Introducing myself

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ravkesef

Reaction score
I've posted a small number of times on various topics, but never introduced myself on the forum, so here goes:
Hi Everybody,

I'm a relative noob on this forum. I'm a retired rabbi ( it's all in my profile.) My screen name, ravkesef, means Rabbi Silver in Hebrew, since that's my name. It also means "lots of money," but that's a joke. Maybe someday, but being retired, I see no way for that to happen. Unless of course I win the lottery, but they tell me you've got to buy a ticket for that to happen.
I've been smoking a pipe for 54 years (do the math--it means I started in 1959.) I guess that makes me clear proof for the dangers of pipe smoking. My docs and my dentist say that they don't approve, but they can find no evidence that I smoke a pipe. In fact, my dentist tells me that if he didn't know from my telling him, he'd never spot it from my teeth and mouth. Hear that guys--it means brush and floss fastidiously!
Of course in half a century of pipe smoking, I have managed to acquire a nice sized collection--about 100 pipes, including 6 Charatans (Lane Era,) 10 GBDs (from the 60s and 70s,) 6 Connoisseurs (including 2 not-yet smoked,) 5 Dunhills (3 Bruyere, 1 shell, and 1 tanshell ( 70s and 80s,) 2 Comoys (again from the 70s,) a W.O. Larsen freehand straight grain that SWMBO got me for my 40th birthday, 3 Boswells (worth far more than they charge, but don't tell them that,) 2 Paolo Becker that I picked up on a visit to his atelier in Rome last year, and two L'Anatras (the most underpriced pipe you can buy these days,) 1 Claudio Cavicchi, and various other pipes some made by top notch craftsmen (Scott Thile, Steve Morisette,) a few Stanwells, and several others, all of them wonderful smokers.