I just re-tried Carter Hall

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kyle Weiss

Reaction score
You read that right: "re-tried," and "Carter Hall." This is a little long, but when you read it, you'll understand.

A little back history. Lloyd, the old guy who got me smoking pipes at the tender age of 16, was a resident at the old folks' home I worked as a prep cook and dishwasher. He gave me a tiny "Lark" model Dr. Grabow (now in the esteemed possession of Zach, aka GMF) and I had two choices: Prince Albert or Carter Hall. He much preferred Prince Albert, and Carter Hall was his "special stuff" (not sure why that was, he was old and somewhat nuts). Prince Albert was okay, but it often bit the hell out of my tongue and would get sopping wet. Carter Hall, on the other hand, was much gentler, really packed a nicotine punch, and always seemed just-right. I would sometimes roll it up into RYO cigarettes when my pipe got lost among moves, homelessness, misplacing...it took me a 18 or so years to get back into a pipe again...

...today it's windy, snowy and rainy, and for some reason this time of year always makes me think of Lloyd. He got really sick this time of year just before he passed on, and one of the last times I played hookey taking food up to his room when he wasn't feeling well enough to go to the dining hall, I smoked some Carter Hall with him as he told me wild stories about World War II (sometimes he was a four-star general, other times he was just a staff Sargent). He put a cheap fedora on my head and said, "That looks great on you, sport, keep it." It was the last time I saw him. How I wish I still had that hat.