HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 JimInks posts his 2000th review!

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Fr_Tom

avatar

Location : Diocese of Northern Indiana
Registration date : 2013-05-29

PostSubject: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:04 pm

Our very own JimInks has posted his 2000th review on TR.

Shout out from the pulpit @JimInks!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tobaccoreviews.com/user/14371
Lonecoyote

avatar

Age : 66
Location : State of Confusion
Registration date : 2016-10-15

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:17 pm

Congratulations Jim, well deserved. You put allot of time and effort in all of your reviews. It's appreciated by many, thank you to the king of tobacco reviews cheers






KEEP ON PUFFING!!!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
alrightdriver

avatar

Age : 38
Registration date : 2017-09-04

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:22 pm

His reviews have helped me several times. 2000 reviews is a lot of work and should be commended. thanks for all you do Jim.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DrT999

avatar

Age : 59
Location : Piedmont of North Carolina
Registration date : 2011-08-31

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:40 pm

Like others, I've found many of those reviews very helpful. Thanks for all the effort!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tobaccocellar.com/DrT999
Simple Man

avatar

Age : 56
Location : Atlanta-ish
Registration date : 2011-10-24

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Fri Sep 29, 2017 10:19 pm

Yep. When I am looking at a new tobacco I always scroll to his reviews because they always seem to reflect my take after trying them. Thanks for what you do, Jim! cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Zeno Marx

avatar

Registration date : 2010-06-26

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Fri Sep 29, 2017 10:27 pm

Appreciated. No doubt.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kaitlyn3837

avatar

Registration date : 2013-05-14

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Fri Sep 29, 2017 10:42 pm

Wow! That certainly is track record to behold! Congrats!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brewdude

avatar

Age : 64
Location : Near the Emerald city
Registration date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Fri Sep 29, 2017 10:50 pm

JimInks = king


Cheers,

RR
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.fallsbrew.com Online
Timbo

avatar

Age : 41
Location : Australia
Registration date : 2015-01-18

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Fri Sep 29, 2017 11:07 pm

Three cheers to Jim on this momentous occasion. Hip hip hooray. 

Cheers

Tim
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Slowroll

avatar

Location : Northeast PA
Registration date : 2017-05-05

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Fri Sep 29, 2017 11:43 pm

Ipsy pips and well done. I only wish I could smoke that much without my tongue going solid, let alone having the taste buds to tell what the hell I was smoking. You are a prodigy.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Sat Sep 30, 2017 12:57 am

I thank all of you for the very kind words. I am greatly pleased my reviews have been of help to you folks. Honestly, I never dreamed I'd ever get to that level. I'm still surprised at it. M'lady razzed me a little today when she said, "Remember when you said that it'd be really cool if you got to 500?"

I could never have had the opportunity to do so many reviews without the kind folks who either traded with me or gifted me tobaccos here and on other forums. All who have participated in that deserve a ton of credit for which I am very grateful.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Slowroll

avatar

Location : Northeast PA
Registration date : 2017-05-05

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Sat Sep 30, 2017 10:54 am

Now, tell us howinhell you keep your taste buds working? I'm envious.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DrumsAndBeer

avatar

Age : 45
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:32 pm

Congrats on your accomplishment Jim. I always look forward to reading your reviews and have learned quite a bit from studying your approach.

Cheers, Chris
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Hermit

avatar

Age : 64
Location : Ascension Parish
Registration date : 2008-04-22

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:01 pm

Wow, didn't know there were 2000 blends.   Laughing
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Blackhorse
Moderator
avatar

Age : 69
Location : Oregon City
Registration date : 2010-10-23

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:08 pm

2000? Hmmm...seemed like a lot more.



Laughing

_________________
Current favorite pen & ink of the day:
Pen: Lamy Safari Petrol (Ltd. Ed. 2017)
Ink: Dark Teal...Lamy Petrol (Ltd. Ed. 2017)

First BoB Bombers Squadron Commander, Ret.
Council Member, Trading Post & General Site Moderator. 
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:58 pm

Slowroll wrote:
Now, tell us howinhell you keep your taste buds working? I'm envious.

