New popular science titles

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DrT999

Staff member
Council Member
Reaction score
I am not a scientist, and I don't pretend to be one.  I am a historian of ideas & culture, and that includes the history of science, so I do consume a lot of popular science (magazines, books, documentaries).  Below are three new titles I've read over the last 6 weeks.

Neil deGrasse Tyson 'Astrophysics for People in a Hurry'
Jonathon B Losos 'Improbable Destinies'
Henry Fountain 'The Great Quake'

The first is the best of them.  Tyson explains the current views of astrophysics and the background pretty well and thoughtfully, and most of the filler material is interesting and again most is easily understood (at least from my view point) although some of the ideas are pretty esoteric.  He's a very good communicator and I recommend it for those interested.

Losos is trying to communicate current ideas on evolution, especially convergent evolution, and the 1st and final portions of the book get his point across, despite what seems to be some uncertainty on his part on what the major point(s) he's trying to get across might be.  The middle of the book describe a number of experiments he and others have done (if you really want to know how guppies and lizards and some other creatures/microscopic life have been used in excruciating detail in ecological evolution studies, you'll enjoy that section -- I found it tough going at times).  He also seems to falter in tying it all together when trying to tie all that info into his major points.