Hello from Eastern PA

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MichaelM

Reaction score
Hello All,
My name is Mike and I am from Eastern PA about an hour north of Philadelphia. After following the forum for a few days I though that it looked like a fun place to share my appreciation of pipe smoking and learn more about the hobby, so I decided to jump in.
I've been smokig pipes off and on since the mid 1980s. Over the past 5 years or so I put my pipes aside and got heavily into cigars, but recently found myself getting a bit bored with them and the call of the pipe was too strong to resist. I still smoke both, but the pipe has once again become my primary choice for a relaxing smoke.
My pipe collection is a motley mix, mostly acquired when I was a starving graduate student. Nothing to brag about, but they bring me joy. My favorite is a natural Irish second I picked up at a Tinderbox around 1990. I have not bought a pipe in a looong time, but I'm planning on attending the NY show this year, so I hope to break that streak soon.
On tobacco, I've always been a fan of english blends, with Lane's #10 Downing street being my first regular blend. I've recently found that I enjoy some aromatics smoked slowly in a cob. It makes a nice change of pace.
Along with pipe smoking, I am an avid fly tyer and fly fisherman, and a woodworker. And while I have not yet taken the plunge, I am thinkiing about trying to carve a pipe some time soon.
Thanks for reading my introduction, and I will be looking forward to chatting with you on the forum.
Mike.

Welcome! If you are interested, the Phillly Pipe club meets monthly in downtown Philly. They are a great bunch of guys (and ladies). A few dedicated fly-flingers are also members, so you'll fit right in. I live in MD, but work on the the PA Turnpike and attend several meetings a year.

Welcome MichaelM.