Seven Essentials

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bluefisher

Reaction score
Hi! I'm wondering what you all would consider the "essential blends" that everyone should smoke at least once. I'm not talking about tobacco for new smokers here. I've been smoking cigars for 15 years, and a pipe for 18 months, and I have no fear of strong tobacco. :face:

I'm thinking more of what you'd consider essential smokes. New blends or old standards. Based on what I've read I'd think Nightcap and FVF would make the list, but what else?

Oh, and I chose seven simply because I like the way "seven essentials" rolls off the tongue. If someone asked me the same questions but in regards to cigars, I'd say:

Arturo Feunte "Short Story"
Ashton "Virgin Sun Grown" Tres Mystique
My Father "Le Bijou" petit robusto
E.P. Carillo core line #4
Liga Privada #9 toro
Montecristo No. 4
Cohiba Siglo II

Thanks in advance.

Good luck in advance: getting a consistent list, that is. Pipe tobacco, as a whole, isn't reviewed, scored and lauded like cigars are. In another forum you might get a totally different list. The stuff that sells out frequently isn't always an indicator whether or not it is "essential." Flavor-of-the-month gets precedence because it's new. Suddenly some jerk (like me) discovers a controversial tobacco that ends up being a misunderstood, delicious miscreant (see "Erinmore Flake.")

The thing I like about pipe smoking is that the essential part of it is that you're enjoying the hell out of it. Fancy the ritual, look forward to the peace. Anyone who tells you differently is fish-mouthing nonsense.

8)

Don't know how helpful this is, but these are the most cellared tobaccos by weight on TobaccoCellar.com...

Most cellared blends (by weight):
Samuel Gawith-Full Virginia Flake with 198 lbs 10.2 oz
Esoterica Tobacciana-Penzance with 134 lbs 3.2 oz