how to know when pipe tobbaco is the right humidity?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

new2thepipe

Reaction score
Im new to pipe smoking and i dont have any money after ordering tobacco and a new pipe I didnt think about storage. my old pipe was a cheap one and it broke and now i got a better one and better tobacco. I can get my hands on masson jars but i dont have a humidity guage or a moistener or wax. Pleas let me know any ideas or recommendations. They will all be appreciated!
Thanks Ben

I use some little wide mouth mason jars which I found in the storage room, (she likes to do some canning but has more supplies than canning ambition) :)

Personally I re-use other small jars I aquire , It is not recommended to re-use the lids due to they may impart flavor from the original contents, And if the contents were pickels, peppers or other such I agree that could be unplesant,

On the other hand I have re-use the lids (against givin advice) when the contents of the used jars was honey, fruit, jelly and such, I cleaned them well made sure the seal was intact and for me I am good with it.

Small jars are cheap enough I reckon but I have eclectic taste and the decorative litte jelly and honey jars appeal to me. and any minute impartment of taste if any will be something sweet so I am good with it.

And I can surley see Why Spicy Dill flavored Balken may not be desirable, As to the proper moisture of the tobacco as I read here on the boards there is no one answer that fits all, only general guidelines, not so dry it crumbles, not so wet is clumps together,

As some say you have to get a "feel" for it, Aslo generally speaking aromatics run moist can burn hot, smoke wet, So many varibles, between the smokers technique, the tobacco and the pipe, what works for one may or may not work for others.