Chocolate Flake - Gawith Hoggarth vs Samuel Gawith?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ontariopiper

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I've recently become a fan of Orlik's Dark Strong Kentucky (a surprise to me), which has raised my interest in trying other flavoured flakes. My experience with straight VA's has not been that favourable,but DSK's Burley/Virginia blend I find quite tasty.

Both Samuel Gawith and Gawith Hoggarth Chocolate Flakes follow the Burley/Virginia route, with some Latakia added which is just fine by me. If I'm reading the online reviews correctly, The GH Bob's Choc Flake is a Lakeland blend, so folks seem to either love it or hate it. I have no experience with Lakelands, so can't say if I'd enjoy the tobacco.

I've enjoyed a few other Sam Gawith blends, so I'm somewhat leaning in that direction for a first purchase. I'd love to get feedback from those of you who have smoked both blends.

SG Choc Flake is one of my all time favourites. I unfortunately haven't had the Gawith Hoggarth one yet.

I'm in the other camp, love the G H Bob's Chocolate Flake, but haven't tried the SG Chocolate. Though I find the 'chocolate' flavor light, I believe it might have more to do with the tobaccos in the blend than the topping..

There ain't much chocolate in Bob's Chocolate Flake (maybe more 'white chocolate' along with the vanilla and tonquin).  I prefer GH's Scotch Flake, not sweet or floral, but with just a bit stronger chocolate and tad less vanilla than Bob's

DrT999":216nwnz6 said:
There ain't much chocolate in Bob's Chocolate Flake (maybe more 'white chocolate' along with the vanilla and tonquin).  I prefer GH's Scotch Flake, not sweet or floral, but with just a bit stronger chocolate and tad less vanilla than Bob's
I'll have to check that one out. Thanks!

DrT999":ju2axk20 said: