I hate Mondays

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DrT999

Staff member
Council Member
Reaction score
So, I get to campus this morning, ready to give my last final and hoping there weren't too many emails from students claiming 'special' circumstances. I walk into the ground floor of the three story building....and there is a 1/2 inch of water on the floor, water running down the walls, etc. The first two floors are flooded from a leak on the third. -sigh-

Goodness, Doc.
I’m new to the forums, so I wanted to ask you:

What subjects do you teach?
What university do you teach at?

I presume the university has a no smoking policy but I remember when professors used to smoke in their offices all the time.

History at WSSU. They banned smoking outside a few years ago -- I used to walk on campus while smoking. Now when I was a grad student and at my first two temp positions, I smoked in my offices.

Thanks Doc for answering my question. It's good to hear from a professor that smokes pipes! I spent a lot of time in college and most of the professors smoked cigs.

When smoking was allowed, I use to walk around campus smoking my churchwarden (a.k.a. My Gandalf pipe). As you can imagine, I got a lot of interesting looks.

Dr.T.,

I feel your pain. My first office was on the top floor of our building. There was an interesting crack running from the fluorescent light fixture, down the slanted ceiling, to the wall above my window. At one point, I noticed that there was water in the light fixture. I moved when plaster started falling on my desk.

My second office was great: it was right next door to the first. There was plenty of fresh air because of the wind that howled through the panes of the window.

Now, I have the department chair's office. Sadly, I had to take the job to get the office.