3-in-1 Tool

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 4351

Reaction score
At the suggestion of my local toby shop owner, I bought a 3-in-1 tool that includes a tamper, a spoon-like wedge, and a thin metal post. The tamper, I understand. The spoon, I have found uses for (cleaning out the bowl, honing the cake on my pipe, etc.). It is the post that confuses me. What is its intended purpose?

As a writer, I can think of uses for the thing, from cleaning a clogged toby pipe to drunk-punching malevolent gnomes, but I would prefer to know how I'm meant to use it before I go defending myself against magical garden creatures.

I would vote for cleaning out a clogged drought hole, but there’s no reason you can’t use it to defend yourself against the occasional gnome.

Todd

taharris":piu5iey5 said:
I would vote for cleaning out a clogged drought hole, but there’s no reason you can’t use it to defend yourself against the occasional gnome.

Todd
Yep. I smoke a lot of cobs. This "post" comes in very handy as they can clog mid-smoke given their mechanics.

....and for removing stones out of unicorn hooves.

Personally I use the spike to loosen up the ash at the end of a smoke so I can tip it out. I only ever run a pipe cleaner through a pipe. No hard and fast rules though, I guess it's whatever works for you Mr P. :)

Punched gnome with post <stop>

Little bastards punch back <stop>

Will find alternative uses for post <stop>

Ow <stop>

Pokety-poke  pokety-poke!    

It's there to ask... what does this thing do?!! :scratch:

It was left off the original Swiss army knife because they didn't know what to do with it! :?:

Actually, I use it to push down through the tobacco to get a better draw if I pack the pipe too tight. :cheers:

Ozark Wizard":8060lp8e said:
I'll use the pick to stir the last bit of the bowl. I really don't tamp.