McClelland -- 5100 Red Cake

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

d4klutz

Reaction score
So, I was given almost a pound of this in a trade with a BoB member about a month ago.  I jarred it and forgot about it as I had tried some straight Va's and found them to bite really hard.  I am still learning to sip, not puff.  It felt a little dry to the touch, but I left it as is.  

First impressions on opening the jar.  A tad dry, fairly even brown color, and a mildly sweet smell.  No "ketchup" smell at all.  Not as strong as some Virginias that I have cracked the tin on.  I decided to try this blend in my pre-republic Peterson system pipe as I don't get any gurgle from it, and it would let me work on my sipping a bit more.  To be honest, I expected the 5100 blend to smoke like my other straight Va blends.  Charring light - It charred nicely, but took a couple of matches to get a nice char set.  I let it sit for a minute, grabbed my gin tonic and a mug of fresh coffee.  I then re-lit it.  It took 3 matches to get a solid ember going.  I'm not sure why this is, as the tobacco feels much drier than other Va flakes I have tried.