Adding Alcohol to Tobacco

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 4351

Reaction score
I like mixing cocktails. I'm no good at it, but I have a few recipes under my belt that I like well enough. Lately I've been curious about taking some tobacco, soaking it in some whiskey, letting it dry, and seeing how it "tastes" (smokes).

I was wondering if any of you have any experience with doing something like this, and if so, how it turned out. Of course I run the risk of ruining the tobacco (probably not beyond use), but unless there are some terribly compelling reasons to avoid doing this, I might try it with some of what I'll pick up here in a bit from the smoke shop.

It’s not uncommon add some booze to tobacco. Rum, whiskey & brandy might be the most used. I’m no expert but I think that a small amount is added to some tobacco and then you mix it really well. The “soak the tobacco in it” approach seems heavy handed to me. Extracts are another type of additive...like vanilla, almond, licorice, etc. There used to be a couple of vendors that sold a wide variety of extracts to appeal to home blenders.

Good luck & let us know how it goes.

Mr P, you could try drying the baccy a little by spreading it thinly and letting it air dry, then mist it with a spray gun with your favourite tipple to rehydrate. Just don't over do the rehydration.

I seem to recall a thread discussing this elsewhere, where it was noted that the change in flavour was only just discernible.

Oz, our resident tamed baccy manufacturer might be able to shed some light...

Blackhorse":s6zzl95z said: