Greetings from Delaware!

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SteelyJ

Reaction score
Greetings, and well met! I'm new to pipe smoking and thought it would be fun to be a part of a community seeing as pipe smokers are friendly and helpful.
Some background: I'm a school counselor, working in the publishing world on the side (weird fiction) with a review blog that I've maintained for several years. I love fine whiskeys (I prefer scotch or bourbon, and a few ryes) and recently began to enjoy the occasional cigar with my glass. Pipes have beckoned to me for awhile, and I once bought a cheap basket pipe, so I decided it's something I would enjoy even more than the cigars. I took the plunge and bought my first briar, a Savinelli Tortuga, some tobaccos and some accessories. I began the break in last night, choosing to pack Frog Morton's Cellar, which is when I snapped this "Savinelli Selfie."
Look forward to meeting all of you.

-Justin Steele

Welcome to BoB! This is one of the best sites around. I hope you enjoy your stay. Feel free to ask any questions you might have.

Welcome.

I gotta ask though..... what's "weird fiction"? :lol:

Nice to meet you guys

@Direwolf: Weird Fiction can be hard to describe, but is a sort of non-mainstream, literary horror. It's not ghosts or vampires or slashers. It can sometimes include elements that would normally be associated with scifi or fantasy or mainstream horror. Weird authors include HP Lovecraft, Thomas Ligotti, Laird Barron, and even some Stephen King is weird fiction flavored. Lovecraft once wrote that the Weird has a ‘certain atmosphere of breathless and unexplainable dread” or “malign and particular suspension or defeat of…fixed laws of Nature."