Any Linux users?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oldmansmokingpipe

Reaction score
Just curious - anyone using linux? which distro(s)? Why do you use linux? What other opensource apps do you run?

I am a part time linux user, I have a chromebook with gallium and an old dell with ubuntu.

When I'm actually on a PC it's running some distro or another.
I think it's currently on Mint Debian Edition. I started playing with Linux in the mid 90's when Debian came out. I'm not currently actually using it because of the whole, 'sitting up' issue but I have used it for games and web surfing mostly. I've had useful stuff on the machines as well, ham radio programs, IDE, Home Budget stuff... Basically Linix is for anything you would need a PC for. The best program of all time has National Security implications, The Battle For Wesnoth.

Wow! Quite a few folks using linux... why? I am very curious. I have my reasons but did not want to come off like I was selling it all... but I am rather curious.

In the late 90's I was more of a computer hobbiest than I am now. At home I used SuSE linux on a machine I assembled myself. In 1999, I took an old Novell server at work and installed Red Hat on it for a project. I was looking for cheap and functional. I did not want to pay for a MS license.

Since that Red Hat instaltion, I have always had some linux server in use. My primary comuter at home has been linux since about 2000. I used mostly Red Hat or Fedora at home until Ubuntu came out. Ubuntu was a single CD to install, and it seemed to have a lot of community buzz and support.