I think it's partly genetics, partly being a slow to moderate puffer, partly staying hydrated when I smoke (ice water and cold tea are very good at reducing tongue heat), knowing what palate cleansers work best for me (apples are best), and keeping my pipes clean so I avoid that sludgy taste unclean pipes can give you. Also, changing genres regularly helps a lot.

I also change the position of the pipe from one side to the other rather frequently.

M'lady does all the cooking, but I taught her. I used to run a restaurant in college, and I think there's a correlation regarding the understanding of food flavors that translates to the understanding of tobacco flavors. Several blenders like Pease and Ouellette are chefs. It's no coincidence to me that they excelled at what they have done.

I obviously have a sensitive palate, which can have drawbacks. I can't eat spicy foods or peppers because they sizzle my tongue something fierce. A little spice goes a long way with me.

Not sure what else to say. Maybe I'm just lucky, too.


Last edited by JimInks on Sat Sep 30, 2017 4:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
DrT999

avatar

Age : 59
Location : Piedmont of North Carolina
Registration date : 2011-08-31

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Sat Sep 30, 2017 3:47 pm

JimInks wrote:
Slowroll wrote:
Now, tell us howinhell you keep your taste buds working? I'm envious.
I used to run a restaurant in college, and I think there's a correlation regarding the understanding of food flavors that translates to the understanding of tobacco flavors.

I have to agree; at least the years I spent doing and running wine tastings helped me!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tobaccocellar.com/DrT999
Slowroll

avatar

Location : Northeast PA
Registration date : 2017-05-05

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Sat Sep 30, 2017 4:35 pm

Thanks Jiminks. I'll try more more drinking during my smoking, although I'll have to find something other than scotch or wine after breakfast. Shocked it's true though, that my palette isn't very sensitive, but it does deaden after a bit.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JimInks

avatar

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Sat Sep 30, 2017 4:42 pm

Slowroll wrote:
Thanks Jiminks.  I'll try more more drinking during my smoking, although I'll have to find something other than scotch or wine after breakfast. Shocked  it's true though, that my palette isn't very sensitive, but it does deaden after a bit.

If you are smoking a lot of strong blends, that will deaden your ability to discern flavor nuances of anything that's milder. I know one guy who has serious sinus problems and can't taste anything but strong tobaccos. I remember one person who smoked strong G&H twists and ropes to the point that anything mild to medium or of lesser strength was like sucking hot air.

Latakia can dull the tongue quite a bit, especially if you smoke a lot of it, and the blends have some strength.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
hobie1dog

avatar

Age : 61
Location : Cornelius, NC
Registration date : 2010-06-21

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Sat Sep 30, 2017 4:57 pm

Keep the reviews and sampling coming Jim. We have great respect for your opinions.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Slowroll

avatar

Location : Northeast PA
Registration date : 2017-05-05

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:07 am

Yep, I do smoke a lot of latakia these last 40 years. Thanks again Jim. That's the last hijacking I'll do of this thread
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ozark Wizard

avatar

Age : 53
Location : Mark Twain National Forest, MO
Registration date : 2014-10-11

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:10 pm

Holy cow! That is diligent! cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Slowroll

avatar

Location : Northeast PA
Registration date : 2017-05-05

PostSubject: Re: JimInks posts his 2000th review!   Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:19 pm

Ozark Wizard wrote:
Holy cow! That is diligent! cheers

Besides that, it's prodigious smoking. Shocked
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
JimInks posts his 2000th review!
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Could Madeleine's Review by SY be pulled??
» tanteidan convention book 17 (review)
» Serious Case Review (SCR) Rochdale.
» Recovering deleted posts?
» Progress Bar/Meter for Posts and Topics

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: The Tobacco Jar-
Jump to: