HomeHome  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  
 

 The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Growley

Growley

Age : 45
Location : Fairhope, Al
Registration date : 2012-04-10

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyTue Dec 10, 2013 12:27 pm

I found this particular poster intriguing. The play between the light and darkness draws me in, to a deeper understanding. The deep greens and grays speak of desolation, while the light evokes a feeling of hope. However, with seven characters packed in so tightly, I find the whole thing a bit busy. The tonal quality...(insert record scratch noise here) Blah, blah, blah....







WHAT'S GANDALF THINKING, SMOKING THAT PIPE SO DARNED HOT!?!?!?!? LOL.  Twisted Evil 

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Desolation-of-smaug-692x1024
Back to top Go down
http://GrowleyPipes.com
Puff Daddy
Moderator
Puff Daddy

Age : 56
Location : South of heaven
Registration date : 2007-12-09

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyTue Dec 10, 2013 12:33 pm

There be dragons in that pipeweed!

Dragons Breath. The only pipeweed that relights itself  Smile 

_________________
These are horrible times and all sorts of horrible people are prospering, but we must never let this disturb our equanimity or deflect us from our sacred duty to annoy and hinder them at every turn.
Back to top Go down
i.keenum

i.keenum

Age : 30
Location : coast of mississippi
Registration date : 2011-06-12

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyTue Dec 10, 2013 12:41 pm

That really is a great poster.
Back to top Go down
http://ian.keenum@gmail.com
rothnh



Location : Midcoast Maine
Registration date : 2012-08-26

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyTue Dec 10, 2013 1:44 pm

Surprised Gandalf can hold that pipe -- asbestos hands?  Shocked 
Back to top Go down
flyguy

flyguy

Age : 68
Location : Idaho
Registration date : 2013-11-23

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyTue Dec 10, 2013 1:54 pm

It must be pretty windy for Gandalf's pipe to glow like that! Great poster though.
Back to top Go down
anthonyrosenthal74

anthonyrosenthal74

Age : 46
Location : Fort Worth, Texas
Registration date : 2013-11-25

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyTue Dec 10, 2013 8:34 pm

I really like the way the smoke from Gandalf's pipe takes the form of a dragon breathing fire on the pipe itself. I also really like how the seem to make the pipe the centerpiece in this poster. You can't miss the dragon shaped smoke and it's breath on the bowl of the pipe draws you right to it. It's very nearly an advertisement on pipe smoking.
Back to top Go down
DrumsAndBeer

DrumsAndBeer

Age : 48
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyTue Dec 10, 2013 9:55 pm

It pains me to see the release of another one of these films. But on a positive note for the pipe industry, more Churchwardens will be sold to random 18 year olds than ever before. Razz 
Back to top Go down
Brewdude
Moderator
Brewdude

Age : 67
Location : Arid-zona
Registration date : 2011-05-04

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyTue Dec 10, 2013 10:00 pm

DrumsAndBeer wrote:
It pains me to see the release of another one of these films. But on a positive note for the pipe industry, more Churchwardens will be sold to random 18 year olds than ever before. Razz 

Yes, but what they use them for might be questionable!

 Exclamation 



Cheers,

RR


_________________
"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin


The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Purple11x 3The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Bombx10The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Bombx10  The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review D6bddf10 The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review 44902965465_19121c84ed_s_d The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Cowboy13The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review 4G80VIc

Site moderator and BoB Bomber's co-commander.
Back to top Go down
http://www.randereed.com Online
Growley

Growley

Age : 45
Location : Fairhope, Al
Registration date : 2012-04-10

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyTue Dec 10, 2013 10:08 pm

DrumsAndBeer wrote:
It pains me to see the release of another one of these films. But on a positive note for the pipe industry, more Churchwardens will be sold to random 18 year olds than ever before. Razz 

I kind of agree with you on both statements. Being a big fan of the book, I ended up being less of a fan of the first movie. Just the fact that The Hobbit was probably about 700 pages shorter than the LOTR trilogy, yet they have found a way of making the movie into a 3 part series.... It just feels like most of the focus is on the profit, not the story. I'm not against profit in itself. Without it, we'd have very few movies. But some things are better kept simple and understated.

As far as the 18 year olds, well, maybe they'll end up being true lovers of the pipe smoking magic and show up here on the board.
Back to top Go down
http://GrowleyPipes.com
loco pony

loco pony

Location : Houston Texas
Registration date : 2013-09-21

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyTue Dec 10, 2013 10:13 pm

Too bad the movie will probably suck as bad as the first one, and the poster will be the best thing about the Hobit movies.
Back to top Go down
DrumsAndBeer

DrumsAndBeer

Age : 48
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyTue Dec 10, 2013 10:23 pm

Yeah, splitting the Hobbit into 3 films is truly the ultimate Hollywood bilk job. Peter Jackson needs to go back to making masterpieces like Dead Alive and twisted puppet films. Those I enjoyed.

Ps- Growley Churchwardens, yeah baby!
Back to top Go down
i.keenum

i.keenum

Age : 30
Location : coast of mississippi
Registration date : 2011-06-12

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyWed Dec 11, 2013 12:25 pm

Meh, I like the movies alot. I have read the books and they are better no doubt, but this is better than a bunch of crap being pushed out now of days.
Back to top Go down
http://ian.keenum@gmail.com
Growley

Growley

Age : 45
Location : Fairhope, Al
Registration date : 2012-04-10

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyWed Dec 11, 2013 1:21 pm

i.keenum wrote:
Meh, I like the movies alot. I have read the books and they are better no doubt, but this is better than a bunch of crap being pushed out now of days.

I tend to think the same at first. There's not a lot of just absolutely fantastic stories being filmed at the moment, and this one isn't too bad in comparison. But if we always compare to the average or status quo, then we're probably shorting ourselves in the long run.

These stories are classics, and have captivated many for over 75 years, because they were written well and because they told a great story. I'm only asking that the movie producers strive for the same. It can be done, Casablanca was filmed in 1942.

I write this in a spirit of good conversation, not argument.
Back to top Go down
http://GrowleyPipes.com
Puff Daddy
Moderator
Puff Daddy

Age : 56
Location : South of heaven
Registration date : 2007-12-09

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyWed Dec 11, 2013 1:30 pm

The first of any of these stories I was ever exposed to was when my daughter gave me the extended directors cut box set of the  Lord of the Rings trilogy on dvd. Somehow I never read, or even knew of, the Hobbit books when I was young. I only read it after seeing the films on DVD. So, my perspective was much different, having seen the films first.

I love the LOTR trilogy movies, among my favorite movies ever. I thought the latest Hobbit movie (last year) was entertaining but lost a step compared to the first three. I'm not so sure that it's because they extended a story into three movies, I kind of feel that people would complain that it was overly abridged if they made the whole thing thing fit into 2 1/2 hours, but I felt it was not quite as good because it had less of a sense of raw mystery and adventure and more of a lighthearted nature to it. At least in parts. The feel of the LOTR movies was fluid, whereas this one feels different.

Still, I found it enjoyable, and I am looking forward to seeing the latest edition, although I'll wait a few days for the crowds to die down.

_________________
These are horrible times and all sorts of horrible people are prospering, but we must never let this disturb our equanimity or deflect us from our sacred duty to annoy and hinder them at every turn.
Back to top Go down
Growley

Growley

Age : 45
Location : Fairhope, Al
Registration date : 2012-04-10

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyWed Dec 11, 2013 1:49 pm

I think part of where it fell short is that they tired to make a simple story into something much grandiose. The Hobbit is really about the Hobbit, and his journey. They've worked hard to create big powerful heroes and epic battle scenes were there didn't really need to be any. The Hobbit is the hero here. He's small. He doesn't have any epic battles, at least in the sense of massive armies and such.

Don't get me wrong, I'll definitely watch it, and maybe even pay to watch it in the theatres. I'll enjoy it for what it is, and I'm sure it will be entertaining. I'm just guessing it will be more of a "popcorn" flick, where I sit, eat tons of popcorn and am entertained. But sometimes I want more than to be entertained, I want to be moved. This story has the power to do that if it's told correctly.

Man, I've got a soap box huh? I had envisioned this thread to be lighthearted comments about poster designers knowing nothing about pipe smoking, and here I am ranting about the mastery of good storytelling.

Back to top Go down
http://GrowleyPipes.com
docwatson

docwatson

Location : Central Massachusetts and midcoast Maine
Registration date : 2008-03-21

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyWed Dec 11, 2013 2:42 pm

Really enjoyed LOTR trilogy and now I'm looking forward to the second installment of The Hobbit. I personally don't care about how true they are to the books, IMO the books can never be upscaled by a movie, but the movies are fabulous to see on the big screen. It's all fabulous entertainment to this old Codger. cheers cheers 
Back to top Go down
Puff Daddy
Moderator
Puff Daddy

Age : 56
Location : South of heaven
Registration date : 2007-12-09

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyWed Dec 11, 2013 2:47 pm

Oh, and the poster. I don't claim to have any artistic knowledge, but I found it pretty generic, 'cept for the dragon smoke.

_________________
These are horrible times and all sorts of horrible people are prospering, but we must never let this disturb our equanimity or deflect us from our sacred duty to annoy and hinder them at every turn.
Back to top Go down
alfredo_buscatti

alfredo_buscatti

Age : 65
Location : Piedmont, North Carolina
Registration date : 2007-12-17

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyWed Dec 11, 2013 3:47 pm

I don't think that "The Hobbit" and LOTR are comparable stories. Though they contain some of the same characters and environs, the LOTR is about self-sacrifice and being willing to take on seemingly impossible odds for the right cause while "The Hobbit" is more of a light romp to steal a dragon's plunder.
Back to top Go down
Growley

Growley

Age : 45
Location : Fairhope, Al
Registration date : 2012-04-10

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyWed Dec 11, 2013 4:33 pm

alfredo_buscatti wrote:
I don't think that "The Hobbit" and LOTR are comparable stories. Though they contain some of the same characters and environs, the LOTR is about self-sacrifice and being willing to take on seemingly impossible odds for the right cause while "The Hobbit" is more of a light romp to steal a dragon's plunder.

+1
Back to top Go down
http://GrowleyPipes.com
rothnh



Location : Midcoast Maine
Registration date : 2012-08-26

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyWed Dec 11, 2013 4:46 pm

The LotR trilogy movies blew me away.  For example, when the Fellowship traveled through the mines, for me, it was as close as it gets to Tolkien's description.  Well done, Mr. Jackson.

I, too, was a bit disappointed in the first Hobbit movie, for the same reasons other posters stated in this thread.  Of course, that won't stop me from seeing the others.
Back to top Go down
Growley

Growley

Age : 45
Location : Fairhope, Al
Registration date : 2012-04-10

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyWed Dec 11, 2013 4:53 pm

rothnh wrote:
The LotR trilogy movies blew me away.  For example, when the Fellowship traveled through the mines, for me, it was as close as it gets to Tolkien's description.  Well done, Mr. Jackson.

I, too, was a bit disappointed in the first Hobbit movie, for the same reasons other posters stated in this thread.  Of course, that won't stop me from seeing the others.

I totally agree. I remember going to the first movie and coming out thinking...I wonder if my kids will ever get to experience anything of this magnitude. I eagerly looked forward to each following release and was never disappointed. I bought them on DVD, and then Extended DVD. Good stuff!
Back to top Go down
http://GrowleyPipes.com
alfredo_buscatti

alfredo_buscatti

Age : 65
Location : Piedmont, North Carolina
Registration date : 2007-12-17

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyThu Dec 12, 2013 8:52 am

If Bilbo and gang don't get away with robbing Smaug, they won't become rich. If Frodo fails to destroy the Ring, Sauron will despoil all of Middle Earth. Somewhere between writing "The Hobbit" and the LOTR, Tolkien devised a plot about ultimates.

It's been so long since I read the LOTR that I don't remember if Gollum was absolutely necessary to the Ring's destruction as in the movie, Gollum bites off Frodo's finger to get the ring; and dancing about the precipice with a kind of demonic exultation, slips and falls into the innards of Mt. Doom. Without Gollum it didn't seem likely that Frodo would have been able to give it up. I always like to think of this, of evil doing good.
Back to top Go down
RDPipes

RDPipes

Age : 66
Location : East Texas
Registration date : 2011-12-15

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyThu Dec 12, 2013 10:42 am

docwatson wrote:
Really enjoyed LOTR trilogy and now I'm looking forward to the second installment of The Hobbit. I personally don't care about how true they are to the books, IMO the books can never be upscaled by a movie, but the movies are fabulous to see on the big screen. It's all fabulous entertainment to this old Codger. cheers cheers 

+1 and this old guy.
Back to top Go down
http://rdpipes.briar.club/
Puff Daddy
Moderator
Puff Daddy

Age : 56
Location : South of heaven
Registration date : 2007-12-09

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyTue Dec 17, 2013 6:23 pm

Well I just got back from seeing The Desolation of Smaug. $5 admission on Tuesdays  Very Happy  I won't throw out any spoilers but I will say that I thought it was better than An Unexpected Journey. There were a couple of things that were definitely in conflict with the story line going back to the LOTR movies, which bothered me a little, but in general it was a very good movie.

_________________
These are horrible times and all sorts of horrible people are prospering, but we must never let this disturb our equanimity or deflect us from our sacred duty to annoy and hinder them at every turn.
Back to top Go down
Rob_In_MO

Rob_In_MO

Age : 47
Location : Park Hills, MO
Registration date : 2011-01-19

The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review   The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review EmptyTue Dec 17, 2013 7:16 pm

Puff Daddy wrote:
I won't throw out any spoilers but I will say that I thought it was better than An Unexpected Journey.

Agreed, PD. While not quite inline with the book, it was still an excellent watch.
Back to top Go down
 
The Desolation of Smaug: Movie (poster) review
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Bleach Movie 2 The Diamond Dust Rebellion DVDRip
» Watch Commitment Online Free and Full Movie HD, DVDRip or Blu-ray 720p December 2013
» Watch Tyler Perry's A Madea Christmas Online Free and Full Movie HD, DVDRip or Blu-ray 720p December 2013
» Watch The Last of the Unjust Documentary Online Free and Full Movie HD, DVDRip or Blu-ray 720p December 2013
» Watch Khumba 3D Online Free and Full Movie HD, DVDRip or Blu-ray 720p December 2013

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Community :: The Round Table-
Jump to: