A change in shaving practice

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
+1 on Feather blades. Very good. I also like the Isreali made Personna reds as well.

I am with PB on the Trumper's Limes. Awesome cream. Taylor coconut, Taylor avocado and Proraso Green are my other favorite creams.

I have been using a safety razor for many years and have been very happy.
Has anyone had the courage to step up their game and move to a straight razor?
I can get a nice shave in 5-10 minutes and don't want to spend anymore time getting a transfusion.

Bub":qhq83y1h said:
I can get a nice shave in 5-10 minutes and don't want to spend anymore time getting a transfusion.
There was a reason they invented the DE razor and I've had to agree with it !! I leave the straight Razors to the Barbers !!Safer that way !! :twisted: :twisted:

Bub":rz1yqlyh said:
I tried it at the delirious insistence of a friend, and it wasn't as difficult or dangerous as I thought it would be--as long as I was sober and under no mental duress. What did me in was sharpening the dang things. I'm just no good at it and I'm not going to send them away for sharpening. Wa-a-y too much hassle. (My friend sent me razors, stones, leather strop, rouges, etc., and I managed to destroy a good razor. Finito, forever, for me.)

Bub":2ucua1tm said:
Before being injured, I moved to almost straights-only..it just allowed better control and quite a bit better shave IMO.. I even went a step further (again IMO) and purchased a Feather razor with a Japanese handle, basically a scalpel and half again as sharp as any straight I ever held. As for now, being on narcotics, lyrica, having an uncontrollable quake, and the propensity to fall I laid them aside. Lol. I've for all intent almost quit shaving being brutally honest but I've polluted this thread with tear jerking nonsense enough as it is.

Richard Burley":aqgm3r1d said: