Another new guy from DFW

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

my19

Reaction score
I was on a hunting trip a couple of months ago up in the Texas Panhandle when my brother-in-law pulled out a pipe as we tucked in around the evening campfire and proceeded to light up. I hadn't been around pipes much in several decades -- both of my grandfathers smoked 'em, though -- and the first whiff of tobacco smoke carried me back.

Intrigued, I started poking around on the internet and found an amazing new world out there. Now, I'm a guy who likes a certain ritual to the things I do. A few years back I retired the electric razor for an old double-edge Gillette, along with shaving soaps and creams and after shaves my dad and grandfathers enjoyed. So smoking a pipe was a natural fit for me.

I'm just starting out, literally, and trying to soak up the incredible amount of information out there on tobacco types and blends, on cobs and briars and other pipe materials and shapes and makers, even things as simple as lighters (and matches) and the differences they can make.

I have to say I've been impressed with the breadth of knowledge I've found here and the civilty and good humor, traits in short supply on some other forums.

So thanks for your patience when I ask the inevitable stupid questions (though I promise I will use the search function regularly), and for the community you've built here.

best,
Mike

Welcome from Louisiana! I had a similar transition. Several years ago I put my electric razor on the shelf and starting using a blade and shaving soap and brush.