WOW! I am boring!

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

baweaverpipes

Reaction score
I have been smoking Dunhill Three Year Matured for many years and have finally become tired of the same old thing. Latakia blends at one time wowed me but, I can't handle them any more. So, recently I broke open a jar of 2 year old 5100 and was very pleased. Along with that I tested some older VA #1 and HH Mature Virginia.
Question-Can anyone suggest something else that might pique my interest?
Thanks,
Bruce

Astley's 109, Orlik Golden Slices, Reiner's Long Golden Slices, Escudo, Tilbury, Dorchester, some of the Rattray's virginias, some of the Butera virginias, other McClelland virginias, McCrainie's Red Ribbon and Red Flake. Lots of others to experiment with but beware of the scented Lakeland tobaccos which taste like soap or perfume to some of us.

Bruce: Since it sounds as if you're heading towards VA's anyway, I'd suggest Sam Gawith's Full Virginia Flake and St James Flake. Rattray's also makes several good VA blends (Marlin Flake, Old Gowrie, Hal o' the Wynd), and Solani has some absolutely delicious VA's. Many folks here also swear by GL Pease blends, and as he is a regular board contributor, he may even be able to offer suggestions that would help to expedite your search.

If you look at the GL Pease blends, try Stratford for sure. Laurel Heights, Fillmore, and Embarcadero are very nice selections with more than average flavor. Montgomery is for when you have nothing in the world to do. Great in the summer on the porch with a glass of iced tea and the time to simply pay attention to the pipe.

Gawith Hoggarth & Co. "Curley Cut Deluxe"

It is a bulk, but somewhat expensive. Pm your address to me and I'll send you a 2oz. jar that is about two years old. Be my pleasure.