HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 

Going to China, need advice:)

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Ultraman

Registration date : 2010-05-31

PostSubject: Going to China, need advice:)   Sat Jun 19, 2010 10:52 am

Hey guys,

I'm going to China in two weeks and was wondering if anyone had ever taken pipes or tobacco there. As I'm new to pipe smoking, I've never travelled with pipes or tobacco. Any advice would be appreciated.

thanks!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
beaupipe

Registration date : 2009-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Going to China, need advice:)   Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:43 pm

I'm in China right now. I brought 4 tins and 4 pipes, a tamper, cleaners...the whole kit and kaboodle. I'm not sure what the limits are (I could only find info on cigarette limits) but nobody said a word to me.

I suggest you bring whatever you think you'll need. Both pipes and pipe tobacco are luxury items here and are priced accordingly. That is, much higher than in the USA. A 50g tin of Frog Morton in my local Beijing pipe shop was 150 RMB (about 22 bucks and rising as of yesterday's currency unpegging). Cigarettes, by contrast, are about a buck a pack for basic level brands.

And if you aren't in a city with a western orientation (Beijing, Shanghai), your tobacco choices will probably consist of nothing more than Captain Black and MacBaren Original, if that.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Natch

Registration date : 2007-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Going to China, need advice:)   Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:41 pm

Spent five weeks in Shanghai last summer, and took my pipes and tobacco with me. There are very few places to buy pipe tobacco or pipes for that matter, and the few shops I found (at least in Shanghai, which is the largest and most cosmopolitan city in China) were very upscale, with overly high prices on tobacco and $5,000 hand painted Dunhills!