimInks posts his 2000th review! Purple11x 2JimInks posts his 2000th review! Bombx10  JimInks posts his 2000th review! Bombx7JimInks posts his 2000th review! D6bddf10 JimInks posts his 2000th review! 44902965465_19121c84ed_s_d
Back to top Go down
http://www.randereed.com
Timbo

Timbo

Age : 43
Location : Australia
Registration date : 2015-01-18

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptyFri Sep 29, 2017 11:07 pm

Three cheers to Jim on this momentous occasion. Hip hip hooray. 

Cheers

Tim
Back to top Go down
Slowroll

Slowroll

Location : Northeast PA
Registration date : 2017-05-05

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptyFri Sep 29, 2017 11:43 pm

Ipsy pips and well done. I only wish I could smoke that much without my tongue going solid, let alone having the taste buds to tell what the hell I was smoking. You are a prodigy.
Back to top Go down
JimInks

JimInks

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptySat Sep 30, 2017 12:57 am

I thank all of you for the very kind words. I am greatly pleased my reviews have been of help to you folks. Honestly, I never dreamed I'd ever get to that level. I'm still surprised at it. M'lady razzed me a little today when she said, "Remember when you said that it'd be really cool if you got to 500?"

I could never have had the opportunity to do so many reviews without the kind folks who either traded with me or gifted me tobaccos here and on other forums. All who have participated in that deserve a ton of credit for which I am very grateful.
Back to top Go down
Slowroll

Slowroll

Location : Northeast PA
Registration date : 2017-05-05

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptySat Sep 30, 2017 10:54 am

Now, tell us howinhell you keep your taste buds working? I'm envious.
Back to top Go down
DrumsAndBeer

DrumsAndBeer

Age : 47
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptySat Sep 30, 2017 1:32 pm

Congrats on your accomplishment Jim. I always look forward to reading your reviews and have learned quite a bit from studying your approach.

Cheers, Chris
Back to top Go down
Hermit

Hermit

Age : 66
Location : Ascension Parish
Registration date : 2008-04-22

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptySat Sep 30, 2017 2:01 pm

Wow, didn't know there were 2000 blends.   Laughing
Back to top Go down
Blackhorse
Moderator
Blackhorse

Age : 71
Location : Portland, Oregon Area
Registration date : 2010-10-23

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptySat Sep 30, 2017 2:08 pm

2000? Hmmm...seemed like a lot more.



Laughing

_________________
Council Member, Trading Post & General Site Moderator.
Founding BoB Bombers Squadron Commander, Un-Ret
JimInks posts his 2000th review! Puffy

JimInks posts his 2000th review! D6bddf10JimInks posts his 2000th review! 29400910JimInks posts his 2000th review! 114e6110JimInks posts his 2000th review! Ddb39b10JimInks posts his 2000th review! Cf77ce10JimInks posts his 2000th review! Dd692012
Back to top Go down
Online
JimInks

JimInks

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptySat Sep 30, 2017 2:58 pm

Slowroll wrote:
Now, tell us howinhell you keep your taste buds working? I'm envious.

I think it's partly genetics, partly being a slow to moderate puffer, partly staying hydrated when I smoke (ice water and cold tea are very good at reducing tongue heat), knowing what palate cleansers work best for me (apples are best), and keeping my pipes clean so I avoid that sludgy taste unclean pipes can give you. Also, changing genres regularly helps a lot.

I also change the position of the pipe from one side to the other rather frequently.

M'lady does all the cooking, but I taught her. I used to run a restaurant in college, and I think there's a correlation regarding the understanding of food flavors that translates to the understanding of tobacco flavors. Several blenders like Pease and Ouellette are chefs. It's no coincidence to me that they excelled at what they have done.

I obviously have a sensitive palate, which can have drawbacks. I can't eat spicy foods or peppers because they sizzle my tongue something fierce. A little spice goes a long way with me.

Not sure what else to say. Maybe I'm just lucky, too.


Last edited by JimInks on Sat Sep 30, 2017 4:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
DrT999

DrT999

Age : 61
Location : Piedmont of North Carolina
Registration date : 2011-08-31

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptySat Sep 30, 2017 3:47 pm

JimInks wrote:
Slowroll wrote:
Now, tell us howinhell you keep your taste buds working? I'm envious.
I used to run a restaurant in college, and I think there's a correlation regarding the understanding of food flavors that translates to the understanding of tobacco flavors.

I have to agree; at least the years I spent doing and running wine tastings helped me!
Back to top Go down
http://www.tobaccocellar.com/DrT999
Slowroll

Slowroll

Location : Northeast PA
Registration date : 2017-05-05

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptySat Sep 30, 2017 4:35 pm

Thanks Jiminks. I'll try more more drinking during my smoking, although I'll have to find something other than scotch or wine after breakfast. Shocked it's true though, that my palette isn't very sensitive, but it does deaden after a bit.
Back to top Go down
JimInks

JimInks

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptySat Sep 30, 2017 4:42 pm

Slowroll wrote:
Thanks Jiminks.  I'll try more more drinking during my smoking, although I'll have to find something other than scotch or wine after breakfast. Shocked  it's true though, that my palette isn't very sensitive, but it does deaden after a bit.

If you are smoking a lot of strong blends, that will deaden your ability to discern flavor nuances of anything that's milder. I know one guy who has serious sinus problems and can't taste anything but strong tobaccos. I remember one person who smoked strong G&H twists and ropes to the point that anything mild to medium or of lesser strength was like sucking hot air.

Latakia can dull the tongue quite a bit, especially if you smoke a lot of it, and the blends have some strength.
Back to top Go down
hobie1dog

hobie1dog

Age : 63
Registration date : 2010-06-21

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptySat Sep 30, 2017 4:57 pm

Keep the reviews and sampling coming Jim. We have great respect for your opinions.
Back to top Go down
Slowroll

Slowroll

Location : Northeast PA
Registration date : 2017-05-05

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptySun Oct 01, 2017 12:07 am

Yep, I do smoke a lot of latakia these last 40 years. Thanks again Jim. That's the last hijacking I'll do of this thread
Back to top Go down
Ozark Wizard

Ozark Wizard

Age : 55
Location : Mark Twain National Forest, MO
Registration date : 2014-10-11

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptySun Oct 01, 2017 1:10 pm

Holy cow! That is diligent! cheers
Back to top Go down
Slowroll

Slowroll

Location : Northeast PA
Registration date : 2017-05-05

JimInks posts his 2000th review! Empty
PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   JimInks posts his 2000th review! EmptySun Oct 01, 2017 1:19 pm

Ozark Wizard wrote:
Holy cow! That is diligent! cheers

Besides that, it's prodigious smoking. Shocked
Back to top Go down
 
JimInks posts his 2000th review!
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» i need top posts widget html code plz ........
» How to set up a "thanks" button on posts
» How can I stop certain posts appearing
» Email notification if any new topics or posts are created
» Can we delete all posts by "guests" in one hit?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: The Tobacco Jar-
Jump to: