Ordering received from Germany, DHL wants me to sign Importer Customs Document

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jazzer

Reaction score
I received an order from Estervals (Germany). The shipping was very fast.
Unfortunately, DHL has contacted me and told me that I to have to fill and return a form to them
call Import Customs Power of Attorney, which claims that I received the package and that I am the importer
and will agree to pay any import fees and and who know what else.

Has anyone encountered this ? If so, did you fill out the form and return to DHL. The woman I spoke to
told me I would be $25 import fee.

The option is to have them pick up the package and return to the sender.

Well, I'll never do this again!
Thanks for any help or experience.

I'm no expert and have never ordered any tobacco from abroad. To me it sounds as if the form from estervals or the one dhl is looking at may have been filled out incorrectly in such a way as listing you as not the final consumer/user but as a company that is going to resell it?

Call estervals and ask for help with what is going on. Surely you are not the only one this has happened to. Your only option may be send it back, they then fill the form out correcly and reship it to you at their expense.
I have filled out overseas custom forms incorrectly, paid for mailing it, gotten package back stating form filled out incorrectly/incomplete. Filled form back out correct and had to pay again to reship package. Hope this helps and good luck trying to get your tobacco.

Thanks for your message.
I already have the package, DHL delivered it a week ago. But as you suggest, it seems that something went wrong with the paperwork.
Or, as explained by the DHL, person, I am purchasing tobacco tins, which means I may have to pay a tax on these. That happened many years ago