Reiner Long Golden Flake -- my first bowl

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jj1015

Reaction score
Well, I'm planning this weekend to pull the trigger on a tin of Long Golden Flake, a blend which has ridiculously good reviews on TR. I've never tried it before, and I've been saving a tin of it for a special occasion. This weekend isn't particularly special, but it should be rainy and cool (ideal pipesmoking weather) and I'd really like to treat myself. I was kind of hoping to get eveyone's thoughts on this blend, just for the hell of it, before diving in....
This tin is at least three years old, and I just cracked the seal on it this afternoon. The tobacco is a bunch of VERY long flakes that smell absolutely lovely. Visually, this blend appears to be a bit lighter than the VA or VA/PERS I normally smoke (FVF, Blackwoods Flake, Filmore, and Kendal Flake) but the texture, aroma, presentation, etc. are top notch.
I'm planning on letting it dry out a little before smoking it. So -- what are your thoughts/reviews (if any)?

Hey there. LGF is easily in my top 5 favorites. It´s one of those blends that simply works. If you like this, try Astley´s 109, you´ll probably like that too.

LGF's also one of my favorites. I get happy just think about that long, thin spool of ribbon.

If you like it, C&D Exhausted Rooster is worth a go. The additional flavoring is very different, but the component tobaccos are close cousins.

Doc Manhattan":v5ex5dwn said:
LGF's also one of my favorites. I get happy just think about that long, thin spool of ribbon.

If you like it, C&D Exhausted Rooster is worth a go. The additional flavoring is very different, but the component tobaccos are close cousins.
That bodes well, as I'm a big fan of the Rooster!