HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share
 

 Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review.

Go down 
AuthorMessage
JimInks

JimInks

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review.   Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. EmptySat May 05, 2018 9:43 pm

Here's my review of the Mac Baren's latest product, which will be on sale in the near future.

The nutty, earthy, woody, lightly molasses sweet, mildly chocolatey burleys take the lead over the other components. They also sport a touch of spice and light dryness. The tangy, ripe dark fruity, earthy, very lightly grassy dark Virginias play an important condimental role. There’s also a strand or two of red Virginia in the mix. The lightly spicy, woody, earthy, mildly sweet dark fired Kentucky is a background player. The strength is just past the center of mild to medium, while the taste level falls just short of medium. The nic-hit is a step or so past the mild threshold. No chance of bite or harshness, and has no rough edges. The flakes are a little moist, but I saw no need to dry them. They easily break apart to suit your preference. Burns a little slow, cool and clean with a fairly rich, mostly consistent, woody sweet predominate burley flavor from start to finish. I recommend a wide bowl to enhance the range of nuances this blend has to offer. Leaves little dampness in the bowl, and does require some relights. The after taste is very pleasant, and lightly lingering. Can easily be an all day smoke.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Ozark Wizard

Ozark Wizard

Age : 55
Location : Mark Twain National Forest, MO
Registration date : 2014-10-11

Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review.   Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. EmptySat May 05, 2018 9:44 pm

Sounds yummy! Thanks Jim!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JimInks

JimInks

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review.   Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. EmptyWed May 09, 2018 4:36 pm

Iwan Reis has it for sale: $20.10 per 3.5 ounce tin.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Brewdude
Moderator
Brewdude

Age : 66
Location : Arid-zona
Registration date : 2011-05-04

Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review.   Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. EmptyThu May 10, 2018 7:34 pm

I'll be trying this for sure. Thanks Jim!


Cheers,

RR

_________________
"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin


Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Purple11x 2Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Bombx10Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. BombJim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. D6bddf10 Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. 44902965465_19121c84ed_s_d
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.randereed.com
Corncobcon

Corncobcon

Age : 69
Location : From the prarie of KS. to Lake of the Ozarks, MO.
Registration date : 2017-10-15

Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review.   Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. EmptyThu May 10, 2018 9:16 pm

Sounds good. Could be an upgrade to Carter Hall! Shocked
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ontariopiper

ontariopiper

Age : 47
Location : Kitchener, Ontario CANADA
Registration date : 2015-03-10

Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review.   Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. EmptyWed May 16, 2018 3:28 pm

HH Burley Flake is now available at smokingpipes.com cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.dadspipes.com
Davy Jones

Davy Jones

Registration date : 2016-04-25

Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review.   Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. EmptyWed May 16, 2018 5:17 pm

I'm surprised it's only rated 2 dots for strength. I was expecting something stronger. Not as much as ODF or BK, but in the medium range rather than mild.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JimInks

JimInks

Location : North Carolina
Registration date : 2012-08-31

Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review.   Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. EmptyWed May 16, 2018 5:45 pm

Davy Jones wrote:
I'm surprised it's only rated 2 dots for strength. I was expecting something stronger. Not as much as ODF or BK, but in the medium range rather than mild.

It wasn't designed to be a strong smoke. Makes for a nice all day smoke, which is what I prefer. Btw, I notice one of the burleys used is also used in MacBaren Modern Virginia, which I am smoking now.
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
Brewdude
Moderator
Brewdude

Age : 66
Location : Arid-zona
Registration date : 2011-05-04

Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review.   Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. EmptyWed May 16, 2018 7:32 pm

ontariopiper wrote:
HH Burley Flake is now available at smokingpipes.com cheers

Ya, saw that too. Hmmm..........


Cheers,

RR

_________________
"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin


Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Purple11x 2Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Bombx10Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. BombJim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. D6bddf10 Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. 44902965465_19121c84ed_s_d
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.randereed.com
Davy Jones

Davy Jones

Registration date : 2016-04-25

Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review.   Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. EmptyThu May 17, 2018 6:33 am

JimInks wrote:
Davy Jones wrote:
I'm surprised it's only rated 2 dots for strength. I was expecting something stronger. Not as much as ODF or BK, but in the medium range rather than mild.

It wasn't designed to be a strong smoke. Makes for a nice all day smoke, which is what I prefer. Btw, I notice one of the burleys used is also used in MacBaren Modern Virginia, which I am smoking now.

I understand. And nothing wrong with that. But as an ex cigarette smoker, nicotine is something I favor and seek in my pipe weed.
So I think I'll pass on the Burley Flake. Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ak2000

ak2000

Location : NW Burbs Chicagoland
Registration date : 2017-10-15

Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review.   Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. EmptyThu May 17, 2018 11:57 am

Trying another bowl from the show sample and have not changed my opinion from my initial try, very mild and little flavor for me. Carter Hall has more flavor than this. Not a blend I will purchase as I'll take C&D Burley Flakes 1, 2, and 3 over this one by a mile.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.alphaprimecomm.com
GrampaGrossbart

GrampaGrossbart

Age : 106
Location : The Mountains
Registration date : 2012-03-28

Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review.   Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review. EmptyMon May 21, 2018 5:23 pm

Thanks for another great review, Jim, looking forward to checking this out!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Jim's Mac Baren HH Burley Flake Review.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Review My Website - Mafia Wars #1 Pimp Page Forum
» Anime Ex Lovers (Full Review)
» SSZone - Full Review
» [DELETED] Rune Chat: Design Review
» "IT Urdu PK" Review my Forum Please

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Pipes & Tobacco :: The Tobacco Jar-
Jump to: