HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Benjamin Button

avatar

Age : 37
Registration date : 2008-10-09

PostSubject: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:25 pm

I will be traveling to Milwaukee at the end of March for work and naturally I did a search around my hotel for pipe/tobacco shops to visit. Tuns out Uhles is about a 7 minute walk from where I am staying.

What are peoples opinions of the shop and some of their house blends? I really enjoy Burley and mild VA's and it seems they have some nice looking house blends.

Thanks!

-Adam
Back to top Go down
View user profile
rick

avatar

Age : 54
Location : Yucaipa (Southern) CA
Registration date : 2008-09-25

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:43 pm

Well...................I am on day2 of my sampler from Natch !!! and Ill tell ya that you HAVE TO stop by Uhle's for some baccy.

#300 and the Perfection Plug Burley are what Ive tried so far and they are both winnahs.
Plus....Id like to hear a story about the actual B&M in a future post geek
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mikem
The Coordinator
avatar

Age : 62
Location : Glendale, Arizona
Registration date : 2007-12-14

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:16 pm

Back in 2006 I got to visit Uhle's while visiting Mike Brissett during the time my son was graduating from Navy boot camp in Chicago. I thought it was a very nice shop and it has some great blends. I have been ordering their blends ever since over the phone. Blend 71, Bishops Blend, and Golden Shag to name a few are my favorites.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kilted1
Great Scot!
avatar

Age : 56
Location : North Georgia, USA
Registration date : 2009-01-11

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:04 pm

I've never heard of the place myself, but those sound like hearty endorsements Exclamation
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kilted1
Great Scot!
avatar

Age : 56
Location : North Georgia, USA
Registration date : 2009-01-11

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:06 pm

Mikem wrote:
Back in 2006 I got to visit Uhle's while visiting Mike Brissett during the time my son was graduating from Navy boot camp in Chicago.

Godspeed your son Exclamation

United States Air Force vet here. Next time you see him, give him a manly hug and pat on the back from me will ya?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Buck

avatar

Registration date : 2008-12-17

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:11 pm

kilted1 wrote:
I've never heard of the place myself, but those sound like hearty endorsements Exclamation

I buy some of their blends as "desert" tobaccos after supper. All
very good tobacco. http://www.uhles.com/
Back to top Go down
View user profile
pipetongue1
Tobacco Hoarder At Large
avatar

Age : 72
Location : Abington, Mass.
Registration date : 2007-12-14

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:40 pm

Great cube cut burley's, I'll add crushed white burley to the list, Ken. tongue
Pacem en Puffing! tongue From The Frigid Northeast Kingdom! tongue pale penguin
Back to top Go down
View user profile
pipemaker

avatar

Location : West Allis, WI
Registration date : 2007-12-18

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:47 pm

Uhles doesn't have much of a selection of Va's in their house blends, but their English blends are excellent.

The Burley blends range all the way from natural unflavored to heavy aromatics, but even those smoke cleanly.

All are blended in house and some formulas date back to the mid 1930's.

Mike B
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://my.execpc.com/~maddog92/Pipes2/pipes.html
Natch

avatar

Age : 66
Location : foothills of the Ozarks
Registration date : 2007-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:15 pm

Bishop's Move and #300 are my two favorites, and each is my favorite brand in their categories of tobaccos. So load up your pipe and hop around the corner to Maders and have a good German beer on tap along with the best veil on earth.

Natch
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ZuluCollector

avatar

Location : Arlington, VA USA
Registration date : 2007-12-12

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Thu Jan 22, 2009 2:11 pm

I was at a conference in Milwaukee a couple of summers ago and I spent almost 5 hours at Uhle's. There are some great guys there and a fine selection of pipes and tobaccos. I bought a couple of pipes while I was there and one of them - a patent Dunhill prince is one of my favorite pipes of all time. I think it's a great place and I'd go in a heartbeat if I were in Milwaukee.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.apassionforpipes.com
Benjamin Button

avatar

Age : 37
Registration date : 2008-10-09

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Fri Jan 23, 2009 11:12 am

Excellent!

Thanks for all the advice from everyone!

I will be there from at the end of March Wednesday evening through Sunday morning. The conference is all day Thursday/Friday/and until 11 on Sat...so I am sure I'll make my way there on Sat afternoon.

I'll have to bring a couple of my pipes for the trip, although my co-worker I am traveling with from my office doesn't smoke pipes, but smokes cigars I believe, so maybe I'l coax him into coming along.

Anything fun to do in Milwaukee in the evening? I'll have all Saturday night to waste...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Natch

avatar

Age : 66
Location : foothills of the Ozarks
Registration date : 2007-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Sat Jan 24, 2009 1:02 am

Many great German restaurants (and Greek, Serbian, Tai, Italian, etc.) with Maders and Karl Ratzhes (sp?)the famous two in the downtown area. Too cold in March to stroll down by the lakefront. Ambrosia Chocolate company is across from Maders and near Uhles, where else can you buy 32 pound bars of milk chocolate! Both are on Old World 3rd St. (just north of Wisconsin Ave.) and Old World Spice House has some of the best spices and dried cheese powders available. If you've got a car, head down to the South Side by Allen Bradley (look for the four-sided clock that's larger than Big Ben) and go to Zer Crone. A great dive/beer bar. Also, have a Sprecher Golden Amber for me (a local micro-brew we had by the barrels at our wedding).

Natch
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bruce



Registration date : 2008-03-28

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:17 am

Ahhhh Maders!
My mouth is watering thinking about a Jagerschnizle und spazle mit red kraut!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Benjamin Button

avatar

Age : 37
Registration date : 2008-10-09

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:59 am

I do love German food...and beer. I may have to give that one a try!

Thanks again for everyones suggestions! Milwaukee is looking better and better now!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Yooper



Age : 66
Location : U.P. Michigan
Registration date : 2009-02-01

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Sun Feb 01, 2009 11:20 am

I was born and raised in Milwaukee. Another place worth mentioning is Serb Hall on 51st and Oklahoma. Best Friday night fish fry in town!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Natch

avatar

Age : 66
Location : foothills of the Ozarks
Registration date : 2007-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:23 pm

Yooper wrote:
I was born and raised in Milwaukee. Another place worth mentioning is Serb Hall on 51st and Oklahoma. Best Friday night fish fry in town!

Don't get me started on Friday Night Fishfry's in Milwaukee, with potato pancakes on the side, served family style all you can eat, lake perch and haddock, man, I wish I was 12 years old back in Milwaukee again. Serb Hall has a fine fish fry with it's tomato based topping. I put myself through college tending bar at Old Town (a Serbian restaurant on the South side) and ate a lot of Serbian food.

And Yooper, I'm a Yooper by birth (Ontonagon) but raised in Cream City.

Natch
Back to top Go down
View user profile
velveteagle

avatar

Age : 63
Location : Allegan Michigan
Registration date : 2010-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:45 pm

Wish they would ship to Michigan.. Too many tax rules etc.. Want to buy some of the #300. Was gifted another blend which tasted just fine.. Going to see what I can do to order from a shop in Michigan who handles some of Uhles blends.. Pay day.. Been looking forward to trying out some #300 for some time now..
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.redbubble.com/people/velveteagle
stemandbriar

avatar

Age : 39
Location : Oak Creek, WI
Registration date : 2011-12-14

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:08 pm

My favorite shop. That might be because they are so close. But it's probably due to the fact the owners and operators are such fantastic people.

I have my own "mini Uhles" at home when I can't get there, complete with menu.

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.stemandbriar.com/
Brewdude

avatar

Age : 65
Location : Near the Emerald city
Registration date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:21 pm

Uhles rocks! It's what my late Pap smoked exclusively (#255) for all my years growing up. In fact I used to be able to go into the local drug store as a kid and buy a tin of it for his Christmas present. And it's what I started on in my pipe adventure. I figured if it was good enough for my Pap it was good enough for me!

Was a cheesehead for many years, 32 to be exact. Remember many fine fish fries, miss them actually.

Ah, the memories!


Cheers,

RR
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.fallsbrew.com
velveteagle

avatar

Age : 63
Location : Allegan Michigan
Registration date : 2010-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:34 am

So good to see this post S&B.. As noted I am locked out of postage from Uhles because I live in Michigan.. I have heard the #300 blend is great and will give it a try as soon as I can.. Then order more of course.. If its good stuff 8oz is a good amount to start with.. cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.redbubble.com/people/velveteagle
stemandbriar

avatar

Age : 39
Location : Oak Creek, WI
Registration date : 2011-12-14

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:36 am

They also have a Christmas blend every year. Kind of a tradition in my house. This year is awesome!
A little something new every year.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.stemandbriar.com/
Churchwarden

avatar

Age : 58
Location : Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA
Registration date : 2011-12-29

PostSubject: Re: Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?   Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:51 pm

I smoke Uhle's Old Shoe and hang out there on my days off. They've shown me where they blend the tobaccos in the basement and are so nice.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Uhles Pipe Shop, Milwaukee WI...anyone have an opinion?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Community :: The Round Table-
Jump to: