HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 
 

 Lighter Reviews Anyone?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
Doc Manhattan

avatar

Age : 39
Location : Land of Steady Habits
Registration date : 2008-05-26

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Sun Mar 01, 2009 2:20 pm

Got one of the Corona "Pipe Master" lighters today. So far, so good: 90 degree flame, big butane capacity, tamper built into the foot. Fits my hand perfectly. Haven't tried it outside yet, but it seem to be designed so as to be fairly windproof even though it's a piezo ignition. Slightly taller than the Old Boy, but similar footprint and maybe a bit less weight. If it's a windproof as it seems, it'll get a lot of good use.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://tobaccocellar.org/tinlist.php?cellar=808
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Sun Mar 01, 2009 3:07 pm

I have a couple lighters that are good workers


A Zippo pipe lighter its great outside in the wind lights every time


A Nibo pipe lighter its two years old and still lights every time the fuel doesnt last long in it though It probably has a small tank

a Imco they last about a year but for the price it not bad it lights every time



A Xikar pipeline I bought a week ago
The weight is good and heavy seems like its well made it lights every time and so far as I have used it to light everything and have put it through its paces I have yet to refill it

It seems like it may be a good one and the lifetime garantee is a good thing
Back to top Go down
howellhandmade



Registration date : 2007-12-11

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:18 pm

Zippo. I don't notice the taste. I wouldn't leave a Zippo anywhere for occasional use as the fluid evaporates within a week, maybe less for some lighters. I have a couple of Old Boys but like the Zippos better, preferring the softer flame and the smooth pocket feel. I have a few cheapo butane lighters scattered about in case I happen to be out and run out of fuel with the Zippo.

I have a Nimrod somewhere, but it's bulkier than the Zippo, doesn't light as well, and a fill evaporates after a day or two.

Jack
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mikem
The Coordinator
avatar

Age : 62
Location : Glendale, Arizona
Registration date : 2007-12-14

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:23 pm

Believe it or not I'm having a tough time trying to get Zippo fuel/flued for mine. I am going to have to travel across town to one of the pipe shops and see if they have some. Butane fuel is no problem, go figure. In Phoenix Arizona.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Confidence Cohen

avatar

Age : 35
Location : Georgia
Registration date : 2008-09-18

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Mon Mar 02, 2009 6:46 am

Wooden matches work great for me, it just causes alot of excess clean up on my deck and in my garage.

I also have a tiny little Prince Dolphin that I absolutely adore. (it takes a minute to get used to using it without dropping it) It's a very old-fashion flint flame butane lighter. I like it for many reasons. It has a very high range in flame adjustment. So to get into those deep bowls, I don't fear scorching my pipe. The price was very good too, ($19) It's also built like a tank. It's also got a neat little window that is orange/red when it is full and turns white when it is empty. I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. It also gets quite a few comments when I'm in a shop or out in public and use it.

http://www.magic25filter.com/prince_stainless_steel_ivory_lighter_dp_500iv.html

This website says its discontinued, so I'd recommend finding one while you get the chance.

If not that, Zippos and bics work for me.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
nyed001

avatar

Age : 46
Location : upstate NY
Registration date : 2009-02-10

PostSubject: Re: Lighter Reviews Anyone?   Mon Mar 02, 2009 10:14 am

I tried the Zippos too but didnt like the odor they left.Then I tried disposables but found that they werent reliable.I picked up an Old Boy clone,a Nibo, from my local tobacco shop for $30.Its very reliable,lights on the first turn of the striker and looks good too.But most of the time I stick with matches,most people are too lazy to strike a match and I dont have to worry about someone trying to walk off with them.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Lighter Reviews Anyone?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2
 Similar topics
-
» Questions About Reviews
» Rhys Biggs - killed by his mother Claire Biggs & Paul Husband
» Mark Warner puts renewed focus on quality at heart of strategy
» Amazon reviews of 'madeleine'
» Ken Tamplin

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Community :: The Round Table-
Jump to: