HomeHome  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  
 

 Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review

Go down 
AuthorMessage
bentbulldog

bentbulldog

Age : 37
Location : Briarwood, NY (not joking)
Registration date : 2009-06-21

Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review Empty
PostSubject: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review EmptySat Aug 23, 2014 11:20 pm

Dry mouth is an issue for me, especially after smoking. Fortunately, there is Biotene. However, I didnt bring it with me on my recent trip and had to settle for ACT dry mouth since Wegmans was out of Biotene.
After a week, I can say this:
They're not the same and Biotene is the best oral supplement for the pipe smoker(IMHO)
Biotene is thicker, and feels like its coating my mouth. It feels less dry and I think it leaves a better aftertaste.
ACT did the job but not as effectively. I had to double dose. It also left a mouthwash aftertaste which i didn't like.

That said, while Biotene is my go to post smoke wash, if you were in a pinch and cant find a bottle, ACT would suffice. Biotene is worth the extra $$.

Just my .02c

On that note, if anyone has a homemade natural remedy, please share.


May the puff be with you
Back to top Go down
juanmedusa

juanmedusa

Age : 39
Location : Falls Church, Virginia
Registration date : 2013-07-06

Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review EmptySun Aug 24, 2014 1:57 pm

This was actually of interest to me. Thanks.
Back to top Go down
DrumsAndBeer

DrumsAndBeer

Age : 48
Location : Northern, CA
Registration date : 2012-04-04

Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review EmptySun Aug 24, 2014 2:43 pm

I thought ACT was just a fluoride rinse?

I use Biotene, especially after I smoke certain latakia blends. Sometimes I need it, sometimes I don't. But altogether it is very effective at doing what it is designed to do.
Back to top Go down
RDPipes

RDPipes

Age : 66
Location : East Texas
Registration date : 2011-12-15

Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review EmptySun Aug 24, 2014 3:40 pm

I don't suffer from dry mouth, in fact I'll drool all over myself like a St. Bernard if I'm not constantly swallowing but, I do suffer from taste loss and or metal mouth from time to time and Biotene really does the trick to help bring my taste buds back on track. Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review Double76
Back to top Go down
http://rdpipes.briar.club/
smg913

smg913

Age : 33
Location : New Jersey
Registration date : 2013-01-27

Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review EmptySun Aug 24, 2014 4:38 pm

I love biotene but I am also a big fan of a warm salt water rinse
Back to top Go down
J Soshae

J Soshae

Age : 47
Location : Birmingham, AL
Registration date : 2011-08-19

Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review EmptySun Aug 24, 2014 4:48 pm

Everything was great with Biotene until I read the package. It said something about eggs and I could never get it out of my mind.
Back to top Go down
Old Nate
Not Really Old
Old Nate

Age : 37
Location : Western PA
Registration date : 2014-08-27

Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review EmptyWed Sep 10, 2014 10:35 pm

Cartaphilus wrote:
I don't suffer from dry mouth, in fact I'll drool all over myself like a St. Bernard if I'm not constantly swallowing but, I do suffer from taste loss and or metal mouth from time to time and Biotene really does the trick to help bring my taste buds back on track. Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review Double76

Yep, Biotene feels very nice on my tongue when I push it too hard. And it does help the dry mouth as well, but I find I, too, am usually salivating all over... in some fashion.
Back to top Go down
AJ

AJ

Age : 71
Location : East of the Rocky Mountains
Registration date : 2012-03-18

Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review   Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review EmptyWed Sep 10, 2014 11:05 pm

Cartaphilus wrote:
I don't suffer from dry mouth, in fact I'll drool all over myself like a St. Bernard if I'm not constantly swallowing but, I do suffer from taste loss and or metal mouth from time to time and Biotene really does the trick to help bring my taste buds back on track. Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review Double76

Ron,

Anyone would be drooling like a St. Bernard if they could sit and stare at the fine collection of pipes you have. Everytime I think of that Don Carlos with the silver band you have I nearly drown in my own saliva. Smile

AJ
Back to top Go down
 
Biotene vs ACT drymouth: my review
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Brothers of Briar :: Community :: The Round Table-
Jump to: