HomeHome  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  
 

 Ever had your tobacco review stolen?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
DrumsAndBeer

DrumsAndBeer

Age : 48
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyMon Jul 22, 2013 3:10 pm

Less than a year ago I reviewed Long Golden Flake. 9/23/2012

http://www.tobaccoreviews.com/blend_detail.cfm?ALPHA=L&TID=1692

The other day I was shopping around for a few of my favorites. It was then that I noticed a review that looked hauntingly familiar. I thought to myself, "Wait a second, I don't post reviews here. I don't go by KAP, and I don't have anything to do with Travis AFB."

Color me plagiarized.

http://pipesandcigars.com/longgoldencake.html#.Ue2BzI21GCk

WTF? scratch Question Question 

Laughing 
Back to top Go down
sisyphus

sisyphus

Registration date : 2012-06-11

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyMon Jul 22, 2013 3:12 pm

smells like overzealous pnc employee is populating their reviews with entries from tr
lame
Back to top Go down
DrumsAndBeer

DrumsAndBeer

Age : 48
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyMon Jul 22, 2013 3:16 pm

sisyphus wrote:
smells like overzealous pnc employee is populating their reviews with entries from tr
lame

that was the first thought that crossed my mind..Too funny, and yes if that's the case "Very Lame."
Back to top Go down
Fr_Tom

Fr_Tom

Location : Diocese of Southern Virginia
Registration date : 2013-05-29

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyMon Jul 22, 2013 3:39 pm

I have copied some of my OWN reviews from TR to PNC. I am reasonably certain that none of mine are written well enough to make someone else want to "borrow" them. I can imagine it was quite a shock to find your words in another person's review.

Back to top Go down
http://www.tobaccoreviews.com/user/14371
Guest
Guest



Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyMon Jul 22, 2013 3:59 pm

It is a saying...

Plagiarism is the sincerest form of flattery.

Back to top Go down
Kyle Weiss

Kyle Weiss

Location : Reno, NV
Registration date : 2011-09-18

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyTue Jul 23, 2013 2:50 pm

Not to toot my own horn, but I much prefer my reviews over others. That said, the amount of personalization might be copied, but never replicated. Uniqueness is a copyright protection in and of itself. Not to mention, with the craziness I put forth, one would have to be equally mad (or idiotic) to steal anything I produced. Laughing

Still, that's damn funny. I'd do some research on who did it, track down his original reviews, throw in some crazy lines, and post them.

"FVF is as smooth as the silk thongs I wear!"

Cool
Back to top Go down
Growley

Growley

Age : 45
Location : Fairhope, Al
Registration date : 2012-04-10

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyTue Jul 23, 2013 5:31 pm

Hmmm, I wonder if the person who copied your review gets paid to "write reviews". I work in the field of internet marketing, and I know for a fact that this is a common practice. Typically though you are shooting for original reviews...not stolen ones. Suspect 

I'd take it as flattery too, but I bet it was odd seeing your writing in someone else's name like that.
Back to top Go down
http://GrowleyPipes.com
DrT999

DrT999

Age : 62
Location : Piedmont of North Carolina
Registration date : 2011-08-31

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyTue Jul 23, 2013 7:42 pm

While to my knowledge none of my tobacco or wine reviews have been stolen, but I know wine reviews and other data from review sites have been copied, 'data scraped', and 'mined,' so I am not surprised tobacco reviews have been as well
Back to top Go down
http://www.tobaccocellar.com/DrT999
Guest
Guest



Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyTue Jul 23, 2013 8:30 pm

Could have been an internet marketing company or a intern. Mega lame though.
Back to top Go down
leftover421

leftover421

Age : 42
Location : Idaho
Registration date : 2012-10-24

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyTue Jul 23, 2013 11:08 pm

Oddly, D&B, I have read all your reviews on tobaccoreviews.com. I find them very insightful, and well written. So, it really doesn't surprise me that you have been plagiarized.
I would however contact them and ask that they give credit where the credit is due.
Back to top Go down
monbla256

monbla256

Age : 74
Location : DFW Metroplex, Texas
Registration date : 2012-01-15

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyTue Jul 23, 2013 11:23 pm

In today's world of tweets and such what do you expect? Everything's fair game to many folks these days it seems. It doesn't excuse it in ANY way but I'm afraid it's probably gonna be the world we live in. What a Face 
Back to top Go down
DrumsAndBeer

DrumsAndBeer

Age : 48
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyWed Jul 24, 2013 12:20 am

Thanks Dan, I appreciate the compliment. I am on the fence about contacting them though.

Monbla, you're right. Hey, I am only 41, but I still went to school and graduated college prior to the proliferation of the a vast majority of the "Oh Mighty Interweb," back when plagiarism was seriously frowned upon and you couldn't just cut-n-paste a writing assignment. That said, my reaction to stealing someone else's written efforts is still that of suprise, as it should be. But the internet has truly changed everything.

At this point I am positive that someone was probably paid a small fee to crawl some sites and fill out some content on a certain said site. It's funny, it's lame, it's strange, and yes it's stealing, but I put it out there for free so I can't expect it to be treated with very much respect.
Back to top Go down
blendtobac



Registration date : 2010-03-08

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyWed Jul 24, 2013 8:29 am

This was brought to my attention last night. To say that I was upset would be an understatement. The issue has been addressed, and I can tell you in no uncertain terms that it will never happen again. My apologies for this incident.

Russ
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyWed Jul 24, 2013 8:34 am

You're the Best, Russ !!

What a Face
Back to top Go down
DrumsAndBeer

DrumsAndBeer

Age : 48
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyWed Jul 24, 2013 11:31 am

Thanks Russ, I appreciate you taking care of this.

& I agree with Yak.

Furthermore, I feel I owe you an apology for openly assuming any possible inside involvement. Please accept my sincere apology for that, and once again Thank You. Very Happy 

Chris
Back to top Go down
blendtobac



Registration date : 2010-03-08

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyWed Jul 24, 2013 1:06 pm

No offense taken. It shouldn't have happened in the first place and I'm just glad that it was brought to my attention. It's being removed from our site as I write this.

Russ
Back to top Go down
Kyle Weiss

Kyle Weiss

Location : Reno, NV
Registration date : 2011-09-18

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyWed Jul 24, 2013 1:45 pm

There is an additional solution to this--

...obviously D&B needs to be writing tobacco reviews for P&C.com.   cheers Why not replace the "copycat" with the real thing?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? 710492 I'm sure he'd love to sample some tobaccos and take notes.

Cool
Back to top Go down
leftover421

leftover421

Age : 42
Location : Idaho
Registration date : 2012-10-24

Ever had your tobacco review stolen? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ever had your tobacco review stolen?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? EmptyWed Jul 24, 2013 3:57 pm

Kyle Weiss wrote:
There is an additional solution to this--

...obviously D&B needs to be writing tobacco reviews for P&C.com.   cheers Why not replace the "copycat" with the real thing?   Ever had your tobacco review stolen? 710492 I'm sure he'd love to sample some tobaccos and take notes.  
Cool

+1

That is the best idea I have heard all year IMO.
Like I said before, I love D&B's reviews.
Back to top Go down
 
Ever had your tobacco review stolen?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Community :: The Round Table-
Jump to: