HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 Lighter Reviews Anyone?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Dock
BoB's Team
avatar

Age : 106
Location : @ The Gym
Registration date : 2007-12-15

PostSubject: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Mon Jan 26, 2009 11:33 pm

I just bought a new Xikar Pipeline and look forward to it's arrival. I've owned many, MANY brands of pipe lighters over the years. I'd love to here others experiences with various flameage and I will post a few of my own...
_________________________
Zippo: Classic & pretty to look at but the taste of the lighter fluid seems to really taint the flavor of any tobacco. Even when letting it burn out for a few seconds it's still very much there. A good back up to leave in the car in case of emerginces but NOT a good everyday user.

Porsche: Beautiful tall ergonomic design. Flint and wheel design without built in tamper. Handy spare flint storage in bottom of case. I've used mine for a year now with no issues. Fluid lasts a pretty long time. Always lights on the first stike. It's only drawback is it's price. They're not cheap. They're are comprable lighters that are far less money

IM Corona "Pipemaster": Nice presentation with built in tamper.It's also a non flint model. I've had nothing but issues with this lighter. It never lights on the first click and has a bad habit of not accepting butane properly. It's been a dissapointment since I bought it.

IM Corona "Old Boy": The gold standard of pipe lighters. Built in tamper lift arm model with flint and wheel. Gorgeous presentation and compact design. It just feels great in your hand! I've had mine for two years now with NO issues. Like the Porsche, it's not a cheap lighter but WELL worth it. If taken care of it WILL last you a lifetime.

Dunhill "Unique": The most beautiful (and expensive) lighter that I own. Sterling silver lift arm without built in tamper. Incredible art deco design that just screams quality. Since it doesn't have an angled flame I use it for cigars only. This lighter has seen very little use but has preformed effortlessly when called upon. It drawback of course is it's rediculously HIGH price which is more than double that of the Old Boy.

Colibri "pipe Lighter": If you can't say something nice about a lighter it must be a Colibri! I sent my two back to their factory numerous times for repair. They'd work for a while then crap out again. PASS THIS ONE BY!


Last edited by Danish_Pipe_Guy on Tue Jan 27, 2009 9:59 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.facebook.com/dock.perry
ftrplt

avatar

Age : 71
Location : Split between Raleigh, NC and OKC, OK
Registration date : 2007-12-15

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:12 am

I have one lighter; a Savinelli for my cigars! Works great. Back in the dark ages (you know, the 60's!!), I used both Zippo and Nimrod pipe lighters. Got tired of the "lighter fluid" aroma in my bowl; started using stick matches. Never went back. That's my story and I'm stickin' to it jocolor FTRPLT
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JJPHOTO

avatar

Age : 42
Location : Texas
Registration date : 2008-12-03

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:28 am

I've been looking at the Xikars... let us know how you like it!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.jasonjohnsonphoto.com
Winslow

avatar

Age : 71
Location : Midlothian,Va.
Registration date : 2008-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 1:17 am

Vector pipe lighters very poor quality,oh they warantee them but costs you 7$ to
have it fixed 2 weeks after you bought it. Mad Mike at Mars refunded my $7 but the repair lasted 2 months. Mad
IM Corona,just the best with occasional cleaning and Smokingpipes will fix it for
life if you bought from them. Smile

Winslow sunny
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 8:58 am

Danish_Pipe_Guy wrote:
Zippo: Classic & pretty to look at but the taste of the lighter fluid seems to really taint the flavor of any tobacco. Even when letting it burn out for a few seconds it's still very much there. A good back up to leave in the car in case of emerginces but NOT a good everyday user.

In the past I used Zippos for cigarettes or cigars but not pipes because of the taste, but since they changed their formula I don't notice it. I'm usually pretty sensitive to fumes and odors like that. The new fluid comes in a black can.
Back to top Go down
Justpipes
The Duke
avatar

Age : 58
Location : Randolph County, NC If you don't know, you wouldn't understand.
Registration date : 2007-12-17

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:48 am

I have been using a cheap Imco pipe lighter for the past 8-10 years. I can't remember exactly when I purchased it but at least that long ago. I think I paid $8 for it. I have never had a single issue with it and I get a nice even light from it everytime. Before that I used matches or a Bic. I tried a Zippo but just couldn't get use to it. I can't get an even light from it.

I will say that the quality of Imcos has gone down just like most everything else. I bought my son an Imco last year and it just doesn't perform like my old one. It spits and sputters a lot. I have a new one that Gray Fox sent me with a pipe order and it seems to perform pretty well but the construction is just not the quality of my old one so I don't know how long it will last. I've never owned a high grade pipe lighter but I wouldn't mind trying an Old Boy one of these days. It's just not a priority of my smoking experience right now.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.practicegodspresence.com/
LtMac

avatar

Age : 57
Location : Jackson, Tennessee
Registration date : 2008-06-10

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:09 am

I normally use a Zippo pipe lighter or an Imco refillable butane. I was given a Monarch refillable butane pipe lighter with a built in 3 piece pipe tool for Christmas, so I've been using it lately. I like the Zippo best, followed by the Imco and Monarch.

On a side note, I was browsing in an antique store this past Friday and saw a Nimrod pipe lighter for sale at a price of $15.00 I don't know if it works, but I assume that with a new flint and fuel it probably would. What do you guys think, should I go back and buy it? I've never used one.

LtMac
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dock
BoB's Team
avatar

Age : 106
Location : @ The Gym
Registration date : 2007-12-15

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:28 am

LtMac wrote:
I normally use a Zippo pipe lighter or an Imco refillable butane. I was given a Monarch refillable butane pipe lighter with a built in 3 piece pipe tool for Christmas, so I've been using it lately. I like the Zippo best, followed by the Imco and Monarch.

On a side note, I was browsing in an antique store this past Friday and saw a Nimrod pipe lighter for sale at a price of $15.00 I don't know if it works, but I assume that with a new flint and fuel it probably would. What do you guys think, should I go back and buy it? I've never used one.

LtMac

I had a Nimrod sportsman's lighter a few years ago that I got at a flea market. It was new in the box and I paid $20.00 I recall. It was pretty much like an elongated zippo pipe light. It had the same issue with the fluid tanting the flavor of the smoke. I sold it along with some yard pipes on e-bay. I see them there almost everyday...


Last edited by Danish_Pipe_Guy on Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:49 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.facebook.com/dock.perry
Puff Daddy
Moderator
avatar

Age : 53
Location : South of heaven
Registration date : 2007-12-09

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:30 am

I've got a couple of Zippos that I use at work. They do not make the initial light well at all but work wonderfully for relights. With the new fluid I don't notice any off tastes. The one issues I'm finding now after a couple years of use is that the hinge on the cases wears and then the thing doesn't seal well and fluid evaporates quickly, going through about twice as much as I used to and if you fill it and leave it for a week or so without use the fluid has all evaporated. I guess I should get one of those Zippo Armor cases and try that.

I have 2 Colibris, a single torch cigar lighter and a pipe lighter - never a problem with either one.

I'm interested in the Xikar, looking forward to seeing how they hold up for a few months before I buy one.

What I really want is a nice Dupont pipe lighter drool Guess I've got a case of ping envy Laughing

_________________
These are horrible times and all sorts of horrible people are prospering, but we must never let this disturb our equanimity or deflect us from our sacred duty to annoy and hinder them at every turn.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
the macdonald

avatar

Age : 42
Location : Windsor CT
Registration date : 2008-08-31

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:34 am

Quote :
Colibri "pipe Lighter": If you can't say something nice about a lighter it must be a Colibri! I sent my two back to their factory numerous times for repair. They'd work for a while then crap out again. PASS THIS ONE BY!

Well said Dock! It's almost a rite of passage to be disapointed by Colibri. I have a Coleman lighter with a extendable head that looks like one Colibri makes but it is realible. It also was about a quarter of the price.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
pipetongue1
Tobacco Hoarder At Large
avatar

Age : 72
Location : Abington, Mass.
Registration date : 2007-12-14

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 1:57 pm

Use matches! tongue
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ftrplt

avatar

Age : 71
Location : Split between Raleigh, NC and OKC, OK
Registration date : 2007-12-15

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:53 pm

Right on, Ken!!! Us 60-year-olds know how to "git'er done!!" cheers FTRPLT
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Buck

avatar

Registration date : 2008-12-17

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:58 pm

For me it's a Zippo pipe lighter or nothing. But then again I'm set in my ways.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mark
Admin
avatar

Registration date : 2008-07-02

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:42 pm

Corona Old Boy, A bit pricey I thought, but a years worth of trouble free service proved me wrong,,,lights first time every time,,,,
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kilted1
Great Scot!
avatar

Age : 56
Location : North Georgia, USA
Registration date : 2009-01-11

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 6:50 pm

pipetongue1 wrote:
Use matches! tongue

Flint and tinder Twisted Evil

I like matches myself and my trusty Bic lighters, they may not look cool, but they function and the flints are great in a Zippo when the lighter dies.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
wojtekpastuch



Registration date : 2009-01-21

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:59 pm

I love nice lighters so I'll gladly give my humble opinion on the few lighters I have used/still use:

Zippo: it works pretty well but I just think it doesn't feel right for lighting a pipe. I love to light an occasional Marlboro with it but I prefer other lighters for my pipe. Also I noticed what Puff Daddy said- my Zippo is nine years old and the hinge is already pretty worn so the cap doesn't close tight and the fluid evaporates too quickly.

Corona OldBoy: I would really love it if it weren't for it's delicate construction. It works extremely well, it's precisely made and I really like the built-in tamper. It's just that the lift-arm and the whole mechanism (especially the really thin gas exit valve) seams very delicate to me and I'm always worried about breaking it. Fortunately it hasn't happened yet!Smile

Prince Pipette: a flint and wheel type pipe lighter very similiar to this Ronson: http://www.highgradepipes.com/forsale/acc/lighters.htm A very good lighter, reliable and with a good tank capacity. It's a relatively cheap one and sturdily built. The entire round flame exit is horizontal so if you direct it inside the bowl there is no way you will scorch the rim.

Dupont pipe lighter: my favourite, it's the one I use everyday. I got mine at a flea market for 10 bucks!Smile I had to pay another 70 bucks to get it repaired but it was still worth it. A wonderful lighter, extremely reliable, lights every single time. It's extremely sturdy with no delicate elements so I don't have to worry about breaking it. I would recommend it to everyone if it wasn't for the fact that it is ridiculously expensive:( The only drawback that I can think of is that the shape of the gas valve is pretty strange and unless you buy the original Dupont gas refills (also ridiculously expensive!) you need to fiddle around a bit to fill it.

Peace:)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Centurian 803
Long Arm O' The Law
avatar

Age : 67
Location : Oak Ridge, TN
Registration date : 2008-09-10

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Wed Jan 28, 2009 10:54 am

When I use a lighter (Usually it's matches) I use a Zippo and haven't had any problems with it. The new fuel doesn't give the aftertaste the old stuff did.
Question: Has anyone had any experience with the butane insert they make for the Zippo? I saw them at my local B & M for around twenty bucks.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
wojtekpastuch



Registration date : 2009-01-21

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:49 pm

The Zippo butane insert is a very bad idea for lighting a pipe (the same with the Zippo Blu). It has a turbo flame which is vertical- that means you have to put the lighter upside down to light which is pretty uncomfortable. Also the turbo flame has a very, very high temperature and if you hit the rim with it even just for a moment you will scorch the wood almost immediately. My advise is to stick to the regular Zippo if you like it Smile
Peace:)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Centurian 803
Long Arm O' The Law
avatar

Age : 67
Location : Oak Ridge, TN
Registration date : 2008-09-10

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:32 pm

Thanks Woj, I appreciate the advice.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
jhuggett
BoB's Pioneer & Founding Father
avatar

Age : 45
Location : Olympia, WA
Registration date : 2007-12-09

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Wed Jan 28, 2009 3:03 pm

I have a Lotus pipe lighter that I like. It has an electronic ignition that lights every time, a side angled flame and built in tamper (which also works great to let out existing fuel when prior to refilling). It's weighted very well. I have had to play around with fuel with it and it seems to like the larger bottles for some reason.

http://www.cupojoes.com/cgi-bin/spgm?dpt=D&srch=DD&item=lot1120

_________________
Jason

"Freedom, Security, Convenience: Choose Two"
"For me, I will take freedom over security and I will take security over convenience." ~ Dan Geer
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.brothersofbriar.com
Doc Manhattan

avatar

Age : 39
Location : Land of Steady Habits
Registration date : 2008-05-26

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Wed Jan 28, 2009 3:11 pm

jhuggett wrote:
I have a Lotus pipe lighter that I like. It has an electronic ignition that lights every time, a side angled flame and built in tamper (which also works great to let out existing fuel when prior to refilling). It's weighted very well. I have had to play around with fuel with it and it seems to like the larger bottles for some reason.
I have the very same Lotus lighter and I love it for indoor use. My two gripes are that it's a butane hog, and the piezo refuses to light in even the slightest breeze.

(It also burnt off a guy's eyelash when he tried to light a cig with it, but that's because he didn't believe me when I told him, "Dude, it lights sideways." And he's kind of a dick anyway, so I don't consider it a fault of the lighter.)

My Oldboy is still my go-to, indoors or out.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://tobaccocellar.org/tinlist.php?cellar=808
Trout Bum

avatar

Age : 49
Location : Anchorage, Alaska
Registration date : 2008-09-11

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:55 pm

For Christmas I got an Old Boy from my girlfriend (BIG points!)... I REALLY like it, thought I can't speak for its durability. If you get one, do not get the all black one like I did. It is matte black, and when you lay it down, it is hard to see/find it. It would be VERY easy to lose or misplace. They come it several different finishes that look a little friendlier as far as finding it in a candle lit room... overall, so far, this lighter is so good that my smoking enjoyment has actually increased!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JJPHOTO

avatar

Age : 42
Location : Texas
Registration date : 2008-12-03

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Sat Feb 28, 2009 10:46 am

My wife got me a black matte Old Boy for Valentine's and I love that thing. I had been using matches, but those don't work well when you're outside where I live (wind blows 30+ mph almost every day!). This has really increased my smoking enjoyment because I'm not fighting with matches or trying to puff too fast to keep it lit.

Oh, and she also got me a G.L. Pease Maltese Falcon coffee mug from CafePress. I was going to link it for you guys, but I can't seem to find it there anymore. Maybe Greg took it down. scratch
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.jasonjohnsonphoto.com
JJPHOTO

avatar

Age : 42
Location : Texas
Registration date : 2008-12-03

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Sat Feb 28, 2009 10:51 am

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.jasonjohnsonphoto.com
Tennessee Dave

avatar

Age : 67
Location : Dayton, Tennessee
Registration date : 2008-02-12

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:20 pm

Well I purchased an Old Boy about a month ago and I love it so far. I only use it at home. The biggest obstacle to overcome for me was local availability of good butane and Corona flints. Ended up ordering several years supply of each online. Love the way the Old Boy looks and works. I do treat it carefully.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Lighter Reviews Anyone?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Questions About Reviews
» Rhys Biggs - killed by his mother Claire Biggs & Paul Husband
» Mark Warner puts renewed focus on quality at heart of strategy
» Amazon reviews of 'madeleine'
» Ken Tamplin

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Community :: The Round Table-
Jump to: