Greetings Everyone

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LordFerndown

Reaction score
Hello, my name is Jason and I am a tobacconist at Club Humidor in San Antonio Tx. I started smoking a pipe three years ago as a way to quit smoking cigarettes and found my new enjoyment, meditation, and ritual pleasure to replace an addiction. Its cool to find a forum of other pipe smokers, as I deal with 80% cigar smokers at work. Not that I have any animosity towards the other smokers of the leaf, in fact, I smoke about two cigars per day while at work. I find it gives my pallete a further affinity towards all tobacco in general. Though I will admit I am no expert on the subject of pipes and cigars, I am a dilligent student at the artform of smoking. In fact, I rely on fellow smokers to educate me while at work, and I am taking the certified retail tobacconist (CRT) course at tobacconistuniversity.org to further this pursuit. The knowledge I get I use to educate new pipe smokers while they pick out their first one and to find a good starter tobacco set of three. I always recommend a holy trinity of something they're attracted to by smell and texture. Three different tobaccos assure them they will find one in the bunch they have an affinity for. I currently have four different pipes. The first is a Czech bulldog basket pipe that was my first, a Castello sea roc that was given to me by my fellow tobacconist colleague Mack, a Savenelli Clarks Favorite which is a Bark Canadian and was a favorite of Clark Gable, and my prized posession, a Ferndown Reo 8 panel pipe with a silver military coupling. The one question I had to you guys was about the LJ&S that is inscribed in the silver. I know the L comes from Les Wood who was a silversmith for Dunhill for 25 years, and read that the JS came from his wife Dolly. However, does anyone know the direct meaning to the lettering. I