Hello from the beautiful St. Croix River

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Turbine712

Reaction score
Hello, short time lurker and long time pipe smoker.
I have been smoking a pipe off and on for too many years that I forget. Honestly I had my first pipe behind a warming house at my local ice skating rink when I was all of about 12 years old. I smoked a corn cob pipe with some Cherry Blend tobacco that my friend supplied. From then on my history with the briar has been on and off, but continuous for many, many years. As of late, I am looking at trying different tobaccos that steer away from the usual aromatic style that I have always smoked. I have purchased several tins of English blends, ( Squadron Leader, MM965, MM Baby's Bottoms, Elizabethan Mixture as well as others) I am waiting for a package to be delivered today of some Burley blends which I an anxious to try. If anyone has some good "Cross-Over" blends that have a nice oaty, bread, bakery tastes and smell, PLEASE let me know. I have found that I'm having trouble with the English blends. The Latakia, Perique tobacco is giving me some problems. The taste and room note I find is like incense and " Old Lady perfume". I know that it kinda grows on you however right now it's not my cup of tea.
So, I hope I can find some good advice and answers to other questions I have with this great pastime.

Regards,
Turbine712

Welcome to the group! If you want a mellower crossover there are a few manufacturers out there that do a fine job of it. I would recommend McClelland, (as will others, I believe) first as they do have a signature sweet/oaty line of Virginia blends. Next, I suppose, would be to tend you toward C&D Burleys. Lane makes a rather sweet burley (BLWB). A nice move from aromatics to, well, not so aromatic........

Enjoy the hunt!

Welcome to the Brotherhood, Turbine!