"Brand new" Dunhill w/Vulcanite stem appears used...Help!

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trakehner

Reaction score
Hello Everyone! I'm new to this so here's my question...My husband purchased a "brand new in box" Dunhill on Ebay, and when he got it, it had brownish oxidation marks on the mouthpiece, the stem was not shiny as all other Dunhills, and there was some residue/oxidation on the inside of the mouthpiece as well. My husband has several other Dunhills, many of which are much older than this one (its an '04). The one he bought does not appear to have near the quality look as his older ones. Lastly, the box the pipe was sent in was for a "Chestnut," but the pipe is an Amber Root.
THe seller says that its just oxidation from being made, and he used to import Dunhills, so he claims he'd know. This pipe just doesn't seem like "brand new" Dunhill quality. As I stated, his smoked, non-cleaned Dunhills don't even have these marks. Any references and information would be very greatly valued! Thank you everyone!

Hi! Welcome to BoB. It's likely just as the seller said, but it is difficult to help without pictures. Do you have any pictures of the pipe you could email to me if I give you an email address? I'll post them for you if that is the case.

Oxidation is common with vulcanite stems. It turns them from a nice glossy black to a slightly greenish colour. It is perfectly normal, although some things, such as being out in the sunlight, can cause oxidation to occur faster than usual. If it bothers you that much you could send it to a repair shop to remove the oxidation.