Ouch, my ass hurts.

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Puff Daddy

Reaction score
Or, why don't they just charge an extra $10 bucks and put a real frikkin seat on it?

I'm almost 50. Officially coming on Old F***er status. I've been doing the whole weight lifting/gym rat thing for a few years and though it's helped me drop a lot of weight and generally remain healthy, I keep getting hurt. I started out hurt, actually, so it wasn't a real big surprise, but after a major hernia repair and subsequent reinjuries, my doc finally told me to find something else to do or risk irreversible issues.

I don't have to stop lifting, I just have to stop lifting heavy. Major exertion, deadlifting more than my body weight, constant grunting and straining. Doc suggested going the route of the cycling athlete, a good bit of riding, some moderate but not daily lifting. Sounded good, but bikes are expensive, so I've put it off. But then a friend of my wife comes along with an offer for a free secondhand bike that her husband no longer needs as he bought himself a nice new one. OK, cool. Why not. It's an inexpensive mountain bike, but it's in really good condition. Made my first ride today, maybe 8 or 10 miles on a paved bike trail along the river.

Started out well, was a lot of fun. The weather was really nice, the trees are flowering, felt really good to be out riding. But, at about the 4 mile mark, the seat started talking to me.

"Ya know, I really don't like you, fat ass. You're having too much fun and I think it's time to inflict a little agony".

:suspect:

Man, this thing is really starting to hurt. I better get off, take a rest, and have a look. Maybe there's an adjustment.

Looking under the seat I found no adjustment, but I did find a signature from the maker of the seat. Marquis de Sade.