Hi from Indiana

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Newpiper19

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am new to piping and got my first pipe at a 420 event here in town. I know it probably sounds odd, I know it does to me, but I am also new to smoking. I have been curious for some time now and wanted to try something classy and also because my grandparents smoked pipes. I am curious about what they saw in it, curious about the flavors and generally the lifestyle.

I tried to do as much research as I could before making a purchase, let me know if I got it right. I bought a Meerschaum cobb pipe and for my first tin of tobacco I got some Three Nuns orange can. My reading on the various forums told me that the flavored stuff is worthless to smoke and the tobacconist recommended the orange can. Did I make good choices? The only tinned stuff they had there besides the Orange can was Arcadian perique, some Crumble kake in Red virginia, English #1 and Va Perique. They also had a few HH tins, Latakia and some others whose names I don't remember, but not a whole lot. They had lots of Super value stuff, as well as a few pouches of Bokhum Riff on the value shelf.

It has been raining all day and I have not yet lighted it up seeing as I forgot to get a butane lighter and don't have any matches. Going to get some tomorrow.

Quick question, should I get rid of the filter in the cobb pipe or keep it? The tobacconist said I didn't need and recommended I get rid of it.

Can't wait to give it my first puff. Thanks for having me!

welcome!

As far as what tobacco to buy, there is no wrong answer. Get what you like. It will take some trial and error.

If you are looking for a mild easy to smoke non fruity or sweet tobacco, I would recommend Carter Hall or Prince Albert. They can often even be found at Walmart or Kroger.

Fight'n Hampsters":11qmgtqi said:
welcome!